PSP 1000 5.50 GEN-D3 help.

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by fadeetoblackk, Apr 19, 2011.

Apr 19, 2011
  1. fadeetoblackk
    OP

    Newcomer fadeetoblackk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I am 100 percent new to hacking any console in this manner. So please do not kill me haha. I fully hacked my psp using this step by step guide. Psp 1000 guide. I started out on like 2.6 firmware so it was really easy. Now my question is what the hell do I do now. When I plug in my psp all the folders are the same there is no iso folder or anything. Are all of those things on the root of my psp? When I have plugged it in to three different computers all that comes up is the memory stick. I am asuming that I need to get to the root of the psp. If not I dont know what the hell im doing wrong because the hacking process went all through really easily. Someone please help me this is so aggravating.
     
  2. mechagouki

    Member mechagouki Kill 'em all...

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    First, in the XMB go to System Settings and choose Format Memory Stick, say yes to the format and when it is done hook your PSP up to your PC via USB. Now when you click on Memory Stick in My Computer on your PC you should have the following:

    [​IMG]

    I think you can figure out the rest. [​IMG]
     
  3. fadeetoblackk
    OP

    Newcomer fadeetoblackk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    thank you so much. it was so easy and it was right under my nose. I have other questions and I appreciate anyones time to answer. Noobs are annoying but i have to start somewhere ahah. When psp isos are in parts do i have to put then together with a program? I do not know how to handle files that are in two to three parts. Also if i put in another random memory card and format it will it work all the same since my psp is already fully hacked. And finaly can i just throw ps1 games in the iso loader and it will run the same, or do i need a emulator? Thanks again
     
  4. ars25

    Member ars25 I like tacos and pie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Location:
    the world that never was
    Country:
    United States
    for the iso parts just right click the iso part 1 and select extract and it should extract all of the parts and put them to the original iso file as for the psx games you need to put them in the in the game folder inside of the psp folder and they should appear also if the iso name is to long they wont show so if it dosnt show in the xmb rename the file to something shoerter and it should appear
     
  5. mechagouki

    Member mechagouki Kill 'em all...

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    PSX games have to be converted into EBOOT format using a program like popstation: Postation GUI download or if you know how to use bittorrent try searching "PSX PSP"

    You then put them in PSP/GAME on your memory stick.

    And yes, every memory stick you format using your PSP will have the same structure, I personally keep one for ISOs, one for PSX games and one for homebrew. You might want to consider the Prometheus 4 patch for your GEN-D3 CFW - it improves ISO compatability.

    Also if you plan to play a lot of PSX games you should probably install the popsloader plugin: popsloader pack

    And if you like to cheat (I know I do). CWcheat is a great plugin that works in PSP and PSX games: get CWcheat here
     
  6. fadeetoblackk
    OP

    Newcomer fadeetoblackk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for all of the great suggestions! Im catching on quick, that plug in sounds great that improves isos. Do the psx roms run decently well? The files are so hard to find I almost do not want to bother. You da bomb mechagouki [​IMG]
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Probably because they're not ROMs. They're ISOs.

    The games run fine, Sony made an official PSX game player for the PSP and it runs games fullspeed (because they sell PSX games for the PSP through the playstation network).

    The compatibility issues are sometimes lockups or graphical glitches.
     
  8. fadeetoblackk
    OP

    Newcomer fadeetoblackk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah there called isos. haha. Im used to rom emulation with nintendo stuff. This is new to me but it is a lot of fun. I want to learn a lot more about this stuff. I think once I do all this stuff to my psp and get sick of it im going to move on to hacking my psp because having unlimited gamecube games sounds like a dream
     
  9. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    gamecube games don't play on your PSP, lol. I think you meant Wii, or GCN.

    www.psp-hacks.com or google wololo.net, these are both good places for updates, etc.

    btw without sounding like a complete troll, you should really bone up on your computer skills before trying anything else (extracting a file, is something you should have been taught at birth). As you move on from the PSP, or start modifying Wii's (they have things called CISOs and ISO's etc., it's a pain), and especially the PS3, you need to learn and go over multiple sites, as sometimes directions aren't clear, or aren't fully listed on one site, compared to another.

    Wynd
     

Share This Page