ROM Hack RELEASE NSC_Builder. Nintendo Switch Cleaner and Builder. (Game+updates+dlc in a single xci)

  • Thread starter JRoad
  • Start date
  • Views 554,759
  • Replies 2,721
  • Likes 68

ibbanez

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
176
Country
United States
@JRoad And another question. Since I have a 9900k @ 5GHz, would I benefit from raising the workers=-threads to something higher than 1? Thanks.

*** Update *** I just tested myself, and I tried 2 threads, and 4 threads. 2 or more, maxes my mechanical drive so I cut the time in half. Im sure if I were to use my NMVE drives, the more threads would greatly speed up the process. Now, is there anything negative about using more than 1 thread sir? Thanks.

***Update *** Doing more testing. It seemed to of slow down, so I don't know if my CPU or OS was caching the data, but Im still testing out. Now Im not seeing the huge increases that I was seeing. Ohh well. Back to testing.
 
Last edited by ibbanez,
  • Like
Reactions: Bama

ibbanez

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
176
Country
United States
@JRoad Sorry for all the questions, but as I'm testing a whole lot, I keep coming into more questions. Usually a game that has been combined, it'll say (1G+1U+xD).. I've come across a few that are listed like (1G 1U) without the + in-between. Does that mean something? Like possibly that they are different ID's or don't go together? or that it was made with an older version? Thanks.
 

gizmomelb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
930
Trophies
0
XP
1,647
Country
Australia
there appears to be an issue with custom XCIs and SX OS 2.9 XCI loading - unknown if this can be worked around by NSC or not, but by the time you read this you're probably already going to know all about it. Cheers and thank you for an awesome utility!
 

JRoad

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
May 18, 2018
Messages
1,005
Trophies
0
XP
1,719
Country
Spain
@JRoad Sorry for all the questions, but as I'm testing a whole lot, I keep coming into more questions. Usually a game that has been combined, it'll say (1G+1U+xD).. I've come across a few that are listed like (1G 1U) without the + in-between. Does that mean something? Like possibly that they are different ID's or don't go together? or that it was made with an older version? Thanks.
It didn't happened to me. Is a bug if it happened.
there appears to be an issue with custom XCIs and SX OS 2.9 XCI loading - unknown if this can be worked around by NSC or not, but by the time you read this you're probably already going to know all about it. Cheers and thank you for an awesome utility!
Was told that the issue was loading them from HDD, not sure.
Well they always need to fix things from the first release. If they don't fix it I'll update and check if the old system works. Old system is the [lc] nsp to install tickets + nca without modification inside. If that work all xci can be converted to that format again.
 

JordenNixNix

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
233
Trophies
0
XP
274
Country
Belgium
I having issues updating my custom .xci file.
Every time it try to update my custom xci with an update and new dlc, I always got an exception while trying to add the new content to the existing custom file.

AK2tfR9.png


"Exception: object of type 'NoneType' has no len()"

The output file is the old custom xci file without the new content. I tried this on NSCB_90b and NSCB_081d, both 64-bit versions. I checked my key file manually and let NSCB verify it and it seems to be fine. I built many other custom xci in the past with this tool but for some reason, it always fails to update this one.
The update and dlc seems to be fine, since they can be installed.

It is pretty frustrating and time consuming to wait and ending up with an exception.
Any advice what could possibly went wrong?


More info, not that I think it matter:
The input file is custom xci (Fe:th + update 1.01 + some dlc like attire etc) patched to work on 6.1.

The files that I like to add:
update 1.0.2 some new dlc. + patch for 6.1.

Somehow while adding the new files, I always ending up with exceptions. The output file seems to be a copy of the input file.
 

JRoad

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
May 18, 2018
Messages
1,005
Trophies
0
XP
1,719
Country
Spain
I having issues updating my custom .xci file.
Every time it try to update my custom xci with an update and new dlc, I always got an exception while trying to add the new content to the existing custom file.

AK2tfR9.png


"Exception: object of type 'NoneType' has no len()"

The output file is the old custom xci file without the new content. I tried this on NSCB_90b and NSCB_081d, both 64-bit versions. I checked my key file manually and let NSCB verify it and it seems to be fine. I built many other custom xci in the past with this tool but for some reason, it always fails to update this one.
The update and dlc seems to be fine, since they can be installed.

