Hacking No way to convert a Gateway save to a .CIA save?

TehDave

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
141
Country
United States
I've been having issues with MH3U where trying to join a friend's room or using Hunter Search causes the game to Black screen of death. I figured it might be an issue caused by playing the game through the Gateway cart, so I decided to try and just install the game to the system to rule the cartridge out. I installed it fine, but there's a big problem though, I can't find any way to transfer or convert my original Gateway save into something that's usable with the cia version of the game, after nearly spending the whole day searching.

Is there just no way? Am I SoL and forced to restart? I'm 220 hours in and well into G Rank, restarting simply isn't an option now.
 

serenade.63

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
419
Trophies
0
XP
369
Country
United States
It sounds like you're using a .3DS file instead of a .3DZ. Only .3DZ and .CIA are capable of going online, I'm fairly positive if you just convert your rom to a .3DZ the save will still work and you don't have to worry about converting to .CIA.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

justln

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
718
Trophies
0
XP
604
Country
It sounds like you're using a .3DS file instead of a .3DZ. Only .3DZ and .CIA are capable of going online, I'm fairly positive if you just convert your rom to a .3DZ the save will still work and you don't have to worry about converting to .CIA.

Monster Hunter 3U has no online by itself, OP is trying to connect via local play.

Did you trim your 3U ROM?
 

TehDave

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
141
Country
United States
Nope, it's an untouched dump of a legit cart. Only thing I've done is rename the file so it's not just AMHE.3DZ in my rom list.

If I didn't have problems connecting locally I wouldn't have gone through with installing to the system, but I play it often enough so it would be convenient to have it always available anyways. I just can't use my old save with the thing unless I am missing something.
 

TehDave

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
141
Country
United States
ohhhhh, I also read about a way to inject a save into a .cia on maxconsole. I dont know, google it.
Got a link to where you read it? I'm pretty sure it's a post I read already as I've pretty much exhausted all available threads/posts trying to find a solution though.
 

justln

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
718
Trophies
0
XP
604
Country
Have you tried downloading a ROM from the internet then using your cartridge header on it? Just throwing that out.
 

TehDave

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
141
Country
United States
the issue is getting the save over to the installed verison of the game, savedatafiler can't read the save from the Gateway, and savedatafiler can't run in Classic mode so I can't pull it off the retail cart either.
 

serenade.63

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
419
Trophies
0
XP
369
Country
United States
Got a link to where you read it? I'm pretty sure it's a post I read already as I've pretty much exhausted all available threads/posts trying to find a solution though.

There is a conversion tool to convert a rom from card 1 to card 2 (I'm not going to post a link) there is also a tool that will allow you to take the save from the gateway card (the card 1 save) and inject that into the card2 rom. From here use savedatafiler to rip the save from the card2 rom and then again to inject it into the .cia.

Difference between card 1 and card 2 (as far as i understand) is that for card2 the save is stored in the rom itself and not the gateway card, which is what will allow savedatafiler to see these saves.
 

VerseHell

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2014
Messages
3,073
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
1,637
Country
France
There is a conversion tool to convert a rom from card 1 to card 2 (I'm not going to post a link) there is also a tool that will allow you to take the save from the gateway card (the card 1 save) and inject that into the card2 rom. From here use savedatafiler to rip the save from the card2 rom and then again to inject it into the .cia.

It doesn't work, already tried, the save become corrupted.
For the op, you can install the cfw on another sd card then use SaveDataFiler on the retail cartdrige.
 

chrisluna413

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
402
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
East Brunswick, New Jersey
XP
428
Country
United States
It sounds like you're using a .3DS file instead of a .3DZ. Only .3DZ and .CIA are capable of going online, I'm fairly positive if you just convert your rom to a .3DZ the save will still work and you don't have to worry about converting to .CIA.

What's the point of using .3DS instead of .3DZ?
 

Zidapi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2002
Messages
3,112
Trophies
3
Age
41
Website
Visit site
XP
2,671
Country
the issue is getting the save over to the installed verison of the game, savedatafiler can't read the save from the Gateway, and savedatafiler can't run in Classic mode so I can't pull it off the retail cart either.
Have you tried Nintendo's Save Data Transfer Tool? It's a gimped version of SaveDataFiler used to perform a one way transfer from a cartridge to an eShop version of a game.

