Hacking Nintendont

sharkticonnz

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
215
Country
New Zealand
Hi all sorry if its been covered before. Im using wiiflow lite on wii u (vwii) running nintendont through it. I is possible when exiting a gamecube game to exit to wiiflow instead of the vwii menu?
 

cueropedo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
55
Country
United States
Hi, just a suggestion, someone should update Nintendont so you can change the settings without the need to launch a game, it's pretty annoying when you have made Wii U VC Injections for GameCube and don't use the USB/SD in vWii.

Also, Wii U GamePad doesn't seem to work anymore on my games when I use said injection, not sure if someone has the same problem, or can help me, thanks.
 

pedro702

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,178
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
6,096
Country
Portugal
Hi, just a suggestion, someone should update Nintendont so you can change the settings without the need to launch a game, it's pretty annoying when you have made Wii U VC Injections for GameCube and don't use the USB/SD in vWii.

Also, Wii U GamePad doesn't seem to work anymore on my games when I use said injection, not sure if someone has the same problem, or can help me, thanks.
cant be done it would be a huge update, nintendont has no graphic interface so once the games are running there is not graphic stuff to pull from, since nintendont itself doesnt have any graphic controll at all, so you would need to write one from scratch.

Make sure you are on latest nintendont for the gamepad to work latest is 498 also
the wiiu gamepad will be player 1 if no hid is connected to usb ports, if an hid is connected to usb ports wiiugamepad goes to player 2, so if you have 498 and gamepad doesnt work it means you have a usb controller connected and gamepad is player 2
 
  • Like
Reactions: grimson

cueropedo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
55
Country
United States
cant be done it would be a huge update, nintendont has no graphic interface so once the games are running there is not graphic stuff to pull from, since nintendont itself doesnt have any graphic controll at all, so you would need to write one from scratch.

Make sure you are on latest nintendont for the gamepad to work latest is 498 also
the wiiu gamepad will be player 1 if no hid is connected to usb ports, if an hid is connected to usb ports wiiugamepad goes to player 2, so if you have 498 and gamepad doesnt work it means you have a usb controller connected and gamepad is player 2

Hard to believe such a simple change would require that big amount of work, but oh well.

Anyway, I fixed my problem, it looks like my nincfg went corrupt or something like that, I made another and now it's working fine, not sure how it went corrupt though.

Maybe easier to build a program that let you build the nincfg file on your PC, it's easier that having to swap SD Cards and install a GC just to change Nintendont settings.

Also the updater seems broken.

Thanks for the help!
 

N7Kopper

Proud lover of a three-inch girlfriend
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
708
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
900
Country
United Kingdom
cant be done it would be a huge update, nintendont has no graphic interface so once the games are running there is not graphic stuff to pull from, since nintendont itself doesnt have any graphic controll at all, so you would need to write one from scratch.

Make sure you are on latest nintendont for the gamepad to work latest is 498 also
the wiiu gamepad will be player 1 if no hid is connected to usb ports, if an hid is connected to usb ports wiiugamepad goes to player 2, so if you have 498 and gamepad doesnt work it means you have a usb controller connected and gamepad is player 2
A better suggestion (if it hasn't been done in a latest version I missed) is to allow Nintendont to take loader arguments in Wii VC mode. Both the latest Homebrew Channel and most loaders support Wii VC now.
 

cugel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
113
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
454
Country
United States
Make sure you are on latest nintendont for the gamepad to work latest is 498

How do you update Nintendont, exactly? I downloaded the latest loader.dol and renamed it to boot.dol and overwrote it on my sd card. It still says it's version 6.489 from Oct 2019. The "Update Nintendont" option doesn't seem to do anything and trying the other update menu entries crash my Wii U so hard I have to pull the power cable.
 

cugel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
113
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
454
Country
United States
I guess the version number isn’t being updated properly. The link I gave is from 13 days ago.

EDIT: According to the NintendontVersion.h the version should display 6.498.

Could it have something to do with the forwarder I'm using? I wouldn't think that would be an issue but it's the only thing I can think of.
 

cugel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
113
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
454
Country
United States
Try loading Nintendont directly from the Wii Homebrew Channel.

I had a different forwarder I was using previously and using that fixed the issue. I guess the forwarder I was using has an old version of Nintendont built into it, I had no idea that was possible.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,178
Trophies
1
XP
13,857
Country
United States
I guess the version number isn’t being updated properly. The link I gave is from 13 days ago.

EDIT: According to the NintendontVersion.h the version should display 6.498.

I just tested it about thirty minutes ago. that's what mine says:

upload_2021-9-18_8-43-53.png


--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

nm, looks like he fixed it.
 

KungBore

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 9, 2020
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
185
Country
Brazil
Great news for Starfox fans!

The deflicker filter can be properly disabled by patching the game's Start.dol.

Steps:
1. Use GCRebuilder to extract SystemData/Start.dol from the game's ISO
2. Open Start.dol in a hex editor (eg. HxD)
3. Change the string 07070C0C0C0707 at offset 0x333894 to 00001516150000
4. Import the modified Start.dol back into the ISO (right click start.dol > import...)
5. 'Save changes'

It's also recommended to set Nintendont video width to Auto for this game, otherwise it seems to glitch and offsets the raster to one side, cropping some pixels.

However that may be fixable by patching the video mode structure in Start.dol to the desired width, but the geometry seems okay at Auto width so I haven't bothered with that yet.

Note this is for the NTSC version of the game; I am not sure if the PAL version uses a different vfilter than 07070C0C0C0707.

