1. Kayron_Kareem

    Kayron_Kareem Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know to how to create custom xml., cartdisc.png or screenshot.pngs? I want to add descriptions, screenshots and disc images to my movies that I have on wiiflow using mplayerce but I can't figure out how to do so.
     
  2. waffletower

    waffletower Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Haven't touched my Wii in ages. My Dad has been having trouble with his 300GB Western Digital HDD (Model WDBAAA3200ABK-00) so I bought him a much larger, newer drive because I thought I read that it was compatible. The new one is a 2TB Western Digital My Passport (Model WDBS4B0020BBL-0B). It can't be mounted by MPlayer CE or Configurable USB Loader. I used the same formatting settings despite people saying NTFS wouldn't work because it worked fine with the 300GB drive. I just tried partitioning a FAT32 partition onto the 2TB drive but that one won't mount either.

    tl;dr Anyone have luck using this portable HDD with Wii homebrew? Should I take a crack at ModMii to update my Dad's Wii or is it just an incompatible drive?

    (Also the old drive works fine. My dad either had a bad cable or his Wii ports were too dirty. I've already spent money on this and want to see if I can get it to work. Plus 300GB isn't much storage anymore.)
     
  3. ImMock

    ImMock Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hi! Im new in all of this Homebrew stuff so i followed

    The Beginner's Guide to Wii Homebrewing/Softmodding (Full Tutorial) - Michael MJD

    and everything works perfect but im still having problems with some Wii games, some of my games are currently not working, im trying to open games via USB with USB Loader GX but some games open and then shows the Wii menu and not opening the game. I dont know if my wbs is bad or what, and i dont know what other problem could be.
     
  4. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,294
    Country:
    Cyprus
    Both of you guys, please post syschecks

    If syscheck's look good @ImMock you could have a bad rip or a title that requires special settings. What games specifically are giving you problems?

    @waffletower, try a single fat32 partition. You could also try a Y cable to draw power from 2 USB ports if it appears like maybe the drive isn't getting enough power. Usually the wii can provide enough power, but it's not always the case (usually due to issues with the usb ports themselves). The wiiu on the other hand has very low powered USB ports by default and will almost always require a Y cable (unless it's AC powered)
     
    Last edited by XFlak, Mar 27, 2021
    alexander1970 and jeannotte like this.
  5. waffletower

    waffletower Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    @XFlak After moving the files over to the FAT32 partition and making it the only partition on the drive I still haven't had luck, even with the Y-Cable. I guess I just got bad information about the drive's compatibility. Weird thing is now Configurable USB Loader sees the drive but says something like "partition type 'auto' is invalid."
     
  6. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,294
    Country:
    Cyprus
    Double check that it's MBR and not GPT
     
    alexander1970, ca032769 and jeannotte like this.
  7. ca032769

    ca032769 INFOCOM Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, @XFlak is probably right. Your new drive probably needs to be converted from GPT to MBR before you can use it properly.

    You can use the free version of EaseUS Partition Master to convert it seeing it is only 2TB. Load your drive in EaseUS Partition Master and see if it says GPT or MBR. If it is MBR you'll need to have a backup of the the drive contents elsewhere because it will be erased.

    Link: http://www.easeus.com/partition-manager/epm-free.html

    After changing it over to MBR you'll need to format the drive as FAT32 with 32k clusters. You should also set the drive as ACTIVE and PRIMARY (some say this is not needed, but it doesn't hurt anything) and then make sure there is no other unallocated partitions, if there are merge them all into the main partition so that there is only the one when you're done. This includes anything unallocated that has an ASTRIX.

    There are other tools to format the drive and pictures to show you what some of this GPT/MBR and unallocated stuff looks like if you click the last link in my signature and go down to the bottom of that post.
     
    alexander1970, jeannotte and XFlak like this.
  8. waffletower

    waffletower Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I decided to try my own HDD first since I rarely use it but when trying to convert to MBR Easeus just says the operation "failed to complete" and now the entire drive is Unallocated and can't even be formatted.
     
  9. ca032769

    ca032769 INFOCOM Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Country:
    United States
    What maker and size drive is it?

