1. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,666
    Country:
    United States
    You can make your own codes. You just have to have a bit of byte-writing knowledge and Gecko dNet. I can't remember whether or not you need a USBGecko Cable. You can find a download here.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    There are some tutorials out there.
     
  2. IAmCaptPlanet

    IAmCaptPlanet Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    can i run Fatal Frame 4 English patched .wbfs off a flash drive with USB Loader GX?

    if so, HOW?
     
  3. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,666
    Country:
    United States
    I don't do much with USB Loader GX, but I would think you would simply have to put the game somewhere on the drive. Find an official post for the correct filestructure. It's likely you'll need it formatted to FAT16 or FAT32.
     
  4. Korados

    Korados GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    Germany
    This doesn't help me. I have no idea about coding for the Wii. I don't own a Wii anymore, I'm playing on Dolphin. But Dolphin's debugger is extremely limited.
    I also don't have a USBGecko. Is there really nobody who makes codes anymore?
     
  5. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,666
    Country:
    United States
    I'd say yeah. Not really anybody making codes anymore. Even though Wii has a HUGE homebrew database, it's just so old, people are interested in 3DS and Wii U. And, making a Gecko Code is not actually that hard. Once you understand how to place the numbers, it gets really easy. It's not like coding or anything, it's like a Game Genie-one part specifies a byte range and another specifies how to write to it. Also, being a Physical Wii owner, I am also disappointed in the lack of Gecko Codes being made now. But, I'd say making them would be quite a lot of fun. And Gecko dNet DOES work on Dolphin.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I wish I could make codes, I would definitely help you out, but I own a Mac, and Gecko dNet is an EXE.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2017
  6. Korados

    Korados GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    Germany
    Sorry, but it's like you're talking Chinese to me. I don't know what that means. I created a thread now, maybe there's someone who replies.
     
  7. banjo2

    banjo2 little man
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    915
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe one of the other reasons people don't make more codes is the fact that there's not much more to make.
     
  8. DaFees

    DaFees GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    I have Dios Mios installed (on my 1st gen Wii since before Nintendon't became what it is today) and having just checked yesterday my Gamecube games seem to run as intended still. So with that in mind is there any reason I should switch over to Nintendon't? From a competitive standpoint (as in accuracy matters) how does Melee, specifically, run on Dios Mios versus Nintendon't? I tried Melee and the 20XXTE mod yesterday and the game seems to run fine but I can't be sure if because I'm using Dios Mios if the inputs aren't being received properly. I ask these things because as I went to try the 20XXTE mod yesterday their FAQ says I should enable Native Control (with Nintendon't) but I don't have that option with Dios Mios so I was curious if Nintendon't does something better that Dios Mios does not?
     
  9. MrFrogMKWII

    MrFrogMKWII Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey people. I want to play project M on my PAL wii. As I dont want to download any ntsc iso from the web, I want to buy an ntsc Smash bros brawl. Can I rip the ntsc disc on my pal wii with usb loader GX and then use brawbuilder to play it? Or can I play project M from the launcher with the ntsc disc and the mod files on sd?
     
  10. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,666
    Country:
    United States
    Well, USB Loader GX is not the program to rip games with. It's called CleanRip. You might also be able use a region changer on your Wii, but this is not recommended, as it can brick your Wii.
     
  11. MrFrogMKWII

    MrFrogMKWII Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Germany
    mhm but i backuped everything with usb loader gx. Is CleanRip integrated. I just want to know if I can rip the ntsc wbfs on an Pal wii. Region changer in Usb loader gx is safe
     
  12. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,666
    Country:
    United States
    I do not know. I disprove of piracy and don't use USB Loaders.
     
  13. MrFrogMKWII

    MrFrogMKWII Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Germany
    Wait I said I want to buy the original because I dont want to piracy download the ntsc. Lol. I just want to know If i can back it up, because when I go on v0acation / to friends I dont have to bring all the disc
     
  14. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,666
    Country:
    United States
    I meant that I don't use USB Loaders because I disprove of piracy and thus know almost nothing about them.
     
  15. RunkMunk

    RunkMunk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Hey! I am going to soft mod a Wii 4.3E again using SmashStack EUR/KOR version but I cannot find a version where you have the "private" folder complete and all that. I already have HackerMii Installer in place in SD root (boot.elf; 2103 KB).

    For example, http://wiibrew.org/w/images/f/f4/SmashStackEURKOR.zip from http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Smash_Stack#Unofficial_PAL.2FKOR_Version forces me to compile it which I don't know how to.

    But it also has files st_smashStackPK.bin and st_smashStackPK_noSave.bin (11 KB each). Are these the complete files? (one is with saves and one with no save) If so, how should their directories look like inside the SD root?

    The US SmashStack version has the following directory: SD\private\wii\app\rsbe\st\st_080805_0933.bin (64 KB) so it is bigger file? Or can I just replace this file with the two smaller ones (11 KB each)?

    The link giantpune.zzl.org/smashStackPK.html doesn't work anymore. Can anyone upload their complete private directory with correct folders and .bin file for SmashStack with and without save files? Thx!
     
  16. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,666
    Country:
    United States
    Why the hell would you want to use Smash Stack instead of Letterbomb?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Letterbomb is THE EASIEST way to softmod a Wii. Just go to your system settings, then to internet settings. Take note of your MAC Address, then go here, enter that address, select 4.3E at the top, uncheck "Bundle the Hackmii Installer for me," then complete the CAPTCHA and cut the red wire. On your sd card, rename your private folder to "private_old", then place the private folder on the root. You already have the hackmii installer elf, so then put the sd card into the Wii, go to the Wii Message Board, and slowly scroll back a few days. You should see a letter with a bomb in it. Click on it. HackMii installer is now booted.
     
    Ricken likes this.
  17. Ricken

    Ricken She Should've;
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2,417
    Country:
    United States
    Drag and drop that you could take to a friend's house easily
     
    banjo2 likes this.
  18. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,666
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, that makes sence. Yeah, I don't know how to help, I don't have devkitpro

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Actually, after some digging, it's super easy! Rename your private folder to private_old , then on your SD card, create this path: "SD:/private/wii/app/RSBP/st" then place the one of the two bins in. If you already have a Smash save on your Wii, place "st_smashStackPK.bin" in there. If you don't have a smash save in there, then place "st_smashStackPK_noSave.bin" in there. Make sure the card is formatted to FAT16 or FAT32.
     
  19. fatsquirrel

    fatsquirrel GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,564
    Country:
    I just did a stupid stupid mistake.

    In adrenaline rush from finding a wad of defend your castle, I installed the wad on vwii and a 3 others of the same type.
    As far as I remember, installing wads not made for vwii will brick the vwii. So...does this mean Im bricked now? (It should brick instantly when installing right?)
    I already tried running those channels and they just give me an error that (if i recall correctly) the game cannot be started.
    Should I now delete those channels or just let it be and pray it never randomly bricks?

    I installed using YAWMM
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2017
  20. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,401
    Country:
    United States
    Channel bricks are generally caused by bad channel icons (the small "TV" view in the grid.) If you can still boot to the system menu then you're fine. Just uninstall the WADs that don't work.
     
    fatsquirrel likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - PARADISE,