Hacking Overclocking 3ds?

themperror

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2009
Messages
181
Trophies
0
XP
367
Country
Netherlands
Is it possible to overclock the 3ds (XL) in any way? or might it be possible? overclocking GPU/CPU might help reduce lagg in some games and increasing the TX rate and other wifi hardware settings might increase wireless stability..
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

mrolive

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
547
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
462
Country
Canada
Even if this were possible, It would shorten your 3DS lifespan. Overclocking something such as an Android phone can sometimes lead to suddenn hardware failures because the clock rate is higher than the manufaturer set.

Also, I'm pretty sure the 3DS's clock rates are hard-coded into the kernel.
 

Reecey

Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
5,864
Trophies
2
Location
At Home :)
XP
4,449
Country
I debated exactly the same question in a thread along while back when the first leak for the NN3DS stats where made public to see if a homebrew app. or something could be developed like they do for PC's to overclock the 3DS but no its not possible, your 3DS would just collapse basically under pressure. You could of searched before starting a new thread you would of found your answer alot quicker :)
 

themperror

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2009
Messages
181
Trophies
0
XP
367
Country
Netherlands
Well I'm aware of the dangers of overclocking, I'm an experienced overclocker with my laptop and several PC's.

But in the end it's not about whether it's smart but whether it's POSSIBLE, and we have kernel access in gateway so.. there must be a way right?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

blinkzane

Panic at your moms house
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
944
Trophies
1
Location
Florida
XP
1,640
Country
United States
Well I'm aware of the dangers of overclocking, I'm an experienced overclocker with my laptop and several PC's.

But in the end it's not about whether it's smart but whether it's POSSIBLE, and we have kernel access in gateway so.. there must be a way right?

I wouldnt do it, if a game is made to a certain specification then overclocking wont make a difference. I can see where custom homebrew could use the overclocking but we're talking about a minimum jump that probably wouldn't be effective enough to make a difference even in emulation.
 

Duo8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
3,613
Trophies
2
XP
3,022
Country
Vietnam
It was mentioned that overclocking is prevented at hardware level. So even if you can manipulate the clock generator it won't work.
Underclocking does though, but not through software AFAIK.
 

Mauwi

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
341
Country
Gambia, The
Why should it be sure that it isn't possible to overclock the 3DS? It was already possible with PSP (I know it is different Hardware), so why shouldn't there be an overclocking Option in 3DS CPU?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

Vappy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2012
Messages
1,508
Trophies
2
XP
2,613
Country

themperror

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2009
Messages
181
Trophies
0
XP
367
Country
Netherlands
Even if that's legit and works, it seems a little pointless. At best everything runs at a higher frequency, at worst it causes a load of timing errors in whatever you're running.

It's like overclocking the SuperFX on a Star Fox cart - it doesn't actually fix the slowdown, it just makes the whole thing run faster.

Well everything should be delta-timed anyways, if you don't then you're a bad programmer (except for simulations where DT doesn't apply)
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,824
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,819
Country
Poland
Well everything should be delta-timed anyways, if you don't then you're a bad programmer (except for simulations where DT doesn't apply)
Consoles (especially old ones) tend to synchronize to either the refresh rate or the clock unless they were designed with variable clock speed in mind (see: PSP). Overclocking a DS for instance just leads everything to run faster than it should. Of course I'm not saying that's the case with the 3DS - that's a far more modern design. Anywho, I can see overclocking being a possibility in the future provided the CPU isn't going full blast as is.
 

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,754
Trophies
1
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,558
Country
United Kingdom
What would we need over clocking for anyways? If it were possible, could xenoblade chronicles run properly providing the older 3DS could read it :P (Assuming it can't even find the game), or is the hardware completely different?

I haven't been bothered to check out the specs of the new console since I'm not interested in it so have no idea what's what in that respect.
 

themperror

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2009
Messages
181
Trophies
0
XP
367
Country
Netherlands
Consoles (especially old ones) tend to synchronize to either the refresh rate or the clock unless they were designed with variable clock speed in mind (see: PSP). Overclocking a DS for instance just leads everything to run faster than it should. Of course I'm not saying that's the case with the 3DS - that's a far more modern design. Anywho, I can see overclocking being a possibility in the future provided the CPU isn't going full blast as is.


Ofcourse above 60fps it'll get capped and wait for vblanks, but below you cannot go from the conclusion you will get exactly similiar performance in different area's of a level or parts of your code, this causes laggs.

Delta time is a solution you can use to have similiar movement (adjusted for lagg) in all parts of a game/program. There's literally no reason not to use it..
 

Duo8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
3,613
Trophies
2
XP
3,022
Country
Vietnam
Well there's this

Code:
Dec 08 11:26:22 <@profi200>    It doesn't allow overclocking even by hardware. Underclocking works (hw).
...
Dec 08 11:27:20 <@yellows8>    profi200: you only mean the arm9 right?
Dec 08 11:27:43 <@profi200>    The entire SoC.
...
Dec 08 11:31:54 <@profi200>    Over hardware, yes. By giving it different clockrates over the points meant for the quartz.
...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pnRVIC7kS4s