Nintendont

By sabykos, Jun 10, 2013 7,093,989 40,579 162

  1. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,839
    Country:
    Portugal
    no idea all i know is wii needs internet connection to be able to be established as connected to the network.
     
  2. YeleyFan18

    YeleyFan18 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    All I really had to do was disable multi on that one game (Two Towers) for it to run properly, the rest run off Multi without crashing. Saves folder didn't show any 0kb files, I'll browse it through dolphin though.

    I found newer issues with certain games. Testing them through my craptop on dolphin, they show the videos fine. But when I try to play video files on those specific games, the screen will go green, flicker, and beep very loudly, pretty much Nintendont crashing.

    I've found it on the following:

    Club Nintendo Original e-Catalog 2004 (NTSC-J)

    Interactive Multi-Game Demo Disc - Volume 19 and 20 (NTSC)

    At first, on the Club Nintendo disc, I thought this was just a region issue and not exactly one could fix. Turns out this is actually a homebrew issue as it occured on American ones as well. My list is not nearly complete as I haven't tested every game yet. This is all on the newest version, I'll retest the Club Nintendo iso first... Shockingly... Works. Alright. Lemme retest the demo discs. That's... Odd, they're working actually.

    Okay I found the problem there. It crashed when booted from USB Loader GX, but functioned fine from Nintendont directly.

    I'm also going to inject my two towers save into the multi card (backed it up just in case of corruption) and see if it will crash now. Yeah that changed nothing. I'll be submitting my video settings as well, try to be through as possible.

    JPEG_20200506_124633.jpg JPEG_20200506_124854.jpg JPEG_20200506_124915.jpg JPEG_20200506_124933.jpg
     
    Last edited by YeleyFan18, May 6, 2020
  3. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,839
    Country:
    Portugal
    the reason it crashed when run through usbloader gx is probably its forcing some settings that you arent enforcing on nintendont solo app like video scale wich i think is video width? that setting breaks many games.

    also your using a big memory card size, nintendont doesnt like the big ones becuase it needs all the wii ram it can get so the bigger the more issues, that is why preety much everyone just uses individual 251 blocks memory cards for all games that way even if it corrupts you loose one save and not all saves i think only like 2 random sports games need bigger than solo 251 blocks to save.
     
    MassiveRican likes this.
  4. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United States
    Even Wii's have issues with genuine 1019 block cards. My saves kept getting corrupted. This was using a real GameCube disc of Smash Bros. Melee and a real genuine memory card not through Nintendont but through its MIOS.

    Also there are some GameCube games that have issues with the 1019 block cards even on GameCube itself.

    For me I just use the smallest virtual memory card that each game needs. No need to waste space. I don't recommend multi as if one random game crashes during saving you risk loosing all the saves on that emulated card. Single cards are the best as they are easy to backup and you don't have to worry that if a game crashes you risk only that save and not all saves.

    Also Dolphin is an emulator and doesn't require strict ISO structures and timing that Nintendont requires just like the GameCube requires. I wish people would stop using Dolphin as an example of why X game works there but not in Nintendont.
     
    Last edited by ccfman2004, May 7, 2020
    MassiveRican likes this.
  5. Jayinem81

    Jayinem81 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible to use Wii Wheel with Gamecube racing games that are injected into Wii U menu?
     
  6. Pokemon_Tea_Sea_Jee

    Pokemon_Tea_Sea_Jee GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Canada
    Does playing GCN games this way on a Wii using a Classic Controller Pro attached to a Wiimote mean extra input lag compared to playing GameCube games through normal GameCube mode on a Wii with a wired GCN controller?
     
  7. epicmartin7

    epicmartin7 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    411
    Country:
    United States
    Hi! Just got a quick question regarding port emulation. Considering Nintendont fully emulates the broadband port, how feasible would it be to emulate Serial Port 1 and have a device that interfaces with that port use a type of USB adapter to interface with Wii/Wii U? Obviously, the USB hardware would be the major challenge due to the willingness to produce such a thing, but just on the software side alone, how feasible is it?
     
  8. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,839
    Country:
    Portugal
    no

    they ahve the same imput lag as any bt controller, obvisuouly every wired controller is always faster but unless your an hardcore fighting player you wont notice a thing.

    why? if you ever wanted to add a random usb device you would be better off just codding the usb device using nintendont since nintendont can code usb devices and make them use ingame, not to mention it would take probably mopnths of work to have no actual reason?
     
    Pokemon_Tea_Sea_Jee likes this.
  9. Codex0

    Codex0 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I understand what Ericsonanzois is saying here, last night I encountered this.

    Last night I installed nintendont for the first time, fresh install etc, the guides provided and information around have been very helpful. I'm a developer myself and found the source interesting too. There are some problems with the latest release though.

    My installation is on the vWii, i'm not sure if this is the issue but I can't use the latest build or any build for that matter to access online content such as updating or controllers.zip download. I rolled back to the last major release based on some feedback I found in the open issues on GitHub.

