Online troubles with my DSi..Pokemon White on an R4

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by WarMachine77, May 23, 2012.

  1. WarMachine77
    OP

    Member WarMachine77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    United States
    I have heard that with this generation of Pokemon, they have allowed you to use WPA2-PSK encrypted networks to play online. However, I get an error when I use mine =/

    Please help
     
  2. Black-Ice

    Member Black-Ice Founder of the Church of Renamon

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4,223
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you linked your game to a global link account?
    Is yor ds properly connected to your router?
    Is something blocking your ds from connecting.

    Run though questions like that, most commonly its the first one.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. VMM

    Member VMM Full Hollow Cero

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Country:
    Brazil
    If you're playing on a flashcard, unless it's iEvolution Cyclo DS, it will not work.
     
  4. WarMachine77
    OP

    Member WarMachine77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    United States
    Hey thanks! How do I link my game to a global account?
    My DSi is connected to a WPA2-PSK network, though it is set as connection 4 because it is not supported for connections 1-3


    iEvolution Cyclo DS? Awww :(

    It is an R4i-3DS
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No flash cart allows you to access WPA/2 connections.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. WarMachine77
    OP

    Member WarMachine77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    United States
    That's friggin bogus but thank you

    and yeah I figured out how to sync but it wouldn't let me...for reasons that Rydian pointed out
     
  7. syfyTy

    Member syfyTy PhD in Thaumaturgy

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Tazmily, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I know literally nothing about Pokemon and am no expert on anything but having read a dozen or so of these threads on the WiFi specs, from what I have heard it also depends on the system ie DSi VS nds or DS phat etc.. as well as the card. Both must match.

    Unless I am sorely mistake, which I may be, up until the DSi (and maybe still..), all Ds versions were only able to use wep, that is the system itself is capaable only of wep, and the card would not alter that...
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The issue here is a flash cart is being used, which limits the Wifi to WEP in all scenarios.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. VMM

    Member VMM Full Hollow Cero

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Country:
    Brazil
    Wrong, Cyclo DS allows you to use it, because it has DSi mode
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Last I checked WiFi is not functional in the iEvo's DSi-mode, because the game it exploits doesn't have WiFi functionality so it's not enabled.
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    Not exactly. You could go with no encryption at all, though that's pretty much considered a bad idea by anyone who knows how to use a computer.

    But yeah...if you want to play Pokemon online with WPA encryption you'll have to buy the actual cartridge or wait for a flash cart to come out that has the full capability of DSi mode enabled... The latter might not exist until the 3DSi XL is out, though.
     
    2 people like this.
  12. WarMachine77
    OP

    Member WarMachine77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm thanks guys, very helfpul

    If I have another router, can I connect it to my first router and make a temporary WEP network, taking it apart whenever I wasn't using it? Just curious. All the other wifi hotspot programs only broadcast WPA/WPA2
     
  13. VMM

    Member VMM Full Hollow Cero

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952
    Country:
    Brazil
    If you have 2 routers you can connect your internet on both, let one be WPA2 for your other devices, and one WEP for DS.
    If you connect one router to the other you probably will get two signals,
    they may differ the security system, leting you have one WPA2 and the other WEP.

    Or you can, change temporary one of these to WEP, but for that you would'nt need 2 routers.

    Try changing your router to WEP and using the same password of your router now.
    If it works, you will not need to let it WPA2.

    WPA2 is more secure indeed, but if you use a simple password, and is a normal user,
    it will not have much advantages to you using a WPA2 security
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page