Hacking Need to hack 4.3 but my hard drive does not work

snuka

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 3, 2008
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
216
Country
United States
I just connected to my new wireless network and my Wii updated to 4.3u without prompting me and I lost the Homebrew Channel and USB loader. The disk drive on my Wii no longer works so I was loading all games off of a hard drive. Is there any way for me to get Homebrew back? the only 4.3 hacks I've seen req a game and since my hd is broken, that is not an option. Can I downgrade or hack without a game?
 

Crass

Rock me Dr. Zaius
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
1,004
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Oregon
Website
www.ds-scene.net
XP
544
Country
United States
snuka said:
I just connected to my new wireless network and my Wii updated to 4.3u without prompting me

What? Is that even possible? Why do people always lie about this, just admit that you were a dummy and updated it yourself. Should have disabled system updates with priiloader, and just shut off wii connect 24 because its just worthless anyways.
 

Yuan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
1,291
Trophies
0
XP
371
Country
Brazil
Crass said:
snuka said:
I just connected to my new wireless network and my Wii updated to 4.3u without prompting me

What? Is that even possible? Why do people always lie about this, just admit that you were a dummy and updated it yourself. Should have disabled system updates with priiloader, and just shut off wii connect 24 because its just worthless anyways.

It is impossible, assuming OP is not lying, maybe other person updated and haven't told him.
 

G0dLiKe

who needs a title ;)
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
1,674
Trophies
0
Website
db.tt
XP
206
Country
United States
This is for sure the "come on, just get it on, I wanna play, click yes, click yes, click yes, damn what was that? Ah, nvm..." behavior which ends like this...

When setting up a new wlan connection on your Wii a selftest will be initiated and when a update is availiable, the Wii asks you to update.
 

Gabelvampir

Free Mars!
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2009
Messages
455
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
K-Town
XP
262
Country
Germany
I am sorry to say, but without a working disc drive you are pretty screwed. If you have a working bootmii you can use this to start the HBC Installer (I think, never had to rehack my Wii). But all other 4.3 hacks require a genuine disc and an drive to read it.
Oh and what exactly is broken? The subject line says hard drive, the post says disc drive.
 

Yuan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
1,291
Trophies
0
XP
371
Country
Brazil
Gabelvampir said:
I am sorry to say, but without a working disc drive you are pretty screwed. If you have a working bootmii you can use this to start the HBC Installer (I think, never had to rehack my Wii). But all other 4.3 hacks require a genuine disc and an drive to read it.
Oh and what exactly is broken? The subject line says hard drive, the post says disc drive.

Yes, is possible to run bootmini.elf through bootmii. And a working forwarder channel can load homebrew (MMM for example) to run Hackmii installer too.
 

snuka

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 3, 2008
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
216
Country
United States
UPDATE from OP:

I'm not lying but maybe I was too eager to connect to my wifi or maybe I am just naive or a little dumb on this subject. Once I hacked my 3.2, I never messed with my wii because I didn't want to accidentally break the hack. This especially became the case when my disk drive died (the steady click of death.) I don't know why I said 'hard drive' in the post title - it was late...

I assume if I had bootmii, it would be obvious so I'm guessing I don't have it. I believe bootmii starts up before you get the 'press A' warning screen, right? If there is a trick to finding out if I have bootmii, please let me know what it is. I'm afraid I am completely screwed at this point until a 'bannerbomb'-like hack comes out. I don't know if that will be possible since I know 4.3 killed bannerbomb and I don't know if work is currently taking place on a different dvd-free solution. If there is a way, I'm confident that this forum would be aware of it.
 

snuka

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 3, 2008
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
216
Country
United States
Porobu said:
use modmii and generate bootmii folder and copy it to your sd card

Will that work if I don't even have homebrew now? I thought that was required to read from the sd.
 

Gabelvampir

Free Mars!
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2009
Messages
455
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
K-Town
XP
262
Country
Germany
If BootMii is installed as boot2 it will look on the SD card if a BootMii config file is there. If there isn't one it loads the normal boot2 and that starts the system menu. So if you don't have the right file you don't know if you have BootMii. But you Wii seems to be a bit older, so the update probably did overwrite the boot2 stuff so you don't have BootMii anymore. But as said, it is pretty invisible so try putting the right files on a SD card. I could post the files if you have problems with building the files via modmii.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Maq47 @ Maq47: @BORTZ sorry, not sorry. xD https://i.imgur.com/C0IOqpt.png