Hardware Problem with HDD

Hamiham

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
18
XP
37
Country
Kyrgyzstan
Hi.I have a problem with my Wii.It turns off after plugging HDD or USB.It worked fine,but now,for some reasone,it doesn't.
Had somebody have this.problem,and are there any solutions of it ?
 

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,854
Trophies
3
Age
52
Location
Austria
XP
685
Country
Austria
Hi.I have a problem with my Wii.It turns off after plugging HDD or USB.It worked fine,but now,for some reasone,it doesn't.
Had somebody have this.problem,and are there any solutions of it ?

Hello.:)

My first thoughts:

Your HDD and/or USB device needs too much power for the Wii.
Does your HDD/USB Device have a Power adapter?
Can you check the Wii´s power Adaptor or maybe try another one please ?

Thank you.:)
 

Hamiham

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
18
XP
37
Country
Kyrgyzstan
Hello.:)

My first thoughts:

Your HDD and/or USB device needs too much power for the Wii.
Does your HDD/USB Device have a Power adapter?
Can you check the Wii´s power Adaptor or maybe try another one please ?

Thank you.:)


Thank you for an answer.No,i don't have power adapter.Gonna check it soon.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,854
Trophies
3
Age
52
Location
Austria
XP
685
Country
Austria
O

Oh.Thanks for helping.Anyway...the both ways are expensive tho...

That is understandable.:(

Wii power supply ~15-18 Euro on Amazon (includes shipping)
8-10 Euro on Aliexpress (includes Shipping)

Power supplies for your HDD (depending on Voltage/Power you need)
5-10 Euros

A used Wii you can get maybe around 40-50 Euro with accessories/the Adaptor.:(
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,719
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,432
Country
France
when does it turn off?

on system menu, or at boot?
does it happen if HDD is already plugged before boot?
does it happen if you plug the HDD after boot, on system menu? or specific places (in homebrew)
did you try to plug while inside HBC?

Did you try to plug anything else not requiring lot of power? (like SD card to USB adapters), or any USB cable (even just a cable, not connecting anything to it)

it's just to check if it's a USB Port issue, maybe short circuit ?
it does the same on both ports?
 
Last edited by Cyan,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Hamiham

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
18
XP
37
Country
Kyrgyzstan
when does it turn off?

on system menu, or at boot?
does it happen if HDD is already plugged before boot?
does it happen if you plug the HDD after boot, on system menu? or specific places (in homebrew)
did you try to plug while inside HBC?

Did you try to plug anything else not requiring lot of power? (like SD card to USB adapters), or any USB cable (even just a cable, not connecting anything to it)

it's just to check if it's a USB Port issue, maybe short circuit ?
it does the same on both ports?

It turns off immideatly after plugging the HDD.In USB case-It turns off after some time,like 3-4 minutes.SD is working nice.Maybe i should really try it.And if i plug my HDD before boot, it works longer,like 1 minute
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,719
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,432
Country
France
oh, so it's not immediate with all devices.
I suppose when you say "USB case" you talk about flashdrive. please, don't use "USB" for flashdrive, because EVERYTHING is USB (flashdrive, but also HDD, even mouse, keyboard !)
if it's flashdrive, then it also happen with low consumption devices.

it's strange that it can work longer if plugged before boot.
It happens when doing nothing? boot, and wait on system menu?

If it's really a power issue, it's strange too.
- why it takes some time to shutdown, the hdd is init right away and if the power is not enough it should be affected quickly.
- unless the power adaptor is decreasing the power little by little, but then it would also happen without plugged devices.
- why would it shutdown only with hdd or flashdrive plugged?


The power adapter has a kind of memory in it.
you can reset it by unplugging it fully (both sides) for few minutes/hours.
It happened to me once, the wii didn't boot at all (no red light), I unplugged it for a day. it's working great again :)
 
Last edited by Cyan,

Hamiham

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
18
XP
37
Country
Kyrgyzstan
oh, so it's not immediate with all devices.
I suppose when you say "USB case" you talk about flashdrive. please, don't use "USB" for flashdrive, because EVERYTHING is USB (flashdrive, but also HDD, even mouse, keyboard !)
if it's flashdrive, then it also happen with low consumption devices.

it's strange that it can work longer if plugged before boot.
It happens when doing nothing? boot, and wait on system menu?

If it's really a power issue, it's strange too.
- why it takes some time to shutdown, the hdd is init right away and if the power is not enough it should be affected quickly.
- unless the power adaptor is decreasing the power little by little, but then it would also happen without plugged devices.
- why would it shutdown only with hdd or flashdrive plugged?


The power adapter has a kind of memory in it.
you can reset it by unplugging it fully (both sides) for few minutes/hours.
It happened to me once, the wii didn't boot at all (no red light), I unplugged it for a day. it's working great again :)

I've resetted it three times.Now i'm on the fourth try.Hope its gonna work.Anyway,thanks for helping.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

That is understandable.:(

Wii power supply ~15-18 Euro on Amazon (includes shipping)
8-10 Euro on Aliexpress (includes Shipping)

Power supplies for your HDD (depending on Voltage/Power you need)
5-10 Euros

A used Wii you can get maybe around 40-50 Euro with accessories/the Adaptor.:(

I don't know about shipping in my contry.But here Wii is very rare.I've bought power adapter(Official)for 32 dollars.That is the main problem.Well,i hope i can buy it in Turkey.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • ZhiShuiTingLan @ ZhiShuiTingLan:
    How to upgrade fast
  • ZhiShuiTingLan @ ZhiShuiTingLan:
    I can't understand English at all, I can only rely on translation
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    Upgrading quickly can depend on what you're trying to upgrade. Can you provide more information about what you're looking to upgrade, and what you're hoping to achieve by upgrading quickly?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It's a good idea to wait it out and let things happen naturally tinkering with update files can cause worse than good
    +1
  • BlazeMasterBM @ BlazeMasterBM:
    i farted
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Stop eating so much garlics
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Did someone say upgrading? Are we trying to upgrade the system or the toaster?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    My toaster is IP68 so I work on it in my bathtub
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    What kind of thermal paste are you using for on bathtub's vCPU hypervisor
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Corsair
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    That's a good, real thermal paste. I bet it's given you great results.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I'm a huge fanboy and brand loyal so we can argue about the kind you use
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Jif. I get horrible results, I'm going through probably 12 jars of it a week and at least 8 PCs.
  • Shape @ Shape:
    It's no argument.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Try jelly it makes it moist
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Why is corsair the best paste tho fr?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Because some random guy on the internet said it was
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    thermalgrizzly kryonaut is the best paste
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    isn't that gallium based?
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if so, yuck
    DinohScene @ DinohScene: if so, yuck