New HD for Xbox

Discussion in 'Microsoft Xbox' started by TLSpartan, Sep 25, 2007.

Sep 25, 2007

New HD for Xbox by TLSpartan at 9:37 AM (996 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    I am getting a 20GB+(my mate doest know what size it is, but its bigger then 20GB) to me for free [​IMG] .I want to know how to install a larger hard drive in a modded Xbox. Does anyone have a good tutorial link for doing this? Thanks in advance
     
  2. ConraDargo

    Member ConraDargo Flashback Fanatic

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,764
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    It really is as simple as opening the Xbox, detaching its current HD, attaching the new one and then boot up using SuperDisc - to properly format it [​IMG]
     
  3. DarkMatt

    Newcomer DarkMatt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It's only that easy if you have a modchip fitted. If it's a softmod, it's a much more difficult process.

    If it's got a modchip installed, it's easy, just replace the hard-drive. If you boot with the mod on, it will work. Without the mod turned on you'll get an error (unless you lock the hdd)

    If you've got a softmod installed, check xbox-scene.com for tutorials [​IMG]
     
  4. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    I know have a Xbox with a 80GB hard drive [​IMG] . Now to fill it with games and multimedia [​IMG] (I am using XBMC as the dashboard.
     
  5. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using a modchip? Which one? Zenium and X3 have HDD upgrade apps built in.
     
  6. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    You must format and partition it. Just replacing the HDD thats in there now with a new one is not enough.
     
  7. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    I have a soft mod (Dont know which one, I was 12 and dint know anything about soldering or modchips, know I solder modchips in and know heaps [​IMG] ). I formatted my 80GB HD in Linux in FAT32. I reburned evoX (the one that was on Xbox was screwed up) and installed evox on the new HDD. Works fine
     
  8. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    So you re-flashed the bios. Then you installed the evox dashboard on the hdd?

    spartan, have you ripped any games to your new HDD? What partition do they go to?
     
  9. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Just fixed that mistake [​IMG] . I haven't ripped any games to my HD. It isn't in partitions. Is that bad [​IMG]

    Yes, I reflashed the BIOS.
     
  10. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry just realized you're talking softmods. I don't mess with them and never have. But theres forums on the site xbox-scene.com that can help you.
     
  11. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Is their something wrong [​IMG] ?
     
  12. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    Nothing wrong. I just have never softmodded an xbox. I have installed about a dozen modchips but no softmods. Just my personal preference is all. So I am completely out of my element on this one. But xbox-scene is filled with great info from people who know softmods.
     
  13. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Nothing has gone wrong yet. The hardest part of the new HD was opening up the Xbox [​IMG] .
     

Share This Page