Hacking Ok, so I just got my first brick...

Rico007

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Location
Puerto Rico
XP
103
Country
Greetings GBAtempers, first post here. Just to start off, I had been reading guides and such for WiiModding for weeks before I decided to try it, becoming aware of the risks and implications. But in the end I still bricked it. I come here to see if any information you have may help me save my Wii, or if I have a shiny new doorstop. I used this here guide to softmod my wii: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=168890 And managed to do everything well until I installed preloader in case my wii bricked... which ironically is what bricked it. I don't know what information you need to know, but I will provide what I believe could be useful.
It says in the guide that there is no brick protection for 4.2, but who knows...

Wii Bought sometime in January or February.
Updated to system menu 4.2U before I ever thought of softmodding >.<
Bannerbombed and Installed HBC, Bootmii as an IOS and DVDX. Bootmii would not do Boot2.
Backed up my NAND, have no idea where I dumped the file though or what it's called even...
 

frenchderf

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
62
Trophies
0
XP
50
Country
Belgium
You might install system menu from Wad but it is risky as far as 4.2.wad will erase Preloader. If it works fine you will be back to system ok without preloader... If not... Oopss Wii is almost dead.

May me you should ask xzero

frenchderf
 

Ultralex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
334
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
137
Country
Gambia, The
If Preloader boots it's just a semi brick.

First download the System Menu wad of your version and region via NUSDownloader
then put wad manager on the root and the wad into a folder called "wad" on your SD.
Then install wad manager via preloader.
Then reboot your Wii.
If wad manager shows up install the Menu.

I did the same today,all went fine.
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,919
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
9,975
Country
Cyprus
chances are u installed the old Preloader 0.29 HAXX edition... and u must've updated your homebrew to 1.06 JODI edition... when your preloader is trying to launch HBC, it is trying to load HAXX title, when it should be trying to load JODI

to fix this, get a JODI forwarder dol and install it, or update your preloader to preloader 0.29 JODI, or preloader 0.30 rev 4, or priiloader

then u will be able to access homebrew channel

installing priiloader should also solve your system menu not launching problem... the reason why its not launchign now is because your system menu IOS probably isn't patched properly. But priiloader doesn't require the system menu IOS to be patched, so it should load fine. If u decide to stick with preloader (instead of priiloader), u need to trucha patch and ES_Identify patch your system menu IOS to fix your problem
 

longtom1

Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
2,641
Trophies
1
Location
Honey Oils inc.
Website
Visit site
XP
197
Country
xflak40 said:
chances are u installed the old Preloader 0.29 HAXX edition... and u must've updated your homebrew to 1.06 JODI edition... when your preloader is trying to launch HBC, it is trying to load HAXX title, when it should be trying to load JODI

to fix this, get a JODI forwarder dol and install it, or update your preloader to preloader 0.29 JODI, or preloader 0.30 rev 4, or priiloader

then u will be able to access homebrew channel

installing priiloader should also solve your system menu not launching problem... the reason why its not launchign now is because your system menu IOS probably isn't patched properly. But priiloader doesn't require the system menu IOS to be patched, so it should load fine. If u decide to stick with preloader (instead of priiloader), u need to trucha patch and ES_Identify patch your system menu IOS to fix your problem
I'd suggest this method sounds the most safe and it'll work
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,919
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
9,975
Country
Cyprus
correction: reinstalling PRIILOADER through preloader is your best bet

wink.gif
 

Rico007

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Location
Puerto Rico
XP
103
Country
I have wifi now, preloader presented me with an update option to version 0.30 rev 4, which flak mentioned I should try updating to, so I clicked it a few minutes ago. It currently says Downloading changelog...

In case it doesn't work or doesn't finish, would it be safe to turn off my wii and then try to install the JODI HBC or Priiloader? If so, could I get steps on how to do it properly please?

EDIT: THE HBC error I get is that it can't find the file.
 

Rico007

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Location
Puerto Rico
XP
103
Country

TheNewbPleaser

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
130
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Costa Rica
XP
73
Country
yes its safe just try to run priiloader installer. or just get a wad of system menu 4.2 and get ios 70 to make sure then just install both wads and ur wii should me as nice as new!
 

Rico007

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Location
Puerto Rico
XP
103
Country
Ok, on a wild hunch, I put the priiloader on the root, installed with prelader, run installed file, it tells me to pres plus to install, but my wiimote is not responding now. The lights just flash a few times and turn off. And the batteries are new... :/
 

Rico007

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Location
Puerto Rico
XP
103
Country
Ok, Installed Jodi Preloader, HBC now works...

What should I do now?

Somebody suggested I get a wad of System menu 4.2 and IOS 70... I shall look for them.
 

Rico007

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Location
Puerto Rico
XP
103
Country
Honestly, I have searched around, I can't find IOS 70 or system menu 4.2u wads just floating around on Google.

Can somebody please tell me what exactly to look for so I can google it? As in, the file name?

I DID find a page that has system menu, but I dunno which to pick. The latest three are from Oct. 1st, and are RVL-WiiSystemmenu-v480.wad, and versions 481 and 482 as well... should I pick one of them? If so which one?

I really want to have my system menu back, as Homebrew Channel does not exit to it anymore, it just resets back to itself.

And once I DO install the wads, will I have to reinstall anything like IOS or others?


EDIT: I shall be back tomorrow, I'm going to bed. SO much brick fixing has bricked my brain @_@
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: Hide a dictionary in your sleeve