    I have it all working now but thought i'd share my experience:
    Install 6.486, I cannot post a link to this but you can find a link under issue 763 expressing the same issue I have with trying to access online data.
    Download controllers.zip from the repository, it's located under controllerconfigs/controllers.zip
    Extract the contents of this to a controllers folder on the root of your SD card

    I has issues with IOS58 but installed cios and sorted it, but I think I had to actually just use another patch to get the stock IOS58 on and it would have been fine.

    Anyway, thanks for this amazing mod, I always wondered if this was possible and so happy to see that it is.
     
    Masana and alexander1970 like this.
  10. rxn77

    rxn77 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    I want to play VirtuaStriker 4 v2006 in ninendont (wii) but it woudn't work !! I try with 3 version of it but same result not working ! why ?
    ttps://ibb.co/fGFfMQp
     
    Last edited by rxn77, May 21, 2020
  11. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,839
    Country:
    Portugal
    you mean triforce game?
    do you have the correct isos md5s?
    maybe your forcing imcompatible settings or old nintendont version number?

    Virtua Striker 4 Ver.2006 (Export) TriForce Arcade ISO
    -ISO with "GVSJ8P" GameID in Header
    53a0eb3d593b3280911269d2aee2f6b1
    -Modified ISO with "GVS46E" GameID in Header
    3a28d974b96546a89c279a20c3360b04
    -Modified ISO with "GVS46J" GameID and "Virtua Striker 4 Ver.2006" title in Header
    74a63de8768f688a47dfe274ece5e74f

    Virtua Striker 4 Ver.2006 (Japan) TriForce Arcade ISO
    -ISO with "GVSJ8P" GameID in Header
    236561a6fe8b6387a1f0558372d9c4ce
    -Modified ISO with "GVS46J" GameID in Header
    c22de9a93a99ddad44085052357f5f8c
    -Modified ISO with "GVS46J" GameID and "Virtua Striker 4 Ver.2006" title in Header
    5c9928bdb4c9d3793a5db6b0cf3cc18f
     
  12. crunchewy

    crunchewy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Should slot b memory cards work? I’m using Nintendont v6.489. I’m running on Wii, though launching from USB Loader GX. I extracted an Animal Crossing save from memory card, converted it to raw with Dolphin. Renamed it to GAFE_B.raw and put it in the /saves right next to my GAFE.raw save file. Started up Animal Crossing and tried to travel, but it said there was no memory card in slot b? What am I doing wrong?

    EDIT: I’ve since then run it directly in Nintendont and it still didn’t work.
     
    Last edited by crunchewy, May 23, 2020
  13. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,839
    Country:
    Portugal
    are they small enough so nintendont can load them without loosing too much ram? are they the same size?
     
  14. crunchewy

    crunchewy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Shouldn’t they be the same size since the same game (albeit different saves)? I will check, though.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I just checked and the .raw files are both 2.1 MB.
     
  15. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,839
    Country:
    Portugal
    well im not sure if you can do that with 2 memory cards of that size, maybe try passing both saves to a 59 blocks raw and choosing 59 on nintendont settings, also just making sure all the animal crossing saves are from same region right? your not using a usa save on one and a pal save on the other right?
     
  16. crunchewy

    crunchewy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Correct. Both are USA region. They are both my saves, although one is MUCH older, probably from back when we played it on Gamecube (extracted with Save Game Manager GX). How can I convert the raw files to 59 blocks? 59 blocks would certainly be more than large enough for Animal Crossing.

    FYI, here is the organization:

    Green Joy-Con D-Pad Shells for Nintendo Switch
     
    Last edited by crunchewy, May 24, 2020 at 12:15 AM
  17. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,839
    Country:
    Portugal
    well take your raw files out of your saves folder and put hen on your pc so no animal crossing save is on the sd card then start nintendont directly press B to go to settings and choose 59 blocks and enable memory card emulation, press B again and start animal crossing all without leaving nintendont app, since there is no save file nintendont will make one with 59 blocks.

    then save or whatever and shut off.

    Put your sd card on pc get the new file and copy it so you have 2, then rename one to _B and then use dolphin memory card manager, delete the save files you find in there and pass one save to the regular 59 blocks raw from your previously taken bigger raw file and the other to the copied one.
     
  18. crunchewy

    crunchewy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Oh yes, that makes perfect sense. I will give this a shot. Thanks!
     
  19. crunchewy

    crunchewy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Well, this was a huge fail on my part. I forgot that if you use a USB HDD then Nintendont uses saves on the USB HDD. LOL. So actually it was fine in the first place, I just had put the _B file on the SD card and not on my USB HDD. So I just put the same GAFE_B.raw (251 block) file onto USB and it worked fine!

    Thanks for you help, though. If I hadn't tried to delete the saves from the SD card and then start up the game only to find that my save was still there, I'd probably never have figured this out. I really appreciate it!
     
  20. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,839
    Country:
    Portugal
    yeah , nintendont saves where the iso is loaded from.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendont,