PS2 Fat with Magic 3(III) mod chip not reading disks

Crylia

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Hello again, seems like I'm pretty unlucky with PS2's :D.

I've got this PS2 Fat that was absolutely disgusting with literal centimeters of dust and dirt. Surprisingly, it has a mod chip and works fine, except for reading disks(Tried PS1, PS2 and burned PS1 disks). I tried a different drive (known good) as the original was so filthy I had to completely rebuild it (wouldn't be surprised if the lens was shot), but no luck. It looks like it's trying its hardest to read it, as it can detect a music disk but not play any song from it.
Sadly, I have zero experience with PS2 mod chips, and I'm not even 100% sure which features it offers, as most things I found were installation guides.

The disk is btw spinning fine, the laser is also moving and working so I doubt its a drive/connection issue.

20240108_173425.jpg

20240108_173535.jpg

I would appreciate it if someone with some experience could help me diagnose this issue, worst case I'll ditch the mod chip, but TBH I would like to keep it as it's cool and probably hard to find today.

• Love
Reactions: SylverReZ

SylverReZ

Dat one with the Rez
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
Website
m4x1mumrez87.neocities.org
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Hello again, seems like I'm pretty unlucky with PS2's :D.

I've got this PS2 Fat that was absolutely disgusting with literal centimeters of dust and dirt. Surprisingly, it has a mod chip and works fine, except for reading disks(Tried PS1, PS2 and burned PS1 disks). I tried a different drive (known good) as the original was so filthy I had to completely rebuild it (wouldn't be surprised if the lens was shot), but no luck. It looks like it's trying its hardest to read it, as it can detect a music disk but not play any song from it.
Sadly, I have zero experience with PS2 mod chips, and I'm not even 100% sure which features it offers, as most things I found were installation guides.