Playstation 2 Slim W/ Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by godreborn, Jul 15, 2011.

Jul 15, 2011
  1. godreborn
    OP

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    United States
    is it possible to play games via a hard drive with the ps2 slim? I installed a matrix infinity modchip a few years ago, but considering I'm using a hard drive for both wii and 360 games, I'd like to use a hard drive for the ps2 as well.
     
  2. Sop

    Banned Sop groovy dude lmao

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    qld
    Country:
    Australia
    Nah, only on the fat models via the network adapter.
     
  3. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
  4. SS4

    Member SS4 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    In front of my Computer
    Country:
    Canada
    Well id have lots of download to do unless you can extract ps2 games like on the wii cfg loader from the disc directly lol.

    But yeah I was thinking of going HDD on my slim since the DVD reader is getting old...I thought you couldnt, so your saying that it can be done on a slim as long as its chipped? Unlike the fat that can be done as is...

    Any links for products or FAQs on the process?
     
  5. Lily

    Former Staff Lily One Scary Lady

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,727
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    You can get an HD Combo, which is part replacement case (to provide room for the hard drive) and part solder install. Only attempt it if you're really good at soldering, because it's pretty easy to bugger the slim with it.
     
  6. DeathStrudel

    Member DeathStrudel GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Country:
    United States
    You can use an external USB HDD on a PS2 slim, but it's not as good as an internal HDD, iirc FMVs play slow and you might experience lag issues

    also HDCombo only works on v12 and v13 PS2s
     
  7. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, apparently, some worked the compatibility on more recent model.
    http://www.hdcombo.com/hdcombo_ins2.htm
    http://www.westingames.cn/sdp/1000564/4/pd...dd-on_sale.html
    also, I found that http://www.electronics-mod.com/default.asp...amp;cmdID=46989
    However, I don't know if these are legitimate.

    @godreborn
    It's also possible to use the network adapter to load games from a remote hdd, it's much faster than usb but slightly less than from the dvd, for most game, it's fast enough.
     
  8. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it's such a shame that we can't play ps2 games from a external hard drive, the ps3 can do it and so can the wii, that is so backwards, it would be awesome becasue i wouldn't have to get out my 200+ ps2 collection it would all be there on a hard drive, very convenient.

    i have a matrix infnity modchip on my ps2 slim but it would be much faster for hard drive loading, but you can't use external hard drives on the slims becasue the usb ports are only 1.1 speed so it's pretty much useless.
     
  9. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    You can actually use an external HDD with decent speed on a ps2 slim if you are using the Ethernet connection (SMB), most game will play almost perfectly, albeit an extra second or 2 in loading times.

    BTW, you should read previous post before posting as I pointed out that it was possible to connect a hdd on a slim ps2 "internally" (through the ps2 IDE controller), meaning that it would give you full speed.
     
  10. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They are legit. You have to at least partially install a chip with it as well to get it going. You can see an example here
    http://shop.01media.com/viewSingleFaq.asp?faqID=119

    Have to install at least the bios wires on a modbo 4 to make it work, or you can install all the wires to get full support (play backup discs , ps1 etc). It apparently works fine from what I've read, although there seems to be a lot of hostility towards it, something to do with it using fmcb and other free software (not entirely sure what).
     
  11. SS4

    Member SS4 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    In front of my Computer
    Country:
    Canada
    This is quite an interesting topic, ill do some more research on the matter and see what ill do about it.
    But can u run PS2 games from a HDD using a PS3? Coz I know on the wii u cant load GC Games from the config loader which was a bummer when I learned it after trying an failing [​IMG]
     
  12. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    I believe it is not possible unless you have a backward compatible PS3 due to the removal of the emotion engine to cut cost, most PS3 system cannot play ps2 games via disc or hard drive.
     
  13. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
     

Share This Page