NMM, Memory Card on Slot A, DIOS MIOS

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by flouri, Sep 18, 2012.

Sep 18, 2012
  1. flouri
    OP

    Newcomer flouri Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    So after a long long time I found out DIOS MIOS came out, and I nearly shit my pants :P

    I am on the latest release of cfg loader (v70r48), I installed DM 2.2 latest from their site, I have a compatible HDD on FAT32 which I've been using for Wii for years, my games are on /games/gameid etc., and I always have a disc in my Wii.

    1. For some weird reason, the gc games only seem to boot from the HDD when my old memory card is inserted in slot A. (btw, it only has 8 blocks) Is this normal???

    2. When I run Luigi's Mansion, with NMM DISABLED (becaus I want to continue a save of mine I have in my memory card), it doesn't recognize the save file that is on the memory card (confirmed by looking at the memory manager of Wii that the save is indeed in there). I am afraid to create a new one atm, fearing it might erase the old one.

    3. When I run Paper Mario for example (or any other game) with NMM ENABLED, it says there is not enough memory on my memory card to save. I can start the game and play, but when I reach the first save point, again it informs me that there is not enough memory so I cant make a save, it prompts me if I want to go to memory manager, if I go it hangs. if I don't, I can't save.

    Remember, I am unable to boot GC games without a memory card inserted!

    With all this, I have to say.. WTF

    Does anyone have a clue what may be going wrong, and how I can fix it? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. flouri
    OP

    Newcomer flouri Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Is this a really noob question? I am surprised nobody has answered yet :P
     
  3. osm70

    Member osm70 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    731
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    This never happened to me so IDK whats wrong..
    I dont use NMM, and memory card works fine.
     
  4. flouri
    OP

    Newcomer flouri Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    The memory card is probably working fine as well, its that I cant get NMM to work...or I don't know how?
     
  5. osm70

    Member osm70 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    731
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Really thats strange.
     
  6. flouri
    OP

    Newcomer flouri Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    So, for NMM to work, the game has to be booted with all memory cards absent? Or can I remove the memory card mid game and it could work?

    I always have my memory card plugged in on the Wii, so everything I have installed was with memory on..I'll try reinstalling DIOS MIOS without a memory card and see what happens...

    Somehow I am glad that this is an uncommon problem becaus my thread was not in vein, but because it is uncommon it will be hard to find a solution :P
     
  7. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,439
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    if DIOS MIOS detect a memory card inserted, it disables NMM on boot, even if it was enabled in the loader's settings.
    You can't "go back to NMM" by simply removing the card after the launch.
     
  8. flouri
    OP

    Newcomer flouri Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, thats good to know. The weird thing remains that

    1. Luigi's Mansion doesn't detect the save on the memory card. Does it matter if what I have on my HDD is NTSC and what the save was made in was my PAL game?

    2. GC games don't seem to boot with DIOSMIOS while no memory card is on the Wii
     
  9. osm70

    Member osm70 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    731
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    1. Yes it matters, so get PAL copy.
    2. Thats weird.
     
  10. flouri
    OP

    Newcomer flouri Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so I guess that clears up the Luigi's Mansion savegame problem.

    On the other thing, I have a sneaking suspicion that if I install DIOSMIOS again without a memory card on, it will work fine..

    Thanks for the help guys, will post any news to contribute to the knowledge :P
     
  11. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,439
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    memory cards share the same format for PAL and NTSC games.
    Only Japanese games require a Memory Card formated in Shift-Jis and are not compatible with PAL/NTSC games.

    1.
    Some games don't work with NMM and require a real memory card.
    Luigi's Mansion NTSC U doesn't work with NMM. but PAL version does.
    Check this compatibility list: http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/DIOS_MIOS_Compatibility_List#L
    Or this official one : http://crediar.no-ip.com/gc/

    But I suppose you are using your real Memory card for Luigi's Mansion.

    Save games have the GameID in them, so if you started it and saved using the PAL game, then the NTSC game will not see it.
    You can try to backup/edit/restore the save file to change the GameID stored in the save file. but not all games are compatible with simple GameID swap. (I thing Luigi's mansion should work, there's no secret level, different room, mission, differences between PAL and NTSC version, but maybe a language selection added in PAL version?)

    2.
    This is not normal.
    Try different loaders, loader's settings, or different version of Dios Mios?
    I always have a card inserted so I didn't had this problem. maybe someone else can confirm?
     
  12. osm70

    Member osm70 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    731
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Once i tried NMM, so I removed card and it worked fine.
     
  13. flouri
    OP

    Newcomer flouri Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I tried uninstalling and reinstalling DM without a memory card, no dice. Tried USB Loader GX too, cant get GC games to boot at all with it. I am starting to get disheartened..
     
  14. flouri
    OP

    Newcomer flouri Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    What is the best IOS and cIOS to use for the loader to boot GC games?? And could there be a newer cIOSMIOS that could be the solution to all this??
     
  15. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,439
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    the cIOS is used only inside the loader (to list the games present on the USB) if AHBPROT is not used. some loaders can use IOS58 with ahbprot to mount the drives.
    But the loaded IOS has nothing to do with the compatibility of the game you want to play.
    When you boot a game with DIOS MIOS, there's no cIOS used at all, the console reboots and load BC and then (DIOS) MIOS is loaded.
     

Share This Page