Noob, need help working R4 revolution for DS please!

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by movieguy12, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. movieguy12
    OP

    Newcomer movieguy12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    indiana
    Country:
    United States
    hello im 100% new to hacking game systems. ive never used a rom or a flashcart. this is my first time please be patient and understanding.

    i just got my r4 revolution ds flashcart. i also have a 4gig micro memory card. now im trying to play the pokemon white delux game on my ds. but idk how...

    i downloaded the patch for the pokemon white game.
    i downloaded the rom for pokemon white (eu version, i think i got the correct one)
    i patched the pokemon white delux patch correctly i think onto the rom.

    i loaded the card into the cart and then into my ds and the screen just says loading thats all....

    what did i do wrong?
    what all needs to be on the memory card?
    any other things i should have done??

    please help [​IMG]...
     


  2. magicksun

    Member magicksun GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Argentina
    Country:
    Argentina
    u have to enter to ttds forum in retro game fan and download the latest ysmenu and se what is ur flashcard and that will work =)
    if u power on the ds and stay in loading that means then u have other filmware u have to enter into the http of ur flashcard (in the the box) and then download the real filmware an when work u put the ysmenu =)
     
  3. movieguy12
    OP

    Newcomer movieguy12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    indiana
    Country:
    United States
    that sounded completely foreign to me :/....im sorry lol but im not very savvy at this can you explain better please sorry...i appreciate the help but more descriptive would be great please.
     
  4. movieguy12
    OP

    Newcomer movieguy12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    indiana
    Country:
    United States
    i dont understand the woodr4 or the ttds or the ysmenu or how to use them.

    i tried downloading or clicking the link for the ysmenu but it just keeps going back to the same page -.-

    i for sure do not know how to get into the http of my flashcard....

    ugh im getting a headace lol....please help with detailed answers please please!!! [​IMG]
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Which flash cart did you get?

    What's the URL on it?
     
  6. insidexdeath

    Member insidexdeath .

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,045
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The original R4 doesn't have the website on the cart itself.
     
  7. movieguy12
    OP

    Newcomer movieguy12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Well 1.it turns out I bought a microsd hc didn't know that was wrong.
    2. This is the flash cart i got http://www.realhotstuff.com/r4ds-p-338.html

    I'm trying to get a ride (I literally just put my truck into the shop today) to a store to buy the correct memory card.
     
  8. movieguy12
    OP

    Newcomer movieguy12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    indiana
    Country:
    United States
    ok new error "couldnt find_ds_men u.dat

    so what now??>

    i got the correct memory card
     
  9. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    First off, original R4s like yours can only take Micro SD cards that are non-SDHC. Usually, cards over 2gb are SDHC except for a few rare 4gb Micro SD cards.

    You have to put firmware onto the card as well. It's like the operating system of a computer. Because you have an original R4, you can use a firmware called Wood R4. Download it from here. You will need winrar to open the file that is downloaded from there, and you can download it from here.

    When you extract the .rar file, you will get a folder called "Wood_R4_v*VERSION NUMBER*". Open this and you will find a folder called "_rpg", a file called "_DS_MENU.DAT", and two text files called "changelog.txt" and "readme.txt". You do not need changelog.txt or readme.txt.

    Now open up your Micro SD in your computer. Do not go into any folders once you have opened the Micro SD in the computer. You are where you need to be.

    Drag and drop _rpg and _DS_MENU.DAT into the Micro SD window. After that, safely remove your Micro SD from the computer and put it into your R4. It should work now.

    If not, please come back and specify the exact problems you may be having. I hope this helped!

    By the way, a flash cart doesn't hack a system. It only bypasses any protection that usually prevents you from playing pirated games.
     
  10. movieguy12
    OP

    Newcomer movieguy12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Ok thank you for being specific! I'll try soon I have to install security cameras at my mothers shop. I'll let you know!!! [​IMG] thanks
     
  11. movieguy12
    OP

    Newcomer movieguy12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    indiana
    Country:
    United States
    ok got the menu on the ds now... but theres no game...




    I GOT IT WORKING!!!! THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO HELPED ME!!!!
     
  12. Kodesmack

    Newcomer Kodesmack Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Is there anything that you did to get it to work that hasnt been said yet?
    I have the same flashcart but when i install wood I get white screens on all games, not just pokemon.
    Anyone know whats wrong?
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You SURE it's the same cart, and not one of the possibly hundreds of R4-named clones?
     
  14. Kodesmack

    Newcomer Kodesmack Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Snap, I was wrong. This is my flashcart [​IMG]

    Which r4 is this? I've tried a lot of different firmwares for it but the only one that will load games without white screens is the R4 Kernel v1.18.
     
  15. liewhl

    Newcomer liewhl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    fyi, R4sdhc is a DSTT clone it is a fake r4. you need a DSTT kernal. YSMENU and retroman kernal in the DSTT page work too
     
  16. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    Let me clarify this.

    The firmware you want is RetroGameFan's YSMenu. Not regular YSMenu, as the regular version hasn't been updated for two years.
     
  17. Kodesmack

    Newcomer Kodesmack Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    When I try DSTT it cant find the _ds_menu.dat
    Lemme try Retrogamefans and see what happens
     
  18. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    That's because even though it's a DSTT clone, it was built based on R4's firmware as well, meaning it requires _DS_MENU.DAT. If you have to choose which flash card you're using, pick R4.
     
  19. Kodesmack

    Newcomer Kodesmack Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I followed all the instructions in the Retrogamefan .rar. Im getting black screens on startup. Did I get the wrong file?
     
  20. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure which one you used. I think this is the one you're supposed to be using: R4SDHC v1.34 - www.r4sdhc.com -> Just copy files (Use R4SDHC folder)

    It's auto-boot, so remove any components of the old firmware and put everything in R4SDHC folder into your micro SD card.
     

Share This Page