1. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Basicly its that easy.. but if you want to show more than just 1 game up you need to edit the database sql. For the start simply replac

    Cool, does it matter where to place the additional Code?
     
  2. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Allright i played with the new stuff and managed to get some things running.. First Things first :-D..

    if you wanna use a HDD its Pretty easy.. simply plug it in youre Computer and Format it to FAT32 (32 Cluster), normaly HDDs up to 2TB can be set to MBR. Make sure this is the case (Not GPT). After 2TB its only possible to change it by creating some Partition on the harddrive (under 2TB). After that rename the Device to "SONY" (without quotes) and put following files in the Root directory:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/lhea1fhedzbegjg/Update.zip?dl=0

    This enables custome games and the button combination (SELECT + TRIANGLE) to enter the PCSX Menü. To make sure youre HDD is running well and without issues use a Y-Cable to split data from voltage.

    Hope it works for all.

    Thanks for everyone that makes this possible!
     
  3. SergioApolinario

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Portugal
    I am following this since day one. Great progress it seems. I do have a question though. Since the USB is inserted in the 2nd player USB port, we are going to miss 2 players games. Should we be using a USB hub? For myself, if possible, i would place the usb drdrive inside the console itself, even if i needed to soldered it, if i could then use the 2nd port.
     
  4. Advokaten

    Advokaten GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Sweden
    Just have patience, there will soon be a way. : )
     
  5. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,373
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think most people will need 2 TB for all PSX games, but not sure. But still cool.
     
  6. ghorricks

    ghorricks GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United States
    UK Playstation Classic here.
    Tried approx 6 USB sticks (FAT32, SONY label) and 1 USB3 HDD (Self powered).
    No luck at all... seems like the USB are not recognized as I cant even press SELECT+TRIANGE in any game.
    Can the good people who have it running tell me more about the USB sticks you are using?
     
  7. Advokaten

    Advokaten GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Sweden
    Looking for translators of the UI. If your native language isn't available on the PSC, feel free to PM me if you'd like to have it added. :)
     
  8. ghorricks

    ghorricks GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United States
    Just tried a Sandisk cruzer 16Gb and that worked fine with the same files.
    Hit and miss... I hope there is a database in the making for devices (USB sticks, keyboards etc) which work.
     
  9. Advokaten

    Advokaten GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Sweden
    Don't need a keyboard to access the menu. I posted a video here.
     
  10. ransom2211

    ransom2211 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Compcom now has RetroArch running!!
     
    titaniuml, Hekel and thegame16 like this.
  11. Spottedfeather

    Spottedfeather GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United States
    So we can do more than one game now ? I don't have one of these. I saw a video where you could only put one game. But from what I'm reading, you just put the games in the games folder and you can play them that way ? No more one game limit ? How exactly is this done ?
     
  12. spraragen88

    spraragen88 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I got it to load the menu, but it says my PBP files are all unsupported.

    I got Tomba loaded up, pressed Select+Triangle, went to load cd image, tried to select every pbp file I had and none work...

    Are PBP (eboots) unsupported? I just put them all in the 21 folder and renamed them from eboot to their titles (like Legend of Dragoon,The.PBP)
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2018
  13. fille

    fille GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    Belgium
    I got it working,menu also working.
    Hope we can get it as nice as nintendo did,what sony did here is a shame to the psx brand.
     
  14. pr83

    pr83 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's pretty easy. They included a folder and dummy files for one game (game 21), all you have to do to add more is copy the process. So for game 22, add a line to the db file in GAME, following the format they describe:

    • GAME_ID = numerical identifier, has to be unique
    • GAME_TITLE_STRING = Name of the game
    • PUBLISHER_NAME = self explanatory
    • RELEASE_YEAR = self explanatory
    • PLAYERS = number of players
    • RATING_IMAGE = Has to be CERO_A
    • GAME_MANUAL_QR_IMAGE = Has to be QR_Code_GM
    • LINK_GAME_ID = leave empty
    Then create a folder named '22', copy over the pcsx.cfg file from folder 21, add your BIN/CUE files (making sure your BIN and CUE files have EXACTLY the same filename - it doesn't matter what you call them, as long as they are the same as each other) and update the db file in DISC, again following the format:

    • GAME_ID = GAME_ID from the GAME table
    • DISC_NUMBER = disc number
    • BASENAME = base name for the cue/bin file pair, i.e: SCUS-94426
    BASENAME will be EXACTLY the filename of your BIN/CUE files.

