PAL Brawl differences

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by CambridgeGuy, Jun 28, 2008.

Jun 28, 2008

PAL Brawl differences by CambridgeGuy at 1:29 PM (1,540 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. CambridgeGuy
    OP

    Member CambridgeGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Ireland
    I've had the US version of Brawl for ages (I imported it months back), and yesterday I played the newly released PAL version. Aside from obvious language differences and renaming stuff like Starfox to Starwing, there's one other, more worrying, difference: the game seems to only work in 50hz, even if you set your Wii to 60hz in the Wii's settings menu (haven't been able to try progressive scan, don't know if that works). This is strangn because the back of the box has the 50hz/60hz icon, meaning that the game should support 60hz mode.

    This forced 50hz resulted in some noticable froblems. The intro to the game (before the FMV starts) where you see all the characters lined up, is really juddery with an inconsistent framerate. The speed of the game, however, is the same as before, so it has clearly been optimised for 50hz. However there is sometimes slowdown, which i never noticed when playing the US version. This is probably due to the higher resolution of 50hz mode. Another (very small) difference is the "Now Loading" wording at the bottom corner of the screen is now slightly higher up. This is again probably because the game has not been well adjusted for the higher resolution.

    Now for the fun part: if you use Gecko OS, you can *force* the game to run at 60hz. This seems to fix the issues outlined above, but it also causes one other, more significant difference. The gameplay is noticably faster. I have yet to try playing in this faster mode online (I don't own the PAL version myself), but it would be interesting to see if you can get any advantage from this.

    Has anyone else noticed this? Can the game be played in 480p? (480p requires 60hz, but according to the games box, the game supports it)
     
  2. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    did you perhaps use wiifrii e.g.? that swapped video modes in the US brawl.. if you set yer wii to 480i for example it would be 480p etc.
     
  3. CambridgeGuy
    OP

    Member CambridgeGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Ireland
    no i haven't used wiifrii. i don't have a modchip -- all the stuff i'm doing here is with genuine, legit games.
     
  4. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    That's... very odd. My PAL Brawl original runs in 60Hz without any problems. o.o
     

Share This Page