    Even though it is showing as unallocated is it showing as MBR now? If so the next step is to format it to FAT32 with 32k clusters.

    If that is not working and it is a Western Digital HDD go through my last signature link, find the download and use the WD Quick Drive Format software to convert the drive.
     
    Last edited by ca032769, Mar 30, 2021
  10. waffletower

    waffletower Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I'm going to start by saying this worked and thanks for helping me finally get this fixed. I can't guarantee the rest of this isn't going to be pointless.

    Sorry for the delayed response. The drive is a 1TB WD Passport 25E1. A lot happened since posting and I just gave up for a few days. EaseUS Partition Master somehow murdered my drive when I tried the GPT to MBR conversion. Couldn't see it in Windows or diskpart, Easeus could hardly touch it, MiniDisk saw only "Bad Disk," testdisk saw countless bad blocks and Disk Management only produced "cyclic redundancy" errors. EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard found 500GB worth of files which is more than I started with but whatever. My only options were "Surface Test" and "Wipe Data." Surface Test showed 440 bad sectors out of 1953458176. After using Wipe Data, EaseUS was able to get 95% through formatting the drive before failing (instead of failing instantly).

    Then I gave up. Then I got a sinus infection.
    Then I read your post and the drive "works" again. No errors. No "Bad Disk." No files but I'll live.

    tl;dr Thank you, @ca032769 :)
     
  11. ca032769

    ca032769 INFOCOM Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry to hear it was a hassle, but happy that it has all worked out. Enjoy your gaming...
     
  12. waffletower

    waffletower Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Final update, my drive is dead.
    I transferred all of my dad's files over to my 1TB drive so I could format his and couldn't get them back. Luckily I remembered a couple hours later most of his files were still on his old 300GB drive. As soon as I ejected my 1TB drive and plugged it back in the drive just shows as full and inaccessible but luckily after converting my dad's 2TB drive to MBR and setting it to Active and Primary his Wii can play his videos again, which was the entire reason I was doing this.

    Thanks for the support, folks.
     
    SaulFabre and ca032769 like this.
  13. flipped

    flipped Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, gbatemp.

    If anyone could provide any guidance I would appreciate it. I am having some trouble getting the .nkit conversion program to do much of anything for me. The program runs into an error as soon as I hit "process." Here's the first screen:

    [​IMG]

    Looks good, right? Got the file I want to convert and am using the "Fully Loaded" Nkit setup with all dat and supporting files in place. Then this happens:

    [​IMG]

    It's tricky to understand what I need to correct when all it says is "Error" and nothing else. No information in log or anywhere else in the program to tell me what is the problem. So then I took the same .nkit.gcz file (no game I attempted worked and the shown title is simply being used as an example since it's common) and dragged it on to the "RecoverToISO.exe" file. I got the same results, but at least with slightly more explanation:

    [​IMG]

    "Method not found" and the "System.Array.Empty" info don't really point me in a direction for what I need to address, at least with the knowledge I have. My .net framework should be good enough since I don't get a warning about that when I start the GUI or use anything else. Any thoughts on what I should do to be able to correct the error and convert .nkit.gcz files? Any substantive help would be appreciated and I will offer a token of gratitude to anyone that can help solve the issue.

    *Edit: I am running this on 64-bit Windows 7. Does not work even if tried on different computers.
     
    Last edited by flipped, Apr 23, 2021
  14. ca032769

    ca032769 INFOCOM Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Country:
    United States
    I really have no idea, but have to also tried to drag and drop it on the CONVERTTOISO? That's the only one I ever use and have never had a problem.
     
    alexander1970 and jeannotte like this.
  15. call_me_ian

    call_me_ian Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hello, i am having problems with USBloader gx, the game (the game in question being very light, not even having 1gb) wont load and when i try to load him, the screen turns black and the only way to leave that screen is to pull off the power chord. I too followed Michael MJD's tutorial, did everything step by step, but i got stuck here.
    Now, i know there's loads of threads about this same exact issue, but i couldnt really find the proper fix for my problem.
    I'm using a usb stick that reads sd/micro sd cards, and im using it along with a 4gb SD card. I dont own and will not own an external HDD, they're expensive as hell. If that's the root of the problem(to which i dont think it is), please tell me what can i do in this case, thank you.
    Here's my sys-check;
    SysCheck HDE v2.4.0 HacksDen Edition by JoostinOnline, Double_A, [email protected]@1999, and Nano
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).

