1. LukeHasAWii

    LukeHasAWii GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    859
    Country:
    United States
  2. Btw, the link to the DSi footer template is down on dsiguide.me.
     
  3. LukeHasAWii

    LukeHasAWii GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    859
    Country:
    United States
    It is? Gee, nobody told me. Give me a sec.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Why dont you check now, and see if I was able to fix the download link on the site correctly from my phone. If the program is the same and you followed the steps to add the footer then you probably have a bad Nand dump
     
  4. slaphappygamer

    slaphappygamer GBAPerm
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,511
    Country:
    United States
    I had a problem with the footer at first.
     
  5. Beware, I flashed the modified nand backup without testing correctly, I bricked. ALWAYS TEST BACKUPS.
     
  6. TheCyberQuake

    TheCyberQuake Certified Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,011
    Country:
    United States
    I did that to my first dsi. When I checked later some error occurred somewhere in the process and made a nand.bin with garbage data. I always test in no$gba, it's saved me a couple times.
     
    LukeHasAWii likes this.
  7. Dominator211

    Dominator211 JFK's Jelly Donut
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,653
    Country:
    United States
    Is this dsi ware? And what is this for I am very confused
     
  8. MarioMasta64

    MarioMasta64 hi. i make batch stuff and portable shiz
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Country:
    United States
    how do i do the losetup + mount method? (linux)
     
  9. sks316

    sks316 Professional Shitposter (also I help sometimes)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,657
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to follow this guide
    At the end I got an error in fwTool when restoring. It said "Couldn't read SD!" Restarting my DSi results in an endless white screen. Did I brick?
     
  10. TheCyberQuake

    TheCyberQuake Certified Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,011
    Country:
    United States
    Yep sounds like you did.
     
  11. sks316

    sks316 Professional Shitposter (also I help sometimes)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,657
    Country:
    United States
    FUCK! How in hell did I brick? I followed the guide precisely as closely as I followed 3ds.guide and dsiguide.me!
    Let's see, I added 2 games, so my DSiWare list would be as follows:
    Nintendo DSi Browser
    Flipnote Studio
    SUDOKU
    Zelda: Four Swords
    Cut the Rope

    What did I do wrong?
     
  12. TheCyberQuake

    TheCyberQuake Certified Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,011
    Country:
    United States
    Based on the error sounds like a faulty sd or SD slot.
     
  13. sks316

    sks316 Professional Shitposter (also I help sometimes)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,657
    Country:
    United States
    Well, when I had restored the NAND before to downgrade and install SUDOKU, it worked flawlessly. Well, this time I was using HBMenu to boot fwTool, so do you think that caused it? Also, how would I unbrick? Flashcards and hardmods are not an option.
    The strange thing is, I tested my NAND in No$GBA and it worked fine!
     
  14. TheCyberQuake

    TheCyberQuake Certified Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,011
    Country:
    United States
    Hardmod is the only option at this point
     
    CatmanFan likes this.
  15. sks316

    sks316 Professional Shitposter (also I help sometimes)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,657
    Country:
    United States
    According to No$GBA, I still had 612 blocks open. What went wrong? Maybe I flashed the decrypted NAND on accident?
    Well, fuck my life. BRB, gonna go sit in the corner.
     
    CatmanFan likes this.
  16. TheCyberQuake

    TheCyberQuake Certified Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,011
    Country:
    United States
    This is why apache thunder hasn't released his exploit yet. He's waiting for a safer method for nand modification and he's not going to be the one to make it from what I've heard.
    The error message you received likely means the SD card stopped being readable sometime during the flash. Usually a sign of a faulty sd card or SD slot.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2017
    CatmanFan and LukeHasAWii like this.
  17. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,975
    Country:
    Mexico
    That is bs, fwtool is completly safe (at least certain fork is), as you said, it was definetly an SD card/adapter/slot error.
    Also people should get the rid of this kind of outdated guides, you know, TWLnf is a thing...
     
  18. slaphappygamer

    slaphappygamer GBAPerm
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,511
    Country:
    United States
    So TWLnf is stable? I mean, as long as you follow the instructions correctly.
     
  19. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,975
    Country:
    Mexico
    Of course, it has enough safely check to call it safe, also no one did brick using it (not downgrading nor intalling DSiWare).
     
    slaphappygamer likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - installing, hardware, emulator