pls help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by nivram_07, Feb 9, 2008.

Feb 9, 2008

pls help by nivram_07 at 7:15 AM (885 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. nivram_07
    OP

    Newcomer nivram_07 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    hi there, i just bought wiikey and haven't installed it yet cause i need to practice my soldering skill first.. and i have a few questions..

    1.) how do i know if my wii is ntsc or pal? and what's the difference between the two?

    2.)i bought 22 awg wire and a .032 mm solder, are these fine or i need the 30 awg wire and .015 solder?

    3.)what installer do i need to download, i've tried to download the wiikey setup disc v1.3 and it didn't go through, i mean the download doesn't start automatically. i also tried the other link and it does the same. any comments or suggestions?

    i believe my wii is a d2b, legs cut, so i really need to practice.
    this is my first time that will be modding a console.

    any help will be appreciated..
     
  2. Hogmeister

    Member Hogmeister GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    just a guess but i'd say your wii is likely an NTSC.. as far as the difference, its mostly two different standards for television displays. if you bought your wii here in the US it'll likely be NTSC, Europe an AUS are i believe the only regions that get the PAL consoles (maybe others but these are most prominent in my memory)

    but yeah pretty much if you bought it here in the US unless it was used or imported it'll be an NTSC console. i don't know off the top of my head if theres any markings on the console it self and i can't check anymore as i've replaced my case [​IMG]. one thing you can check is the firmware version on your wii in the OS... go into Wii Settings and check what it says in the top right if it's 3.1U its an NTSC.

    also 22awg wire will "work" but honestly 30 awg is much easier to work with, and i dont really know about the solder as i used what i had on hand on every wii i've modded and i dont really check what it is [​IMG]

    the installer, eh i've NEVER ran a wiikey config disk the only disc's i've downloaded and ran was the 1.9g update disc and smash brothers works fine for me without regionfrii'ing the iso. so i dunno.


    hope it helps in any way shape or form, i'm tired right now [​IMG]
     
  3. paOol

    Member paOol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    AFAIK
    to be up to date, you need
    1.9g disc
    1.3 config disc
    1 gamecube controller

    burn these on DVD-R. 1 each
    put 1.9g disc first, then 1.3, turn on region override. from the config disc.
    i think your set after that.
     
  4. nivram_07
    OP

    Newcomer nivram_07 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    tnx 4 the reply guys.. i really appreciate it.. i'll start practicing tomorrow..[​IMG]
     
  5. Redsquirrel

    Member Redsquirrel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you have cut legs, i am going to say 99% chance you are not gonna be able to mod it yourself. Sorry but its the truth! Please dont ruin your wii in the process.

    I would test on some old network cards, especially with grinding down the chip.. rebuilding the legs is quite hard i find..
     

Share This Page