PS1/2 New owner of Playstation One - hackable ?

pumpkinpies

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Hey all - i just picked up a mint condition PS1 with a couple of controllers and the cables and am wondering if there any easy mods/hacks to do to this so i can play backups from some kind of hard drive ?

I have read about disk swapping and modchips but not really interested in trying to hunt down some cd's and burn a bunch of games and i have no experience doing any kind of soldering.

So i am wondering if there was ever a hack so that you could play games off of a hard drive via either the serial or parallel port ?

KongsNutz

[Team Oceanic]
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
No hdd mods for actual PSX/PSone console.
Disc Swapping and ModChips are basically your lot.
If it’s an original PSX with the data port in the back your best bet is to grab an Action Replay adapter from eBay plug that in and boot backups.

There is a CDemu coming afaik it’s nowhere near ready yet.

zfreeman

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Only the earlier editions of the PSX have a parallel port for the PSIO. The PSone's only ports are power and video/audio.
220px-PlayStation-Model-Backs.jpg
PSOnePorts-150x150.png

PSIO is a Flash Cartridge that plugs into your PlayStation’s Parallel I/O Port. It allows you to run your games from an SD Card on real hardware. In order for PSIO to work with your system, a Switch Board needs to be installed on your mainboard.
20181201_141150__71991.1557238269.jpg

Last edited by zfreeman,

pumpkinpies

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
sorry i may not have the lingo correct - i must have a psx as mine does have the serial and parallel ports in the back.

So for this PSIO - you can install an sd card into it and play backups from there ?

zfreeman

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
You will have to modify the motherboard with an additional chip. The PS1's CD drive depends on several components from the motherboard and must be rerouted to boot from the parallel port.