PSV constantly loosing Wifi connection

Discussion in 'PS Vita - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by SpaceJump, Mar 13, 2012.

Mar 13, 2012
  1. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I have the Vita for 3 days now and today it started to constantly loose the Wifi connection. It sees my Access Point, but won't connect to it most of the time. Then I have to manually connect to it, which also doesn't work all the time.

    Anyone else has similar experince? What could be the problem? All my other systems like Notebook and 3DS connect just fine in the same range.
     
  2. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    what are you doing when the connection is lost?
     
  3. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Nothing special. Downloaded a few demos and played them.

    Are there any circumstances where the Vita disconnects?
     
  4. EnigmaBlade

    Member EnigmaBlade GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I was confused at first too.. to sum it up, i don't really get why it does that, but as long as you are doing something that requires the internet access, it will stay connected. ie downloading from psn store, browser etc.

    by my experience, just try doing something that uses the internet and it should automatically reconnect :)
     
  5. masterchan777

    Member masterchan777 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    World Wide Web
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think this is a normal behaviour to save battery life, my PSVita connects to wifi only when the system needs to have a connection, I don't have to manually connect to the wifi hotspot everytime the vita needs something off the network though, it connects and disconnects automatically.
     
  6. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I see, that makes sense. The problem is just that I often get error codes when for example I try to go to the PS Store.
     
  7. Achilles

    Member Achilles GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    United States
    Try going into the wifi settings of your router and changing the channel on it. There may be a lot of other stuff causing interference nearby on that same channel.
     
  8. Arnold Schwarzen

    Member Arnold Schwarzen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    787
    Country:
    United States
    This is pretty neat to save battery life. There should be an option to choose something like this or always stay connected as I'd like to alternate between the two. I would always like to be connected if I'm at college using the wi-fi because you gotta connect through this web portal an every time you get disconnected you have to go to the browser and enter your student id and password again. It's bogus.
     
  9. Un4tural

    Member Un4tural GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah it is to save power... if it uses wifi it connects, it is fairly snappy at it, so i don't really find it too bothersome...

    What is annoying is how crappy of a signal i get... worse than my phone for WIFI...
     
  10. masterchan777

    Member masterchan777 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    World Wide Web
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This reminds me of my old iPhone 4 when they said you're not holding it the right way ...

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't have this problem, I think its a problem with your Wifi connection.
     
  12. Un4tural

    Member Un4tural GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no im pretty sure its the vita. i get at least 1 bar less signal than on my phone everywhere (not next to the router tho, thats good). but mostly 1 less than my phone, and where lappy gets 3-4 it has 1 bar... It is N and all, everything else works fine all around the house (phone has a hard time in further away from the router rooms, but still 1bar~) vita struggles in the kitchen to connect to some internet... not great.
     
  13. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    Again, I goto a Wifi spot in my local shopping centre and even when its on 1 bar it still works perfectly. I think its a problem with your network not the Vita.
     
  14. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    No, it's the Vita. Un4tural is right. I get the same results and I read a lot of similar reports on the net.
     
  15. Un4tural

    Member Un4tural GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i know my way around tech, it is the vita as spacejump said. 1bar is ok if it is a solid 1 bar, but if its barely 1bar ir keeps dropping connection... Antenna must be fairly lame inside it, or wifi card really pressing down the power saving pedal. If it is in the decent connection range, it should work fine and not drop connection as long as you're using internet on your VITA. If not, might be router or the vita, that would require more testing.


    Other than disconnecting from network to save power when you're not doing anything, connection should be solid.
     

Share This Page