Nintendo USB Wifi turned SoftAP

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by kirra, Feb 4, 2007.

Feb 4, 2007

Nintendo USB Wifi turned SoftAP by kirra at 7:53 PM (1,908 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. kirra
    OP

    Member kirra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    I can connect perfectly with Nintendo WFC. When I go into the WFC Setup I can test the connection and it comes out to be successful. I can even play a game of Starfox online with anyone.

    However when I try to use BeUp, IRCDS, or DSOrganize with the firmware (Nintendo WFC settings) it won't connect! I always fail to connect. [​IMG]

    Any ideas or thoughts?

    Edit: I'm using R4 with 1GB Kingston (TW)
     
  2. cpm

    Newcomer cpm Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Canada
    i had to change 3 things in my setup to get the homebrew to connect via my router, Enable SSID Broadcast, 64-bit wep (instead of 128-bit) and set a static ip. (none of which i really care for)

    anyways, i dunno if that'll help you at all [​IMG]
     
  3. CrEsPo

    Member CrEsPo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Canada
    When you switch between homebrew and games you have to switch the network mode in the SoftAP from secured to open and vise versa.
     
  4. MAD_BOY

    Member MAD_BOY Lazy bum

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    Sittard, Limburg
    Country:
    Netherlands
    actually, i use open for both commercial and homebrew, works just fine
     
  5. kirra
    OP

    Member kirra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I have SSID on broadcast, 64-Bit WEP, and static IP (instead of automatic), and then instead of Shared I put Open...

    Still getting a Fail! for homebrew [​IMG]. Nintendo WFC still works with all those settings. Thanks for the suggestions so far though.
     
  6. MAD_BOY

    Member MAD_BOY Lazy bum

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    Sittard, Limburg
    Country:
    Netherlands
    did you manually add all the info to the WFC settings? homebrew won't work when you set the info to automatic retrieval
     
  7. kirra
    OP

    Member kirra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I set up the settings manually. But there is no way to do it automatically.

    Edit: I think I kinda figured it out... but the only way for me to connect is when I start up beup I have to go to my computer, disable the Wireless Network Connection and then re-enable it, it is only then that beup picks up the connection and brings me to the login screen. I type in my info and it connects.

    Any ideas?
     
  8. Renzo2

    Newcomer Renzo2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    My setup is identical to Kirras right down to the MicroSD card. The situation is the same and I'm having the same exact problem.
     
  9. Talaria

    Member Talaria ...

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Is the connection infomation in the first slot connection on the DS (you know how you can have three different connections, set it up in the far left one). As of the moment homebrew can only use the first slot connection.
     
  10. Renzo2

    Newcomer Renzo2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah.

    I followed this guide to the letter.

    Edit: I've been looking around a lot. I've seen tons of people ask the same question I've been asking, yet I haven't seen an answer. But every time somebody asks how they can get homebrew to work on their DS with the Nintendo Wifi USB, they're told to put it in SoftAP mode.
     
  11. fenthwick

    Member fenthwick GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    Sweden
    Em i had no problem for my NDS to use Beup or other network homebrew on my R4. I have a 128-bit encryption on my wireless network and i have my DS set on automatic, the only thing i entered was the security code.
     
  12. Renzo2

    Newcomer Renzo2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    But you're not using the Nintendo WiFi USB modified to run in SoftAP. That's what the problem is.
     
  13. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    I followed the instructions properly, but my usb light isnt blinking and my ds doesn't recognize it. What is my problem?
     

Share This Page