I don't see why it wouldn't work, you simply load up the .3ds version via the multiROM menu, then run the transfer tool.

The other option which has been confirmed to work is to a save transfer from the .3ds to the Wii U game, then from the Wii U to your installed .cia version.
 

Elusivo

Shinobu Molester
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2013
Messages
486
Trophies
0
XP
701
Country
Portugal
The other option which has been confirmed to work is to a save transfer from the .3ds to the Wii U game

On current gateway version this cannot be done with a .sav save and mhu3 card1 rom, it only works on a card2 rom, and I dun think there's a way to convert the card1 save to a card2 save yet right?
 

Zidapi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2002
Messages
3,112
Trophies
3
Age
41
Website
Visit site
XP
2,671
Country
On current gateway version this cannot be done with a .sav save and mhu3 card1 rom, it only works on a card2 rom, and I dun think there's a way to convert the card1 save to a card2 save yet right?
Ah, okay. I thought I'd read that it would work. But after a quick search all I found was your post in a previous thread about transferring from Wii U to a converted card2 ROM.
 

TehDave

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
141
Country
United States
Have you tried Nintendo's Save Data Transfer Tool? It's a gimped version of SaveDataFiler used to perform a one way transfer from a cartridge to an eShop version of a game.

I don't see why it wouldn't work, you simply load up the .3ds version via the multiROM menu, then run the transfer tool.

The other option which has been confirmed to work is to a save transfer from the .3ds to the Wii U game, then from the Wii U to your installed .cia version.

This is the first thing I tried, it doesn't work though because the transfer tool doesn't work apparently with the cia version of the game, the tool won't see the installed game, because it probably checks the license file and sees that MH3U isn't in there, so it doesn't exist despite being installed on the system. I doubt it would work anyways even if it could see it, because using gateway mode, the save data transfer app wouldn't be able to see the save on the gateway cart since it's not loaded until runtime, and if I tried in classic mode with my original cart, it would see the cart obviously but wouldn't be able to see the installed version because cia's don't work in classic mode.

It seems I've just hit a complete brick wall. It seems everything I've tried ends with being cockblocked by Gateway's crap save method.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,139
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
13,605
Country
Norway
There is a way with mt card, so if you can find someone that has one you could send your rom (or header) and save file to them and they could convert it for you.
 

_eyCaRambA_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
525
Trophies
1
Location
Right around the corner™
XP
399
Country
United States
This is the first thing I tried, it doesn't work though because the transfer tool doesn't work apparently with the cia version of the game, the tool won't see the installed game, because it probably checks the license file and sees that MH3U isn't in there, so it doesn't exist despite being installed on the system. I doubt it would work anyways even if it could see it, because using gateway mode, the save data transfer app wouldn't be able to see the save on the gateway cart since it's not loaded until runtime, and if I tried in classic mode with my original cart, it would see the cart obviously but wouldn't be able to see the installed version because cia's don't work in classic mode.

It seems I've just hit a complete brick wall. It seems everything I've tried ends with being cockblocked by Gateway's crap save method.

You could try to remove the cia you have now and get a "legit" cia built directly from the CDN. (You'll be able to find one on a certain site with ISO in its name, recently posted there)

I have successfully transfered a save from my retail MH3U cartridge to the CDN cia in classic mode (you can run them in classic mode too btw). Unfortunately this doesn't work with saves using the newer encryption yet due to Gateways shitty workaround (can't even play on my legit MH4G cart in classic mode since it wants to format the card because of the new save crypto), hope the 9.x update for GW will fix this...

As for 3DS/3DZ->cia, no idea. Probably just MT card right now.
 

TehDave

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
141
Country
United States
Yeah, what I tried to do was copy the save file from my ROM back onto the cart, then load the cart in classic mode, it could see the cart no problem, and the save loads up fine on it, but it can't see the installed game so it can't convert.

Do you happen to know which thread I might find said CIA in? I originally downloaded the CIA from a thread there but I'm not sure if it's a 'legit' CDN-like one.

Also how would I go about getting someone with an MT card to take my save/header and then send me back an unencrypted save? How would I then get said save file into the game, overwriting the save I already put on there?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Hoor?