Hacking please help me decide!

kofman13

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I am new to all of this stuff.
I am about to get my first nintendo handheld. trying to choose between DS lite and 3DS. here are my concerns:
today i could get a used working DS Lite with charger for $60 from someone i know, and a cheap flash card ( not sure which one is best actually).
Or... get a 3DS for $150 and a flash card for that and still play DS roms ( dont know how much flash cart for 3ds is)

NOW...

here are more concerns. if and when there is a kart than can play 3ds roms, will it just be a software upgrade to the current 3ds karts? or a new one? and in terms of how long it takes to develop a real 3ds rom playing cart, does it make sense to buy a 3DS for the DS games and then upgrade cards for 3ds roms later?

or if it is going to take years to get an affordable ( under $100) REAL 3DS rom cart, then i should just pay measly $60 for a DS lite and upgrade to 3ds when there is a kart years later

some advice? THANKs

ALSO then there is the fear of nintendo forcing background FW updates? any updates on that issue?

EDIT: if i am going to hold off for the 3DS for a LONG TIME , should i get a DS lite for $65 or a DSi for $90

s4mid4re

Trophies
Website
v4.gbatemp.net
XP
Country
United States
kofman13 said:
I am new to all of this stuff.
I am about to get my first nintendo handheld. trying to choose between DS lite and 3DS. here are my concerns:
today i could get a used working DS Lite with charger for $60 from someone i know, and a cheap flash card ( not sure which one is best actually).
Or... get a 3DS for $150 and a flash card for that and still play DS roms ( dont know how much flash cart for 3ds is)

NOW...