Hacking Question New Switch model, is it hackable?

Notnagel

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,072
Country
Gambia, The
The new Units schould have Serialnumbers starting with XKW.

Since I don't have one, you could look in this Thread, if there are some Guys owning a new one already.

Other than this, we can`t say anything for sure now, only that there is a VERY high Chance, that they are Patched.
 

Montblanc

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
217
Country
Italy
Thanks for your answers, I will try looking for green region models. Hopefully I will find some lurking in a dusty old shop.
 

smf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
6,383
Trophies
2
XP
5,299
Country
United Kingdom
Some people are looking into it, but whether they'll find anything is anyones guess. I am kinda tempted to get one and leave it in the box for a year in case another exploit is found.
 

riahc3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2008
Messages
301
Trophies
0
XP
349
Country
United States
Damn it....I was looking for a TV to buy for buying a new switch but if it is currently unpatchable, forget it.
 

heko

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
43
Country
Netherlands Antilles
I already tried with a NEW switch, unfortunately they do not work.

Testing with the guide in here ( sorry as a new member I am not allowed to link anything )

The switch does not display a result even after an hr of waiting for it. It just hangs on uploading the payload.

Sorry but this will not work.

edit: and yes it had 8.0 installed.
 

Basketto

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
567
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
618
Country
Australia
If you know how to use google and realise that only certain serial numbers are hackable(based on your original post)from the switch model, why do you think nintendo would would start reproducing hardware with a security flaw again....... Really. I am in two minds wether or not this is a troll post, because it just such an unintelligent question.
 

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,280
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,983
Country
Albania
Highly unlikely for any newer switch iterations to come with the previous bootrom bug unpatched. It would be a dream within a dream for them to include said bug.

Anyways, regardless of what you're buying be sure to check its serial number with this tool even if you were sure and confirmed that it may be a non patched unit, you should confirm it through that website.
 

ZachyCatGames

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
3,404
Trophies
1
Location
Hell
XP
4,151
Country
United States
Which of the 8.1 claimers actually got a new switch. Let's check with LordRahl72, who did.



Some claim that this model should have bootrom protections against any theoretical 7.x Deja Vu though.
SciresM and a few other RS team mebers who’ve gotten one have confirmed that theirs came with 8.0.1

Yea, it almost certainly does, it’d be incredible stupid on their part if they didn’t do anything about Dormez
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtube.com/shorts/uFCAHkUs5qk?feature=share