New DSi homebrew browser/patch

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Pavichokche, Apr 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Apr 10, 2009
  1. Pavichokche
    OP

    Newcomer Pavichokche Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    Canada
    Am I the only person who plays a DS(i) and is pissed off that you can't use a WPA2 encrypted network??? I know that the DSi is technically not yet "cracked" and the acekard 2i Im running is only using as much of the memory as it would on a DS (horse SH*T!!!), but if there was to be homebrew made for the people running it off their DSi, it should be made capable of handling these networks!!

    It shouldn't be that big of a change, just a little "advanced settings" option like in the DSi settings to enable people running the said program(DS organize/Beup live) to use their WPA/WPA2 network.

    And the thing that would be MOST useful is an extra patch in the acekard 2i(and whatever the DSTTi has) that allows somehow the games emulated through it to use the encrypted netwosk.
     
  2. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    The software is locked in DS mode.
    When in DS mode the DSi cannot use WPA/WPA2.
    Period.
    Wait for a new flashcard supporting DSi-mode.
     
  3. commdante

    Member commdante GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Waiting for a new card won't solve it either ... I have no idea why, but WPA functionality doesn't have any effect on previous games... major downside. I hated the lack of WPA from the beginning and haven't used Wifi much because I needed to change everything every time.

    I really would like to run to the shop and buy a DSi, but with that annoying "warning screen" and no way to use the DSi funtions in homebrew (2xCPU ... 4xMem) I really can't seem to find a way to justify it :'(
    I wouldn't care much about "DSi only" games not being playable as backup for the moment (untill I get too many again [​IMG] ) ... as long as I can at least still bring my backup DS games and that annoying "bla bla screen" is gone.

    Anyways, major FAIL from nintendo imo ... it shouldn't be that hard using a (left over) 66Mhz cpu and 12MB RAM to encrypt WIFI from a game to use WPA. My first impulse was "YEAH... playing Mario Kart without bla bla...using my router with WPA." ...

    Only reason to get a DSI now for me is somewhat the browser (a lot faster than the "others"), but mostly the extra Mhz and RAM for homebrew ... And maybe DSi only games, with free demo's we wouldn't even need to search for and download ROMS to see if it is up to all the commercial crap and is save to buy...as in: no shovel ware/crap you'll get bored of in less than a day)!
     
  4. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    He was talking about the homebrew, so with a new card and re-coded homebrew, WPA/WPA2 will work.
     
  5. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just change network settings to WEP 128bit, then stop your network broadcasting.
    And if that's not enough, set it so you have to register MAC addresses. I did that, and now no-one knows I have a wireless network.

    Besides DSi sucks.
     
  6. commdante

    Member commdante GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Netherlands
    "Besides .. DSi sucks"? There aren't even any real DSi titles out yet, some DSi "wares" titles sure... I wonder what Nintendo was thinking ... especially with adding WPA functionality, but not for DS games. It would have actually be a "mile-pole" for me. On the other hand, twice the CPU (and thus gpu :?) and 4 times the ram surely) opens op a lot of potential for homebrew ... HexenDS in "High" without any slowdown ... 8)

    It's weird though ... twice the CPU, but not using it to counter (possible) slowdowns in existing games ... either 1/2 or max?
    Meh, I'll wait for custom firmware anywayz ... that "warning screen" was annoying the moment I turned my imported DS on ... and it got even more annoying now.
    I wouldn't care much about DSi only titles being able to rub or not (at least...as long as I can use my DS backups on 1 card on it). Seems the DSi would be an easy way to distribute demo's ... so we can avoid all the shovel-ware. Point is, will it be used as such? Probably not ...
     
  7. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Of course fucking not. It's not a PC, the games aren't built with various setups in mind, they're built for a single setup; a Nintendo goddamn DS. Existing games simply don't take into account increased processor speeds, I'm sure all kinds of timing are based on the known factor of the CPU speed; messing with the CPU speed could screw with any number of things.
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Wifi code for DS games is hard-coded into each game directly, not stored on the DS. The only thing the DS itself stores is the list of settings (SSID, WEP key, etc). The games themselves do all the work with actually connecting to Wifi. It just seems streamlined and consistent between games because every game must use Nintendo's supplied ARM7 binary, and it's the ARM7 that handles wifi.

    In short, there is no possible way to make existing DS games use WPA since they're hardcoded to only use what the DS itself had available in terms of hardware.
     
  9. gerard9077

    Newcomer gerard9077 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    Why can't we just be contented with our Lites and Phats?
     
  10. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Because everyone likes secure Wi-Fi and doesn't like l33chers.
    It's much more convenient for them to not use the insecure, easily-cracked-in-10-minutes WEP.
     
  11. Isaiah

    Member Isaiah The Conductor

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Country:
    Australia
    Fix'd [​IMG]
     
  12. HoTsHoT89

    Member HoTsHoT89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Does this mean, that DSi game ROMs will not work on current DSi flashcarts?
     
  13. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Well if you already have a DSi Flashcart, you'll have to wait for ome company to make a break through and make a flashcart that supports DSi Mode. Once that's done, two things could happen.

    The people who make your flashcart could update your flashcart's firmware so it has DSi Mode (may not happen). Or they will create a whole new flashcart and sell it to you. (Which is what will most likely happen)

    Yah it kinda sucks that they would sell it to you, even if they could just update the firmware, just to get more money.

    But don't worry some people are already working on cracking the DSi so that you can play Roms and DSiWare without a flashcart. So just keep your eyes peeled.
     
  14. smitty96

    Newcomer smitty96 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, they`re working on hombrew, it`s after the homebrew comes out that all you pirates get to play. So, since there`s no homebrew yet, there`s no ROMs yet.
     
  15. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    ...a double-post, a necropost, and it's completely off-topic. 3 for 3 man, good job.
     
  16. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Yep..



    THREAD CLOSED (author can PM me if wants this re-opened)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page