Interestingly, 07070C0C0C0707 is the same vfilter used by Mario Kart Wii.

edit: just to clarify with Starfox Adventures, when you first load the game, Nintendont correctly patches the vfilter out, and the main menu looks crystal clear. However loading a save game re-instates it, and exiting out to the main menu reveals the filter is now in effect. Thus, patching is necessary for this game.

edit2: after trying to modify video mode section to adjust the video width, I had no luck. I speculate Rare are setting the video width programatically which obfuscates the values in the hex data. It is possible to observe this as when the game initially launches it obeys our custom viWidth setting, but then at the main menu the width abruptly changes to 660. This is consistent with Extrems data for external resolution of 660, and my own observation using tape on my screen to match the width in the Nintendont menu when set to 660. So with a 480p output we end up with a 2.2% horizontally squished image since width should be 676 for 480p due to the 2.2% narrower pixels of 480p vs 480i which Nintendo's video interface is not compensating for. 2.2% is not the end of the world though :)
Does this fix work for Soul Calibur 2?
 

Maeson

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2013
Messages
853
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
2,074
Country
Yes, but it disables the fading to black effect when going through different screens. Not realiy much of an issue considering the increase in picture quality.

On the deflicker thread I talked about it with Nooblet Cheese, but I do not remember which page.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KungBore

KungBore

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 9, 2020
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
185
Country
Brazil
Yes, but it disables the fading to black effect when going through different screens. Not realiy much of an issue considering the increase in picture quality.

On the deflicker thread I talked about it with Nooblet Cheese, but I do not remember which page.
Oh, that's interesting. Would you happen to know why disabling it in Dolphin doesn't affect the fading effects, and in real hardware, it does?
https://ppltoast.wordpress.com/2018/05/11/a-small-look-into-the-gamecubes-copy-filter/

I've tested disabling the Copy Filter in Dolphin and the fading effects work fine.
 

ccfman2004

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2008
Messages
2,614
Trophies
0
XP
2,274
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: KungBore

NoobletCheese

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
364
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
634
Country
United States
Does this fix work for Soul Calibur 2?


Unfortunately not, it needs the GXSetCopyFilter patch -- https://gbatemp.net/threads/possibl...de-flicker-filter.477163/page-10#post-9492091

And as MaeseJesus mentioned you will lose the screen fade effects in the menus which feels a bit weird.

For reference here were all the discoveries in that thread
https://gbatemp.net/threads/possibl...de-flicker-filter.477163/page-20#post-9514246


Oh, that's interesting. Would you happen to know why disabling it in Dolphin doesn't affect the fading effects, and in real hardware, it does?


At first I thought Dolphin was just removing the blending coefficients by setting them to 0's
eg. 08 08 0A 0C 0A 08 08 --> 00 00 0A 0C 0A 00 00.

But this would result in a 50% darker image
00+00+0A+0C+0A+00+00 = 0x20 ; 08+08+0A+0C+0A+08+08 = 0x40

I think Extrem's explanation is correct -- Dolphin must take the sum of all 7 vfilter coefficients, divide by 3 and set middle 3 to that value (middle 3 control brightness, first 2 control blend with above pixel, last 2 with below pixel).
 
Last edited by NoobletCheese,
  • Like
Reactions: KungBore
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I got Emerald for free "because I'm so neat" or some bullshit.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Werid it's morning I was talking about roosters
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    though what the poster at http://harmful.cat-v.org/software/java said is true about Java, it isn't so much about C++, C# while preferring C over it. I doubt he'd write a network stack in linux, port a SQL server in C and a mail client if it was a senior C/C++ paid job. You don't even need to care about pointers in C++ if you don't use them and instead use the OOP classes, such as an object reference, which is safer because it guarantees object heritage (Inheritance) which eliminates the need of a garbage collector. Typical use case of this is to use push/pop operators over a vector array, where you don't even need malloc. (it's used internally, yes, but by going the inheritance way you let the C++ to handle it for you)
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    C# is a whole new thing, and it's built around the idea of removing all the C bits in the C++ implementation, so what you get is an entire OOP language without backwards compatibility.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's more like java than C++ imo
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    So C#$&+ sounds like a decent community
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the meme box appears to be borked
    Gift
  • Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there haven't been new posts in meme box in multiple days despite posts in the thread receiving plenty of likes
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The new forum software did cause some issues with the maymaybox, I remember hearing somewhere.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I thought that was solved.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    On the phone with att wish me luck
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Why do you love?
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    20 minutes still play jump around with att
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Another 8 minute transfer yay
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    PLEASE HOLD. YOUR CALL IS VERY IMPORTANT TO US. PLEASE CONTINUE TO HOLD.
    Gift
  • ClancyDaEnlightened @ ClancyDaEnlightened:
    in other words *please hang up*
    Gift
  • ClancyDaEnlightened @ ClancyDaEnlightened:
    stop bitching on the phone
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    http://harmful.cat-v.org/software/OO_programming/ <- OOP allows a generic build to scale approach to solve problems. And compatibility. In my experience an API/Shared Libraries by being encapsulated, is less likely to get optimized/destroyed by the compiler, specifically in embedded platforms.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    No doubt it will be slower, but if you can and have the resources to hand-optimize away the code
    , do it.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    If you dont bitch nothing will get done correctly
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    Also allows to separate pieces in components: Init, update, destroy, which enables the whole program to be inheritable. If you're creating a first person shooter, and want to add multiplayer, you will have to use OOP regardless.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    and forget about memory management
    Gift
    Coto @ Coto: and forget about memory management