Ok,I have a few questions.

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by amazingwilly, Feb 12, 2011.

Feb 12, 2011
  1. amazingwilly
    OP

    Newcomer amazingwilly Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so I am very new to this site, I practically just signed up.

    So I have an r4, and for some reason a few of the games I play won't fully work.
    Such games would be pokemon soulsilver/ heatgold, platinum, and yugioh 2010 for the ds.
    So the question is how do I make these games work on my ds on its r4 card.
     
  2. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It depends.... (mainly on the TYPE of R4 card you have)

    Firstly - when you got the r4, was the firmware (or operating system) already on it ??
    If so... visit the R4 website (usually shown on the sticker of the R4 card) to see if there had been an updated version of the firmware...

    If there has been - download & install it - it MIGHT help

    Secondly, What R4 have you got ??? (ther are soooo many of these thngs)
    - where did you buy it & what's the website on the sticker ??

    ....that MIGHT help us determine if it's a bad 'clone' (which usually don't have that much in the line of support) or whether it's a '1:1' copy of the original R4 (which should be able to use the 'Wood R4' firmware which is usually updated quite regularly)
     
  3. SmokeFox

    Member SmokeFox Jesus Christ is the Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Its an original R4? If it is, why dont you use wood r4 1.23? Or Ysmenu, you will play most of the games.
     
  4. amazingwilly
    OP

    Newcomer amazingwilly Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I just checked the box and its says its an r4-III upgrade revolution for the ds.
     
  5. amazingwilly
    OP

    Newcomer amazingwilly Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Also what is a good website to download the r4 firmware from?
     
  6. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I'm not sure but I think that's a 'clone', but IF it's the one I'm thinking of then this is the website that should be the one for it (in fact it should be the same web address as on the sticker on the R4)

    If so then the latest firmware for that is v3.13 firmware (if your card was a R4 III i then it'll be v4.03)
    Another site I usually recommend is http://www.linfoxdomain.com/nintendo/ds/ this usually keeps the latest avaliable firmware for virtually every possible flashcard around (even the multitude of R4 clones)

    Whether this will work with 'Wood R4' I cannot tell - sorry
     
  7. amazingwilly
    OP

    Newcomer amazingwilly Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I thank you dearly for the research you have done for me.
     
  8. amazingwilly
    OP

    Newcomer amazingwilly Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Another question, where can I buy acekard from which is the true r4 card.
     
  9. TheHunted1

    Newcomer TheHunted1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Netherlands
    dont use that filmware, its last update was in 2009 -_-,, use WoodR4,, it gets updateted regullary.
     
  10. amazingwilly
    OP

    Newcomer amazingwilly Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    how do I use the wood one, if my r4 isnt an ace card?
     
  11. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So 'WoodR4' does work with the 'r4-III upgrade revolution' then ???
    Wasn't sure about that it was a 1:1 copy !! [​IMG]

    EDIT: (You posted while I was typing out the above post)
    FYI - WoodR4 (IIRC) is actually a version of the popular firmware called AKAIO (for Acekards) made to work on 1:1 R4 copies.
    the problem is knowing which R4 cards are actual 1:1 copies capable of running the WoodR4 firmware

    For more info on WoodR4 try this post It's a bit old but still quite relevant
     

Share This Page