PRELOADER IS NOT A RISK

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by icefireicefire, May 7, 2009.

May 7, 2009

PRELOADER IS NOT A RISK by icefireicefire at 1:28 AM (4,908 Views / 0 Likes) 49 replies

  1. icefireicefire
    OP

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    Here's a complete guide to what preloader does and doesn't do.

    PRELOADER HAS NEVER BRICKED ANYONE. IF YOU THINK YOU ARE BRICKED, BOOT HBC AND REINSTALL PRELOADER.
    Nope, it hasn't. If you get the "System Files are corrupted" message, just reinstall preloader. Away it goes!

    PRELOADER CAN BE UNINSTALLED EASILY.
    Just re-install the system menu, which also won't brick you. You can just use WAD Manager and a System Menu WAD from NUS Downloader, or use Waninkoko's Firmware Downgrader.

    PRELOADER DOES NOT LEAVE TRACES.
    Just re-install the system menu, and away it goes. Not hard to remove.

    PRELOADER CAN RECOVER FROM WAY MORE BRICKS THAN STARFALL CAN.

    Banner bricks, bad theme bricks, bad region bricks, and many more. All without a GC controller and/or having to have the TW Hack in NAND.

    PRELOADER WORKS ON 4.0 FOR BRICK RECOVERY.

    Starfall doesnt, and is outdated. StartPatch does, but again, it needs TW Hack in NAND to work, and 4.0 blocks that.

    So, in conclusion, there's no reason not to use it. Make sense?
     


  2. thc42O

    Banned thc42O Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    iso less nerd rage.
     
  3. xem1x

    Member xem1x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Setting the record straight. This is signature material.
     
  4. yoitsme

    Newcomer yoitsme Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    Actually that's not entirely true. It does leave many "traces" even after you reinstall the system menu. But you can delete the traces by using the NAND cleaner app.
     
  5. icefireicefire
    OP

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, you are wrong. That was a bug of an earlier version of preloader, that is now fixed.
     
  6. dvd-guy

    Newcomer dvd-guy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Actually you are wrong. There are several traces leftover that can't be removed in 0.29. If you use hacks.ini and reinstall the system menu, then re-installing preloader will still load the hacks.ini leftover from the previous installation. NAND cleaner doesn't work for the new version.
     
  7. icefireicefire
    OP

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    Several -> you mentioned one thing, but, whats another?

    and, btw starfall leaves traces too. NAND filesystems keep records (go check hackmii if you don't believe me)
     
  8. dvd-guy

    Newcomer dvd-guy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Here's another one. Installer preloader with hacks.ini. Enable some hacks and then edit your hacks.ini to remove one line. The order of enabled/disabled does not change, and thus can enable the wrong hack. It's unknown whether the hacks that say enabled are actually enabled or if the status is merely not updated. I haven't tested that.
     
  9. Dteyn

    Member Dteyn GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    Canada

    This about sums it up...

    [​IMG]
     
  10. eric_4_life

    Member eric_4_life GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Canada
  11. Link5084

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Who cares if it leaves many "traces"? How would people notice?
     
  12. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    This thread quickly went to Preloader Never Bricks to a Preloader VS Starfall
    its all kindof Lame

    Why people compare i'll never know
     
  13. Link5084

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Also I heard Preloader places itself before the menu. Okay, so can't you just disable that and if you want to enable Preloader again you can just hold RESET while powering the Wii on?
     
  14. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    Grub is good bootloader, but Lilo is better
     
  15. Link5084

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    I have two files, named "hacks.ini" and "hacks", just to be on the safe side. Which one should I delete?
     
  16. icefireicefire
    OP

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    yes, you can disable it, and hacks.ini is the right one (but you don't need it at all once you install the hacks)
     
  17. Link5084

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I was kinda confused because naming "boot.dol" doesn't work in my apps but "boot" works. So I was wondering if the same thing applied to "hacks.ini"
     
  18. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Preloader deleted all my pirated channel .wads. [​IMG]
     
  19. Link5084

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    If you got a banner brick, how do you recover from preloader?
     
  20. YellowYoYos

    Member YellowYoYos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    Same here
     

Share This Page