It is pretty frustrating and time consuming to wait and ending up with an exception.
Any advice what could possibly went wrong?


More info, not that I think it matter:
The input file is custom xci (Fe:th + update 1.01 + some dlc like attire etc) patched to work on 6.1.

The files that I like to add:
update 1.0.2 some new dlc. + patch for 6.1.

Somehow while adding the new files, I always ending up with exceptions. The output file seems to be a copy of the input file.
You're just missing keys. That's the typical error from when you don't have the masterkey needed to decrypt some game.
In mode 0:: Configuration there's a key checker that will tell you what you miss till masterkey8. The update that will come this weekend will add the masterkey9 hash and check, though that one isn't needed yet.
Sorry didn't realized you said you checked it but the AES error is indicative of a key error.
I also know that some bad FE dlcs where redistributed before because they updated the titlerights but I don't think you would get that error with them.

New thing I realized from your screenshot. It fails when trying to decrypt with masterkeyrev8 which is keygeneration=8 ->master_key_07. So the error is on that masterkey.
 
Last edited by JRoad,

JRoad

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
May 18, 2018
Messages
1,005
Trophies
0
XP
1,719
Country
Spain
Rumor going around that Custom XCI (aka what we are using) are not working on the latest 2.9 / 9.0.0 SX OS!
Yep and converts and a ton of stuff. IMaybe the old ones that used external tickets would work, if needed i can make something to generate [lc].nsp and modify the xcis infile after 0.91 though I expect them fixing it, we all know how the first beta after a FW update has issues.
 

ibbanez

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
176
Country
United States
Yep and converts and a ton of stuff. IMaybe the old ones that used external tickets would work, if needed i can make something to generate [lc].nsp and modify the xcis infile after 0.91 though I expect them fixing it, we all know how the first beta after a FW update has issues.
And thats why Im not updating right now. It works as is, so im good. :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bama

huma_dawii

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
3,844
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Planet Earth
XP
3,752
Country
United States
Yep and converts and a ton of stuff. IMaybe the old ones that used external tickets would work, if needed i can make something to generate [lc].nsp and modify the xcis infile after 0.91 though I expect them fixing it, we all know how the first beta after a FW update has issues.
Yeah lets wait and see if they fix it before jumping on stuff :) thank you,
 

JRoad

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
May 18, 2018
Messages
1,005
Trophies
0
XP
1,719
Country
Spain
@ibbanez I realize i forgot to answer some of your questions.
Workers were only working for renames and the dabase functions. I did something in the renames and messed it up s currently it only works with the database and it works with verification but i have to tweak it before adding it. Is a test and needs some work for a moment in which i have some time for it

About the nutdb zip is just the nutdb database with the configuration change to update on a long time, more or less. The database is autoupdated normally each 24h but you can set up the time in the two files from zconfig that say "NUT_DB". Either way in 0.91 i'll add a force update and i added a check for 404 errors in which if the files can't be retrieved online they don't get overwritten, still i keep adding that zip for people that want it.
 

ibbanez

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
176
Country
United States
Hey guys, for those that patched the linked account requirement out. What is the community consensus, write it directly to the file or to a separate file? And if separate file, where do you place this file on the switch? Thanks.
 
0.91 pics

JRoad

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
May 18, 2018
Messages
1,005
Trophies
0
XP
1,719
Country
Spain
NSC_BUILDER v0.91. Introducing NSCB File_Info:
Tip add keys.txt to ztools before booting the interface.
- Current functions are:
* Game Information. Combines data read from file with eshop data from nutdb
* Description: Description from the eshop (nutdb)
* Image Gallery: Pictures from the eshop (nutdb)
* BaseID File-Tree: Shows the lates version for dlcs and updates associated to the game (nutdb)
* Titles: Advanced Files List from NSCB-new
* NACP Reader from NSCB
* NPDM Reader from NSCB
* CNMT Reader from NSCB
* Verification from NSCB, till Level 2 so it's loaded fast. Use normal NSCB for hashing for now.
See Instructions in github:
https://github.com/julesontheroad/NSC_BUILDER/releases/tag/v0.91
FI1.PNG