    REGION: NTSC-U
    System menu 4.3U (v513)

    Drive date: 02.13.2007
    Homebrew Channel 1.1.0 running on IOS58

    Hollywood v0x21
    Console ID: 134644426
    Console Type: Wii
    Shop channel country: Brazil (16)
    Boot2 v4
    found 105 titles.
    found 48 IOS on this console. 15 of them are stubs.

    IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS4 (rev 65280):Stub
    IOS9 (rev 1034): No patches
    IOS10 (rev 768):Stub
    IOS11 (rev 256): stub
    IOS12 (rev 526): No patches
    IOS13 (rev 1032): No patches
    IOS14 (rev 1032): No patches
    IOS15 (rev 1032): No patches
    IOS16 (rev 512):Stub
    IOS17 (rev 1032): No patches
    IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS21 (rev 1039): No patches
    IOS22 (rev 1294): No patches
    IOS28 (rev 1807): No patches
    IOS30 (rev 2816):Stub
    IOS31 (rev 3608): No patches
    IOS33 (rev 3608): No patches
    IOS34 (rev 3608): No patches
    IOS35 (rev 3608): No patches
    IOS36 (rev 3608): No patches
    IOS37 (rev 3608): No patches
    IOS38 (rev 4124): No patches
    IOS40 (rev 3072): Stub
    IOS43 (rev 3607): No patches
    IOS45 (rev 3607): No patches
    IOS46(rev 3607): No patches
    IOS48 (rev 4124): No patches
    IOS50 (rev 5120): Stub
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 5888): Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5663): No patches
    IOS55 (rev 5663): No patches
    IOS56 (rev 5662): No patches
    IOS57 (rev 5919): No patches
    IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
    IOS60 (rev 6400): Stub
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No patches
    IOS62 (rev 6430): No patches
    IOS70 (rev 6912): Stub
    IOS80 (rev 6944): No patches
    IOS222 (rev 65280): stub
    IOS223 (rev 65280): stub
    IOS249[56] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, NAND access, USB 2.0
    IOS250[57] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, NAND access, USB 2.0
    IOS251[58] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, NAND access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281):Bootmii
    BC V6
    MIOS V10
     
  16. ca032769

    ca032769 INFOCOM Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Country:
    United States
    Lots of games are very small assuming you converted the .ISO to .WBFS format.

    Do other games work? Or is it just that game not working?
     
    jeannotte and alexander1970 like this.
  17. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,294
    Country:
    Cyprus
    In your first screen, change "recover to iso" to "convert to iso" and try again
     
    jeannotte, alexander1970 and ca032769 like this.
  18. call_me_ian

    call_me_ian Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Brazil
    hmmm, dunno, as i only have the .wbfs of the faulty game for now. i will comeback once ive tested another one
     
  19. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,294
    Country:
    Cyprus
    2 improvements can be made to your syscheck, first you should install priiloader, secondly your hbc is slightly outdated. Neither of these would be the cause of your issue though
     
    jeannotte, alexander1970 and ca032769 like this.
  20. ca032769

    ca032769 INFOCOM Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, try it with a few games first to see if your first game was corrupted or if there is a larger problem. You can also just try the larger .ISO file without converting it to see if that works.

    If you must stay with a flash drive, try a different or several different flash drives. SanDisk and PNY have always worked great for me.

    Most here will recommend that the flash drive is your actual problem and that an HDD is needed. I suggest Western Digital Passports and you can get a 1TB pretty cheap, at least here in the states.

    EDIT: Also, if it is in .nkit format it will not work, the games need to be in .ISO or .WBFS format to work.

    You'll have to convert the .nkit to .iso and then convert the .iso to .wbfs if this is the case. But you could stop and use the .iso, but they do take up alot more space then .wbfs and on a flash drive you'll want the .wbfs format to have as many games as possible fit.
     
    Last edited by ca032769, Apr 23, 2021
    jeannotte and alexander1970 like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - PARADISE,