Hardware PSV constantly loosing Wifi connection

SpaceJump

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
3,866
Trophies
1
Location
Zebes
XP
3,272
Country
Germany
I have the Vita for 3 days now and today it started to constantly loose the Wifi connection. It sees my Access Point, but won't connect to it most of the time. Then I have to manually connect to it, which also doesn't work all the time.

Anyone else has similar experince? What could be the problem? All my other systems like Notebook and 3DS connect just fine in the same range.
 

EnigmaBlade

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
176
Trophies
0
Location
Australia
XP
75
Country
I have the Vita for 3 days now and today it started to constantly loose the Wifi connection. It sees my Access Point, but won't connect to it most of the time. Then I have to manually connect to it, which also doesn't work all the time.

Anyone else has similar experince? What could be the problem? All my other systems like Notebook and 3DS connect just fine in the same range.

I was confused at first too.. to sum it up, i don't really get why it does that, but as long as you are doing something that requires the internet access, it will stay connected. ie downloading from psn store, browser etc.

by my experience, just try doing something that uses the internet and it should automatically reconnect :)
 

masterchan777

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
380
Trophies
1
Location
World Wide Web
XP
1,468
Country
I think this is a normal behaviour to save battery life, my PSVita connects to wifi only when the system needs to have a connection, I don't have to manually connect to the wifi hotspot everytime the vita needs something off the network though, it connects and disconnects automatically.
 

Achilles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
162
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
269
Country
United States
I see, that makes sense. The problem is just that I often get error codes when for example I try to go to the PS Store.

Try going into the wifi settings of your router and changing the channel on it. There may be a lot of other stuff causing interference nearby on that same channel.
 

Arnold Schwarzen

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
786
Trophies
0
Age
76
Website
gov.ca.gov
XP
303
Country
United States
This is pretty neat to save battery life. There should be an option to choose something like this or always stay connected as I'd like to alternate between the two. I would always like to be connected if I'm at college using the wi-fi because you gotta connect through this web portal an every time you get disconnected you have to go to the browser and enter your student id and password again. It's bogus.
 

Un4tural

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
103
Trophies
0
XP
155
Country
yeah it is to save power... if it uses wifi it connects, it is fairly snappy at it, so i don't really find it too bothersome...

What is annoying is how crappy of a signal i get... worse than my phone for WIFI...
 

masterchan777

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
380
Trophies
1
Location
World Wide Web
XP
1,468
Country
What is annoying is how crappy of a signal i get... worse than my phone for WIFI...
This reminds me of my old iPhone 4 when they said you're not holding it the right way ...

ihand_guy.jpg
 

Un4tural

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
103
Trophies
0
XP
155
Country
I don't have this problem, I think its a problem with your Wifi connection.

no im pretty sure its the vita. i get at least 1 bar less signal than on my phone everywhere (not next to the router tho, thats good). but mostly 1 less than my phone, and where lappy gets 3-4 it has 1 bar... It is N and all, everything else works fine all around the house (phone has a hard time in further away from the router rooms, but still 1bar~) vita struggles in the kitchen to connect to some internet... not great.
 

Just Another Gamer

星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy
Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
1,898
Trophies
0
Location
Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
XP
309
Country
I don't have this problem, I think its a problem with your Wifi connection.

no im pretty sure its the vita. i get at least 1 bar less signal than on my phone everywhere (not next to the router tho, thats good). but mostly 1 less than my phone, and where lappy gets 3-4 it has 1 bar... It is N and all, everything else works fine all around the house (phone has a hard time in further away from the router rooms, but still 1bar~) vita struggles in the kitchen to connect to some internet... not great.
Again, I goto a Wifi spot in my local shopping centre and even when its on 1 bar it still works perfectly. I think its a problem with your network not the Vita.
 

Un4tural

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
103
Trophies
0
XP
155
Country
i know my way around tech, it is the vita as spacejump said. 1bar is ok if it is a solid 1 bar, but if its barely 1bar ir keeps dropping connection... Antenna must be fairly lame inside it, or wifi card really pressing down the power saving pedal. If it is in the decent connection range, it should work fine and not drop connection as long as you're using internet on your VITA. If not, might be router or the vita, that would require more testing.


Other than disconnecting from network to save power when you're not doing anything, connection should be solid.
 

alonectorch

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
51
Country
United States
I have the same exact problem. My VITA now only stays connected to my WiFi for 5 minutes, max, before it completely stops using any WiFi, and I have to restart it. Restarting it gets internet back, but again, for a maximum of 5 minutes. All of my other devices work perfectly, and nothing happened to trigger this problem.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtu.be/MddR6PTmGKg?si=mU2EO5hoE7XXSbSr