Ok, so I just got my first brick...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Rico007, Nov 25, 2009.

Nov 25, 2009
  1. Rico007
    OP

    Newcomer Rico007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Greetings GBAtempers, first post here. Just to start off, I had been reading guides and such for WiiModding for weeks before I decided to try it, becoming aware of the risks and implications. But in the end I still bricked it. I come here to see if any information you have may help me save my Wii, or if I have a shiny new doorstop. I used this here guide to softmod my wii: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=168890 And managed to do everything well until I installed preloader in case my wii bricked... which ironically is what bricked it. I don't know what information you need to know, but I will provide what I believe could be useful.
    It says in the guide that there is no brick protection for 4.2, but who knows...

    Wii Bought sometime in January or February.
    Updated to system menu 4.2U before I ever thought of softmodding >.<
    Bannerbombed and Installed HBC, Bootmii as an IOS and DVDX. Bootmii would not do Boot2.
    Backed up my NAND, have no idea where I dumped the file though or what it's called even...
     


  2. frenchderf

    Newcomer frenchderf Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Belgium
    You might install system menu from Wad but it is risky as far as 4.2.wad will erase Preloader. If it works fine you will be back to system ok without preloader... If not... Oopss Wii is almost dead.

    May me you should ask xzero

    frenchderf
     
  3. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    what version of preloader did you install???
     
  4. Rico007
    OP

    Newcomer Rico007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I installed preloader 0.29, as given in the guide.
     
  5. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    what version of IOS do you run preloader on?
    change it to IOS70 if its not set to that

    and maybe the exact HBC error can help us too
     
  6. Ultralex

    Member Ultralex GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    Germany
    If Preloader boots it's just a semi brick.

    First download the System Menu wad of your version and region via NUSDownloader
    then put wad manager on the root and the wad into a folder called "wad" on your SD.
    Then install wad manager via preloader.
    Then reboot your Wii.
    If wad manager shows up install the Menu.

    I did the same today,all went fine.
     
  7. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    chances are u installed the old Preloader 0.29 HAXX edition... and u must've updated your homebrew to 1.06 JODI edition... when your preloader is trying to launch HBC, it is trying to load HAXX title, when it should be trying to load JODI

    to fix this, get a JODI forwarder dol and install it, or update your preloader to preloader 0.29 JODI, or preloader 0.30 rev 4, or priiloader

    then u will be able to access homebrew channel

    installing priiloader should also solve your system menu not launching problem... the reason why its not launchign now is because your system menu IOS probably isn't patched properly. But priiloader doesn't require the system menu IOS to be patched, so it should load fine. If u decide to stick with preloader (instead of priiloader), u need to trucha patch and ES_Identify patch your system menu IOS to fix your problem
     
  8. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    reinstalling preloader through preloader is the best bet
     
  9. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'd suggest this method sounds the most safe and it'll work
     
  10. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    correction: reinstalling PRIILOADER through preloader is your best bet

    [​IMG]
     
  11. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    and or either it dont matter really does it
     
  12. Rico007
    OP

    Newcomer Rico007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I have wifi now, preloader presented me with an update option to version 0.30 rev 4, which flak mentioned I should try updating to, so I clicked it a few minutes ago. It currently says Downloading changelog...

    In case it doesn't work or doesn't finish, would it be safe to turn off my wii and then try to install the JODI HBC or Priiloader? If so, could I get steps on how to do it properly please?

    EDIT: THE HBC error I get is that it can't find the file.
     
  13. Rico007
    OP

    Newcomer Rico007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
  14. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    Awwwwww, you broke your cherry!!!!!!! Congrats
     
  15. TheNewbPleaser

    Member TheNewbPleaser GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    yes its safe just try to run priiloader installer. or just get a wad of system menu 4.2 and get ios 70 to make sure then just install both wads and ur wii should me as nice as new!
     
  16. Rico007
    OP

    Newcomer Rico007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I... I didn't mean to!!! I was trying to protect it!!! :gonk:
     
  17. Rico007
    OP

    Newcomer Rico007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Ok, I have priiloader v 0.1 on my laptop... Do I put it on the root of my SD or what?
     
  18. Rico007
    OP

    Newcomer Rico007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Ok, on a wild hunch, I put the priiloader on the root, installed with prelader, run installed file, it tells me to pres plus to install, but my wiimote is not responding now. The lights just flash a few times and turn off. And the batteries are new... :/
     
  19. Rico007
    OP

    Newcomer Rico007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Ok, Installed Jodi Preloader, HBC now works...

    What should I do now?

    Somebody suggested I get a wad of System menu 4.2 and IOS 70... I shall look for them.
     
  20. Rico007
    OP

    Newcomer Rico007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Honestly, I have searched around, I can't find IOS 70 or system menu 4.2u wads just floating around on Google.

    Can somebody please tell me what exactly to look for so I can google it? As in, the file name?

    I DID find a page that has system menu, but I dunno which to pick. The latest three are from Oct. 1st, and are RVL-WiiSystemmenu-v480.wad, and versions 481 and 482 as well... should I pick one of them? If so which one?

    I really want to have my system menu back, as Homebrew Channel does not exit to it anymore, it just resets back to itself.

    And once I DO install the wads, will I have to reinstall anything like IOS or others?


    EDIT: I shall be back tomorrow, I'm going to bed. SO much brick fixing has bricked my brain @_@
     

Share This Page