NTLDR is Missing

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Keeley, Oct 18, 2009.

Oct 18, 2009

NTLDR is Missing by Keeley at 6:51 PM (1,070 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Keeley
    OP

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Yesterday I couldn't get DeeZire to work on Red Alert 2 but it didn't seem to work so I tried to install Windows 2000 Pro but bout halfway through it couldn't read driver.cab so I decided to quit the setup after trying to make it work and now I get the error message "NTLDR is Missing" and it won't let me boot up through the CD drive at all, I've change the boot up options but no luck either...

    Any help is appreciated
     
  2. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    NTDLR is the NT loader, it should have any effect regarding you booting from CD/DVD. Are you sure you set the boot priorities properly and hit a key on the keyboard when requested to boot the CD/DVD? Seeing as you said your install failed, it sounds like your windows 2000 pro CD is kinda screwy anyway (together with THAT cd drive anyway). Have you tried any other install DVD/CDs?
     
  3. Keeley
    OP

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah I'm sure I set the boot priorities right, I'm trying to boot from the CD drive but with no avail, I've tried different CDs, including a XP one but it doesn't seem to work either =(

    The problem with most solutions is that it requires you to boot from a disk, but my laptop doesn't seem to want to I dunno why this is very frustrating! [​IMG]
     
  4. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
  5. Keeley
    OP

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    The problem with "Make a NTLDR boot disk to get back into Windows." is that it requires a CD and it won't boot up and for the floppy I dunno if it'll boot from it I'll try it, and obvoisly I can't use a boot disk since it won't read them =(
     
  6. Keeley
    OP

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Quick Update: The CD didn't work as mentioned and apperently my Floppy disk on XP doesn't work and I have to wait for my dad to come home first and use his laptop, any other suggestions [​IMG]
     
  7. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    If you tried to install 2000 without partitioning then you probably wiped out XP. The only solution if that is the case is to reinstall XP. You can't recover anything if there is no OS to recover to.

    If you partitioned the drive and still have XP on it then you need to have the XP cd to get into the recovery mode and do a fixboot or fixmbr.
     
  8. Keeley
    OP

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Thats the problem though I can't reinstall XP cuz it won't boot it
     
  9. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    Check the boot.ini to make sure it has something like the following..

    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
     
  10. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Look, you can install Windows if you have the CD either one that came with the computer or some sort of partition built into the computer itself. You don't need to enter Windows on the hard drive to install it.

    Since, this is extremely hard for you to understand. I'll just assume that when you tried to install 2000, you did not do it on a separate partition. That being the case, you need to find your XP/Restore CD that came with your computer, figure out how to access the restore partition (usually pressing a key at startup), or find a not so legitimate way of obtaining an XP disc.

    Either case you need to have access to an XP DISC, as it has a repair function on it or to do a reinstall.
     
  11. Keeley
    OP

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh thanks for the explaintion I'll try it
     
  12. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    If there is a built-in recovery be aware that it is highly likely to wipe out all of your files on the destination partition. You will want to use something like an ERD Commander disc or a Linux Live CD if you need to backup any of your files.
     
  13. Keeley
    OP

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I finally got it work! Thanks guys, and now that I install a fresh copy what important files should I install? Like Runtime files things like that
     
  14. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    To play your game the installer should have everything you need but you may want to install the latest DX9 from MS' site. Also you will want to install the latest video drivers for your system.
     

Share This Page