New Acekard 2i with AKAIO 1.8.1 stuck on Loading screen.

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by zero22x, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. zero22x
    OP

    Newcomer zero22x Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Bought a Christmas edition AK2i from lightake for a friend, and it arrived today. I popped in my microSD from my own AK2i (which works perfectly) to test it, and it was stuck on the Loading screen. My DSi reconizes it and everything, it's just when booting into AKAIO that it's stuck on a screen with the text 'Loading'.

    I then tried 2 (yes, two) other, freshly formatted (with the official SD card formatter) microSD cards with a fresh download of AKAIO 1.8.1, and the same thing comes up.

    I've tried blowing on all the contacts and slots. It seems to be a problem with the microSD slot's contacts. How can I verify/fix this?
     
  2. diando

    Member diando GBATemp™ Creepy Arceus™

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Arceus Dimension
    Country:
    Canada
    Make sure your TF Card is firmly in and a question for you, you never mentioned the size of the TF card?
     
  3. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,927
    Country:
    United States

    1.8.1 froze for me too.

    went to 1.8.0 and it works fine.

    no need to upgrade for me
     
  4. zero22x
    OP

    Newcomer zero22x Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting - I'll give that a try.

    Edit 2:
    Same error on 1.8.0

    Edit 3:
    Just took it apart, and it looks to be authentic. Perhaps it's defective?
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    ak2i's have 3 major problems:

    1) pcb contact issues
    2) msd slot contact issues
    3) clones developed from the actel design sold by acekard and used to create the r4i gold, r4i ultra, r4i gold v2, etc.

    you probably have msd slot contact issues, which happens less often than pcb contact issues. try reseating your msd card a few times. make sure the spring is engaging the card.

    when you boot the nds, touch the acekard. put a tiny but of pressure on it or tap it a few times. does it disappear from the nds firmware or not load? if it does you might have pcb contact issues. with this problem you could be loading the card fine but after it loads it is losing contact. i have an ak2i that does this.

    -another world
     
  6. zero22x
    OP

    Newcomer zero22x Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Inserted/poked around with the mSD and AK2i multiple times. The AK is definitely keeping contact. Doesn't seem like the mSD is, however, no matter how much I insert/prod with it.
     
  7. Hotness1

    Newcomer Hotness1 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Flowida
    Country:
    United States
    Could be defective. Maybe you could get a replacement.
     
  8. diando

    Member diando GBATemp™ Creepy Arceus™

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Arceus Dimension
    Country:
    Canada
    Try for a replacement or try cleaning the contacts and see if that works.
     
  9. alukadoo

    Member alukadoo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    far away from you..
    Country:
    United States
    It also says 'Loading' if you didn't put microSD in the Acekard 2i , maybe it's microSD slot contact issue ?
    I've no idea how to fix that though .
     

Share This Page