Hardware [Project/experiment] Ideas on how using external motion sensor ?

Magatsu

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
France
Hello, before starting I want to clarify that this topic is only at the state of an idea and is for experimental purpose.

To begin, I got a deficience called cerebral palsy (the motion part of the brain is not fully fonctionnal thus resulting in incapacity to walk and use arms correctly). As a disabled gamer, I feel more and more concerned in accessibilty in gaming. I'm a gamer since my young age and so I've been used to play normaly with classic game controller even if my hands don't do 100% of the job they should. I can use a keyboard and a touchpad with no difficulties (I'm an IT engineer - java development -).

Now that my backgroung have been explained, I can bring the subject.
With the emergence of motion gaming, accessibilty in gaming is becoming a bigger issue as disabled gamers mostly can't use them, I know it by experience. Recently, I've been playing several games on my switch (I'm an hardcore nintendo fan), and have been found frustrated at some moment, which lead me to think about a project to change things.

Basicaly, what I would like to achieve is disconnecting the motion from the gamepad and have it on something else. To see a practical use case : Aiming in splatoon 2. The muscular retractions of my hands prevent me to use the right sticks and the shoot button at the same time, which is very impractical, so I use the motion aiming (which btw is undred time better than annalog stick), the problem is that I can't use it correctly because I can't grab the gamepad (it's put on my lap), I achieve to move it a bit and play, but I got an "average" level, and sadly I'm the kind of guy who wants to perform.

So the idea was : maybe if I could disconnect the sensor chip, reconnect it with wires and put it in a head band, I could use my head to aim. Yeah I would look silly, but who cares.