1. szczuru

    szczuru GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Poland
    TonyBiH and KiiWii like this.
  2. vanditr

    vanditr GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United States
    can anyone make a video tutorial on how to upload games to the console? thanks
     
  3. titaniuml

    titaniuml GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    I tried 2. One Japanese one that worked (Captain Tsubasa J), and another US one that gave me an invalid format message (Castlevania Symphony of the Night). I placed both of them in their own separate folders in the games folder.

    I'll try more.

    On another note, I f'd something up and the original games that came with the console don't load now, lol.

    EDIT: Actually Castlevania Symphony works. I did a mistake before. So both my PBP work.
     
    Last edited by titaniuml, Dec 9, 2018
  4. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    896
    Country:
    United States
    I need to Find a bigger flash or hdd...

    What is the correct command to safely unmound usb connected drives?
     
    Last edited by asper, Dec 9, 2018
    KiiWii likes this.
  5. TonyBiH

    TonyBiH Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Can someone please help me with mine. I add 4 games edited with SQLIte database editor but is only empty pictures inside PSClassic and added wont play. I remove original .bin of games so this rar is not to big. Can anyone look and pm me please.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    896
    Country:
    United States
    Found an old 120GBs HDD; partitioned with 1st 25GBs partition FAT32 formatted SONY-labelled (do not exceed 32GBs when FAT32-formatting) and it seems to work:
    [​IMG]
    I interrupted the process after few minutes (pressing the console power button) and only 2.7GBs were dumped, now I will leave it on for half an hour to see if it dumps everything :)
     
    Last edited by asper, Dec 9, 2018
  7. esali

    esali Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Austria
    You forgot to change the custom.db "Disc" Table and the Covers must be 229x229 px, have changed it for you, give it a try

    Pozdrav ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    TonyBiH likes this.
  8. TonyBiH

    TonyBiH Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Thak's a million esali works great. I completly forgot about disc. Vielen dank pozdrav :yayps3:
     
  9. Kefka21

    Kefka21 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Just joined the forum, and here's one that noone seems to have an answer for. I have been able to run a single game from the USB drive and all, but in none of the games can I open up the emulator options menu by pressing triangle and select to play a different game off of the drive without doing the whole file renaming process on the flash drive in lol hack. Could some of the systems shipped with this option actually being locked and others not?
     
  10. TonyBiH

    TonyBiH Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Is there a limit of how many games we can put to usb because PSClassic transload?
     
  11. Kefka21

    Kefka21 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I wish I was able to do that. I cant get that options menu to open up at all no matter which game I try loading.
     
  12. TonyBiH

    TonyBiH Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    It seems PSClassic forget about games when you play few original games on system so it should be no worry of how many games we put on usb because he loads only how many he can handle in temp memory.
     
  13. notimp

    notimp Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,311
    Country:
    Laos
    Hacked mine (using gpghax) as well. Here is an advanced end user writeup.

    First gpghax tries to backup the original database file (the one it modifies) onto the USB stick/HDD - which didnt work in my case (no such file on stick), so be aware that this is the case. If you want to be 'ultra' safe, maybe dont try gpghax right now - there probably will be "easier solutions" incoming anyhow. (That said, if you are familiar with sql database editing, gpghax is pretty easy already.. ;) )


    - Editing lolhack.sh to look like this:
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    #link the usb drive dirs into the /gaadata
    cd /media/games
    for D in *; do
        if [ -d "${D}" ]; then
            ln -s /media/games/${D} /gaadata/${D}
        fi
    done
    
    #backup the original db (will not overwrite the file after the first backup)
    cp -n /gaadata/databases/regional.db /media/games/backup.db
    
    #install our custom db
    cp /media/games/custom.db /gaadata/databases/regional.db
    
    #sync usb drive
    sync
    
    # kill the ui process
    killall ui_menu
    
    #Access Esc Menu from Select + Triangle on controller by andshrew
    sleep 5s
    export PCSX_ESC_KEY=2
    killall ui_menu
    sleep 5s
    cd /data/AppData/sony/pcsx
    /usr/sony/bin/ui_menu --power-off-enable
    sync
    
    # restart ui
    /usr/sony/bin/ui_menu
    
    # sleep forever so the usb is never unmounted
    while :; do sleep 10; done
    
    
    
    allows you to run lolhack and the Esc Menu hack at the same time. All credit for the esc menu hack (select+triangle for emulator menu in game) goes to andshrew. Make sure to use an editor that allows for unix style formating (f.e. notepad++ (google it) in Windows), to be safe.

    - Thumbnail files can be 512x512px in dimension. I'm mentioning this, because its stated here otherwise.

    - .pbp loading already works (start any game preferably the 21st "hacked in" one, let it start, press select+triangle, go into the settings and look for load cd. The interface is using left/right to navigate single items, but has access to the entire system, so you can use any folder on the usb stick (I made one named pbps)

    - Multi disk .pbps dont work (there is no way to switch discs). You can make single disk .pbps, or use several .bin/.cue files for multi disc games, those all work well and can be switched from within the emulator menu.

