Hacking NOOB needs help?

jdogg

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Messages
14
Trophies
0
XP
38
Country
United States
can anybody help a poor noob put gamecube and wii games on his wii. I already have homebrew installed, but I'm lost from there, I hear stuff about IOS and wads and stubs but I don't understand it, and to make matters worse, my wii is 4.3. any help will be appreciated.
 

ddetkowski

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
1,145
Trophies
0
Location
United States
XP
283
Country
United States
1st, you need to hack it, use modmii from my sig. very simple, and you'll need to rent SSBB or one of the other games required to do the hack.
2nd, you'll not be playing games off disc, only USB, I assuming you have a newer wii, they do not play backup discs, Wii or Gamecube.
So far, you cant play Gamecube games from usb, look into DIOS-Mios for info on that.
You'll get everything you need to know using Modmi.....
 

jdogg

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Messages
14
Trophies
0
XP
38
Country
United States
I already have my wii hacked, its just I don't know where to go after that. I've tried making a NAND backup but something came up about a ECC failure. And then I read something about a trucha bug?

Posts merged

I already have my wii hacked, its just I don't know where to go after that. I've tried making a NAND backup but something came up about a ECC failure. And then I read something about a trucha bug?
 

Krestent

What to post?
Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
3,953
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
340
Country
United States
You could get Wiiware games. You need to find wads of them and install them with Wad Manager.
You could also get a USB hard drive and load games from there.
 

jdogg

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Messages
14
Trophies
0
XP
38
Country
United States
I have a wad manager, but it asks me what IOS to use, whats that?


Also when you say Usb drive, are you saying wiiware or disc games
 

OriginalHamster

UStealthy
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
3,380
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,326
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
From WiiPower's Neogama thread

-A Wii with a backup compatible drive(black Wiis are generally not backup compatible, backup resistant Wiis were sold since christmas '09, no backup disc compatible Wiis in the shelves anymore 1-2 months later). Easy test: In the latest NeoGamma, remove disc from the drive and select launch game from disc. You will get a read error. If it doesn't say anything about your drive, then it should be old enough.

http://gbatemp.net/t219243-neogamma-r9-beta-test
 

Krestent

What to post?
Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
3,953
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
340
Country
United States
jdogg said:
I have a wad manager, but it asks me what IOS to use, whats that?


Also when you say Usb drive, are you saying wiiware or disc games
Select IOS249.
When I say USB drive, I mean for disc games. They can be loaded off a USB drive.
 

OriginalHamster

UStealthy
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
3,380
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,326
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
jdogg said:
I have a wad manager, but it asks me what IOS to use, whats that?
IOS is like a mini Operative System required by Wii to make certain task, every IOS make specific task.
You need have IOS249 installed in your system in order to do wadmanager useful, if you can't install IOS249 (for some reason), you need install IOS236, it will help you to install IOS249 properly.
 

jdogg

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Messages
14
Trophies
0
XP
38
Country
United States
I installed IOS 249 using DOP-MII, but when I try go to my wad manager, it asks me which IOS to use, and when I press 249, nothing happens.
 

Krestent

What to post?
Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
3,953
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
340
Country
United States
jdogg said:
I installed IOS 249 using DOP-MII, but when I try go to my wad manager, it asks me which IOS to use, and when I press 249, nothing happens.
You have to install IOS249 via the cIOS installer. Because it was mainly used for piracy, Nintendo put a dummy version on their server. That server is where Dop-Mii downloads stuff from. therefore you just installed a dummy IOS that does nothing. You really seem confused, so I'd just go and follow a ModMii guide to mod your Wii.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Wow spelled upside down is Mom