    You can repeat this process for adding multiple games - just create a new GAME_ID and corresponding folder for each game (22,23,24,etc.)

    Follow the instructions above. One game per folder, and make sure you update the db files at the same time. The guide I followed said only to use BIN/CUE files, and I've had 100% success with them so far.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2018
    Tootyuk likes this.
  15. thekarter104

    thekarter104 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,732
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome! RIP PCSX ReARMed, it was 'good' to know you :tpi:
     
  16. notimp

    notimp Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,113
    Country:
    United States
    The Playstation emulator in Retroarch that will step into action: PCSXRearmed
     
    flinto and titaniuml like this.
  17. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,373
    Country:
    United States
    Yes because there are so many other PSX emulators for ARM right?
     
  18. titaniuml

    titaniuml GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    This one's a hassle imo and takes a lot of time if you're adding a lot. It's easier to just put games in any folder you like on the USB and use select + triangle to use the pcsx menu to load the games you want without having to rename anything or any database, and has a lot more save states. Each game has 9 of them.

    Or just wait for retroarch soon.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2018
  19. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    866
    Country:
    United States
    I managed to use busybox from Mega Drive Flashback system (and the SUPERB Madmonkey "hack"!) listing the Playstation Classic partitions:

    Code:
    major minor  #blocks  name
     179        0   15267840 mmcblk0
     179        1       8192 mmcblk0p1
     179        2       8192 mmcblk0p2
     179        3        512 mmcblk0p3
     179        4        512 mmcblk0p4
     179        5       2048 mmcblk0p5
     179        6       2048 mmcblk0p6
     179        7     204800 mmcblk0p7
     179        8      40960 mmcblk0p8
     179        9   14680064 mmcblk0p9
     179       10     319936 mmcblk0p10
     179       96       4096 mmcblk0rpmb
     179       64       4096 mmcblk0boot1
     179       32       4096 mmcblk0boot0
     253        0   14680063 dm-0
       8        0    4008960 sda
       8        1    4007580 sda1
    

    mounted:
    Code:
    Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
    /dev/root               180.8M     99.8M     67.6M  60% /
    devtmpfs                500.3M         0    500.3M   0% /dev
    tmpfs                   500.4M     44.0K    500.4M   0% /dev/shm
    tmpfs                   500.4M    532.0K    499.9M   0% /run
    tmpfs                   500.4M         0    500.4M   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
    tmpfs                   500.4M    532.0K    499.9M   0% /etc/machine-id
    tmpfs                   500.4M    204.0K    500.2M   0% /tmp
    /dev/mapper/gaadata      14.0G     13.1G    941.7M  93% /gaadata
    tmpfs                   500.4M     12.0K    500.4M   0% /var/volatile
    tmpfs                   500.4M     12.0K    500.4M   0% /var/lib
    /dev/mmcblk0p10         298.6M      2.3M    276.7M   1% /data
    tmpfs                   100.1M      7.7M     92.4M   8% /run/user/0
    /dev/sda1                 3.8G      1.9M      3.8G   0% /media
    
    
    0 should be the whole flash
    sda should be my flash drive

    I correctly dumped (using dd) partitions from 1 to 6 but all the others seems to be undumpable probably because they are in use while I am dumping... is there any linux "guru" helping me to dump all other partitions ?

    i would like to have a flash backup BEFORE starting to modify the console...
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2018
    Advokaten and WD_GASTER2 like this.
  20. WD_GASTER2

    WD_GASTER2 Back to basics.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    @asper
    SUPERB! :D
    if accurate
    theoretically in lolhack you can do dd if=/dev/mmcblk0 of=/media/backup.img it SHOULD backup the whole nand to the usb drive

    i think you may have nailed a way to backup your whole nand!

    im not home and are not able to try it at the moment but nice find

    P.S.

    partitions being in use should not prevent read requests to them. it will prevent writes to them for obvious reasons.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2018
    kikongokiller and asper like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Playstation, classic,