    - The PCSXRearmed version they use, actually runs pretty well - it can run Tekken 3 US version in NTSC at 58 fps (lowest), without frameskip, and with frameskip enabled, it runs it actually at a pretty flawless (no audio stutter) 60 (with skipped frames).

    - When you use the select+triangle menu to change disc files, the system reboots. Save files will be stored on the same memory card as the "original game" you used to boot before entering the emulation menu. Thats why using game 21 is advised. :)

    - I'd say - wait for more user friendly solutions to add more than a few games manually using gpghax - the Playstation Classic currently has a 25 games limit in the selection carousel that has already been broken through, but would require an extra hack and... Its just easier to stick with hacking in one additional game, and loading in the rest via the emulation menu (select+triangle).

    - Dont exit the select+triangle menu with exit, exit it by pressing select+triangle another time (sometimes it takes two presses). Exiting it via exit exits the game - which you usually dont want to. ;)

    Thats about it. Tekken 3 (US) NTSC runs pretty close to perfect (input lag is still a huge issue with Sonys implementation of PCSXRearmed :/ ), I have no idea whatsoever what made them choose the PAL version.

    edit:

    Tekken 3 NTSC (US) running at close to 60 fps:
    [​IMG]

    A multi game memory card (like in the olden days):
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by notimp, Dec 9, 2018
    Kensirou, TonyBiH and Advokaten like this.
  14. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    30,107
    Country:
    United States
    The sad but hilarious thing is, Sony literally only had to change the PAL games to run at NTSC in the settings, and save it as a per-game basis, which this allows one to do. But nope, they rushed
    this like a Bethesda game.
     
    notimp likes this.
  15. Grmmish

    Grmmish GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    412
    Country:
    United States

    I actually recently heard a very interesting theory and it's risky and highly doubtable on Sony's side but still a head turner, so you guys tell me what you think:

    Sony made the release purposely lacking.
    Made the unit easy to mod senselessly, had a very weak lineup of games to avoid paying many companies for licenses, etc.

    According to the theory, they did all of that on purpose to save money on making the console actually worth something entertainment wise for vanilla users, learned from the NES and SNES Mini and WANTED people to mod it as soon as possible to increase the value for a product they did not need to spend very much money on in the first place. Letting hackers do what they wish just to increase Sony's sales... Since although paying more companies for licenses for more games and more popular games, they probably felt the money in return is not as great if people will mod it anyway and they will get the same amount, if not SLIGHTLY MORE back. Just not worth all of the money spent and let the value go up on its own.


    So that's it. Of course on a business standpoint, no one usually would ever do something like that... But in reality did it work? It may be too early to know but it was quite smart of them if it is true in some way or another...
     
  16. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    30,107
    Country:
    United States
    But Sony benefiting modders/hackers though? Doesn't seem like they would do that since they're very much anti-mod I think?
     
  17. TonyBiH

    TonyBiH Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    @Grmmish I think that is not a case. Maybe head of office deparment of Sony sales did not know anything about emulators and someone subordinated suggested to him to do that and that and he ok it. Slappy yes but if they wanna keep selling it they need to make it hackable. That way they exploit buyers and benefit from hacks.
     
    Last edited by TonyBiH, Dec 9, 2018
  18. notimp

    notimp Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,311
    Country:
    Laos
    They thats ok with hackers. :) Some stores apparently are already deep discounting the thing at 70USD. And all in all, if dev support is there, this will turn out to be a pretty great Retroarch device.

    If the input lag can be dealt with. At 70USD for a emulation box with two controllers included, and three USB ports to begin with... Go for it. Seriously.
     
    Last edited by notimp, Dec 9, 2018
  19. Grmmish

    Grmmish GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    412
    Country:
    United States
    That's is apart of the point. No one WANTS their console to be hacked.
    But for Sony? This is not a main console. This isn't a PS5 where their sales come from developers making games for it. This is a PS One Classic... Where no one but the very few companies paid from games they licensed and Sony themselves get any cut of cash. That being said, they really have absolutely nothing to lose. At this point, Sony could have launched the PS One Classic with no games, and no way to actually get games either but still with the PS emulation. Modders will indeed use what was developed to mod and, believe it or not, the only sales that will change are those who bought the system for the games.
    Slap some cheaper games to pay for their license in the thing. Make it prone to hacks and bam. Satisfy both ends of the straw and benefit from all angles with very little money spent.

    In other news, the PS4 was only recently hacked despite being out for almost like 8 years and the hacks are severely limited. They had the ability to make it less prone to hacks but they didn't. Sure we can argue that a huge production budget for top quality security would not be necessary for a product of such small purpose, but by their choice of games... It is definitely a head turner on their actual motives here...
     
    TonyBiH likes this.
  20. notimp

    notimp Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,311
    Country:
    Laos
    Had a wrongly edited lolhack.sh up for about 5 minutes (the one originally posted 51 minutes ago was ok. :) ) if you used the code in the code bracket above, please recopy to be safe. :)

    The parts edited "wrongly" - where non critical - so it didnt effect anything on your system - that would survive a reboot. :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Playstation, classic,