Play DSTWO saves on PC Emulator

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by toxicityj, Jan 19, 2013.

Jan 19, 2013
  1. toxicityj
    OP

    Newcomer toxicityj Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    So I've got myself a nice little game of Pokemon Soul Silver going right now on my 3DS via DSTWO. Now I'm looking to bring it over to my PC and play a little on here with a controller just to spice things up. Unfortunately it seems that the saved games from the DSTWO and the saved games from the various NDS emulators I've tried aren't very compatible. I've looked around online and found a few online converters, but none of them directly support the DSTWO and none of them have worked. So I figured I'd come here since this community has helped me on multiple occasions in the past.

    Has anyone had any success switching between PC and DSTWO painlessly?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The DSTwo is often not listed because it's one of the most recent carts, and by the time the DSTwo had come out most carts were using the same format (RAW or whatever) anyways. It's the same format the AK2i uses, if that helps. I think some emulators have an "import raw save" function, if that helps?
     
  3. Nebuleon

    Member Nebuleon MAH BOI/GURL

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    900
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah; you should be able to import the .SAV directly as a raw battery save. Or, depending on the emulator, drop the .SAV into your ROM directory on the PC and the emulator may restart from that point.
     
  4. toxicityj
    OP

    Newcomer toxicityj Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Not having any luck, unfortunately. Here's what I did:

    -Moved my ROM and .SAV over from my micro SD card to my desktop
    -Loaded up the ROM in DeSmuME
    -File -> Import Backup Memory -> blahblah.sav ->
    -Then I tried using all 3 variants of the Auto save size selector. None of them worked.

    Is there a better emulator to be using instead of DeSmuME?
     
  5. Nebuleon

    Member Nebuleon MAH BOI/GURL

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    900
    Country:
    Canada
    If Desmume doesn't work, try no$gba, which, despite its name, does emulate the DS.
     
  6. gamewizard

    Member gamewizard GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Also did you convert the save i would do that just to be sure.
     
  7. Ritsuki

    Member Ritsuki ORAORAORAORA

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,217
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Try the DS Save Converter. I used it to bypass some anti-piracy in some game. Just put Ak2 (or Supercard ?) as source and RAW format ([Autodetection] if you don't know the size, otherwise select appropriate size) as destination
     
  8. toxicityj
    OP

    Newcomer toxicityj Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Using the converter found here, I converted it from DSTWO to Raw format and then to DeSuME format, neither of which worked. All I get when I load any of my save files via DeSmuME is the rom reloading and it proceeding as though I have no saved game. I'm having similar results using no$gba.
     
  9. Nebuleon

    Member Nebuleon MAH BOI/GURL

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    900
    Country:
    Canada
    That's weird. You might have to drop the .sav into no$gba's battery-backed-save path instead, which should be <path to emulator>\BATTERY. I don't know where Desmume saves are stored if they're not stored beside the ROM, sorry.
     
  10. toxicityj
    OP

    Newcomer toxicityj Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    No luck with Desmume at all, but I got no$gba to at last recognize that my saved game exists. Although when I click it open the rom crashes. Which sounds like something I read while looking for a solution (something to do with a SS/HG and no$gba bug)...so I'm off to figure that out.
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What game is it, does the save file still load on the DSTwo? What's the size of the file?
     
  12. Vanth88

    Member Vanth88 Private

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page