FI2.PNG FI3.PNG FI4.PNG FI5.PNG FI6.PNG FI7.PNG FI8.PNG FI9.PNG FI10.PNG FI11.PNG FI12.PNG FI13.PNG FI14.PNG FI15.PNG
 
Last edited by JRoad,

huma_dawii

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
3,844
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Planet Earth
XP
3,752
Country
United States
NSC_BUILDER v0.91. Introducing NSCB File_Info:
Tip add keys.txt to ztools before booting the interface.
- Current functions are:
* Game Information. Combines data read from file with eshop data from nutdb
* Description: Description from the eshop (nutdb)
* Image Gallery: Pictures from the eshop (nutdb)
* BaseID File-Tree: Shows the lates version for dlcs and updates associated to the game (nutdb)
* Titles: Advanced Files List from NSCB-new
* NACP Reader from NSCB
* NPDM Reader from NSCB
* CNMT Reader from NSCB
* Verification from NSCB, till Level 2 so it's loaded fast. Use normal NSCB for hashing for now.
See Instructions in github:
https://github.com/julesontheroad/NSC_BUILDER/releases/tag/v0.91
View attachment 180949

View attachment 180950 View attachment 180951 View attachment 180952 View attachment 180953 View attachment 180954 View attachment 180955 View attachment 180956 View attachment 180957 View attachment 180958 View attachment 180959 View attachment 180960 View attachment 180961 View attachment 180962 View attachment 180963
What is this a GUI?
 

ibbanez

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
176
Country
United States
Thanks for the update. This is cool, as I was constantly using Switch Manager to test if the games were readable after the conversion. This is all the more convenient now. You are doing great things, and I love your software. A+++ from me.
 

18Phoenix

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
827
Trophies
0
XP
1,820
Country
Germany
For file information, xci explorer style basically. It also does verification till level 2, for hashing you still need the bat.
Runs over a chrome\chromium installation or adding chromium portable to ztools\Chromium following the instructions from GitHub.
Awesome, @JRoad , very nice, great job, fantastic look :):bow:
Have fun with going on adding the other menu points :D

I'm a SX OS user and read a lot about HUGE problems with the new 2.9 beta. Good that I didn't update yet.
The new update burns game-card-FW fuses. With that you're not able to use the slot in lower FW.
I also read that a lot have been banned immediately after going online and using the slot.
 
Last edited by 18Phoenix,

18Phoenix

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
827
Trophies
0
XP
1,820
Country
Germany
Whoooow, you added a lot nice stuff in the new GUI.
Are the pictures in the files or out of the net ?
I think there'll come a lot optimizations.

- Could the DOS windows be hidden or minimized somehow ? (start /min ...)
- Drag&drop for single files would be very nice
- System language selection for icon and description would be veeeeeery nice (would be luxury)
- verification text: colours for words like correct (green), modified (orange), corrupt (red)
- A visible scrollbar just to know that there's more text
- Disable the top right menu by clicking somewhere else (not only by clicking the menu button again).
But this menu isn't currently working anyway, right.
 
Last edited by 18Phoenix,

JRoad

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
May 18, 2018
Messages
1,005
Trophies
0
XP
1,719
Country
Spain
Whoooow, you added a lot nice stuff in the new GUI.
Are the pictures in the files or out of the net ?
I think there'll come a lot optimizations.

- Could the DOS windows be hidden or minimized somehow ? (start /min ...)
- Drag&drop for single files would be very nice
- System language selection for icon and description would be veeeeeery nice (would be luxury)
- verification text: colours for words like correct (green), modified (orange), corrupt (red)
- A visible scrollbar just to know that there's more text
- Disable the top right menu by clicking somewhere else (not only by clicking the menu button again).
But this menu isn't currently working anyway, right.
1.- GameIcons are read from the files, with the exception of dlcs that don't have them. For dlcs they are read from Nintendo.com.
For the pictures from the gallery
2.- The problem with drag and drop is that is html, it would give a fake rounte, i'm using tkinter (python gui module) to get the files.
3.- The idea is to add a configuration for languages via a json that would also control the db and fields languages.
4.- I'm kinda deactivating the scrollbast since i thought it was ugly, maybe some css can fix it though. Either way y plan to output the css to a external file for theming.
5.- That's doable with javascript I guess, and yes that menu is a mockup currently.
 
Last edited by JRoad,
  • Like
Reactions: 18Phoenix
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: lol someone's going wild with the +1s +1