OG Xbox running very slowly

xX1TheMarley1Xx

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Hello there! I have recently got my old OG Xbox out the attic as I wanted to play some games on it (it was modded by my grandads friend and runs on evox, aladin xt plus chip) I have managed to get it working but the dashboard is excruciatingly slow, the hard drive makes a sound then stops and continues to do so, with each rumble it makes the screen loads in a bit more of the dashboard, before finding out I needed to reinstall the chip (chip had broken as this console is 20yrs old) I thought it was a hard drive issue and I backed everything up as I'm not tech savvy and didn't want to lose my childhood games, but now it's working it keeps making this rumble sound then stops and the dash is very slow, my suspicion is when I've backed the hdd up its put too much data on the drive, thus making it slower, I have xhdm for browsing the hdd but I don't want to delete the wrong files as like I say I'm not very tech savvy, I do apologise if this is a bit of a vague explanation as I'm not very savvy with this kind of thing, if anyone could help me I'd really appreciate it a ton, thankyou and kind regards!

Attachments

• 20240220_162557.jpg
    20240220_162557.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 38
  • 20240220_173728.jpg
    20240220_173728.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 18
  • 20240220_173836.jpg
    20240220_173836.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 18

SylverReZ

Dat one with the Rez
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
Website
m4x1mumrez87.neocities.org
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Maybe its time to upgrade the HDD to an SSD and do a fresh start. Do make sure you unlock the drive before backing up all of your files.

There are plenty of OG Xbox modding guides on ConsoleMods that you can follow to get started:
https://consolemods.org/wiki/Xbox:Original_Xbox_Mods_Wiki

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Trophies
XP
Country
Antarctica
Your capacitors might also severely benefit from a replacement.