Need help with completely whiping a HD

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by DCG, Mar 19, 2010.

Mar 19, 2010
  1. DCG
    OP

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My dad has got a problem with his laptop (XP). he needs to format/whipe his C disk but the system doesn't let him do it.

    his disk is set up in NTFS (if I am correct, the placing of the word's can be different but it starts with NT)
     


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    How EXACTLY is he trying, and how EXACTLY is it failing?

    Please be EXTREMELY DETAILED TO THE MAX, seriously.
     
  3. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Format the drive with something called, DBAN. Which stands for, Darins Boot And Nuke.

    It erases everything completely. After it's done, just reinstall XP.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Woah there, let's not jump the gun. If their disc is damaged or something that will leave them without an OS to use at all, so let's make sure we know they can reinstall after wiping first.
     
  5. DCG
    OP

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    he has one disk that is devided into C and E. my dad already reinstalled XP to the E.
    The E partion works fine but the C partion has blue letters and thinks it is full.
    If you try to format it the normal way it says it is being used and aborts the action.
    If you try to format it trough the dosprompt it also says it is being used and aborts.
    Both partions have been set up as NTFS.

    ps. he doesn't care about the information on the pc, everything can be erased. completely.
     
  6. soulfire

    Member soulfire gear... secando

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    rotterdam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    use a magnet [​IMG] (not recommended)
     
  7. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that's a stupid hidden-recovery partition.
    bastards like dell do that!

    you need to delete the partitions.
    you can use a Linux livedisk, or a bootable version of gparted - as used on the Linux disks.
    or dban but that's slow & extreme.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  9. BlackDave

    Member BlackDave Official GBATemp "Cleanup Guy"

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    The Promised Land...
    Country:
    United States
    Asus does something better with partitions

    I have a 500 hdd on my asus laptop Split into two partition

    116 GB for the OS

    And a clean empty partition for installing games and programs on it so that the OS has space to run on.

    I used to have a disk that would let you boot your computer from it and clean a partition. I just can't remember the name
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Possibly GParted.
     
  11. Dangy

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    Whip it good.
     
  12. BlackDave

    Member BlackDave Official GBATemp "Cleanup Guy"

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    The Promised Land...
    Country:
    United States
    Gparted is what I'm using now. It was a different one
     
  13. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Or you could just boot a windows 98 DOS disc and do a low level format. That would completely wipe the drive including the boot sector, killing any partitions too.
     
  14. DCG
    OP

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    well. we just tried the 98 disk..... the bloody thing cant boot disks anymore!!!!!!!!! GD.
    maybe a usb will work....


    edit. can anyone give me a link to a file ready to be put on a usb to make it boot?
    I am not that experienced with USB booting [​IMG]
     
  15. blainy

    Member blainy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    australia
    Country:
    Australia

    if the C partition is the active system partition, then you will need to change the setting so that the new windows install on E is the main bootdisk from startup....you should then be able to format the C partition with no issues..
     
  16. DCG
    OP

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the system is already on E
     
  17. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you cant use dos, win98 or any other microsoft junk to delete this mess, trust me.
    and you cant low-level format - you couldnt do that for years - modern drives wont let you.
     
  18. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried enabling your CD ROM drive as your first boot device in your BIOS settings?
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If you can't boot from disc then don't try any other suggestions to wipe, as you need to be able to boot from disc in order to reinstall windows after the wipe... unless you can boot from USB, then you can try to install windows from it, but you'll need to do some work to set that up beforehand.

    http://www.vandomburg.net/installing-windows-xp-from-usb/
     
  20. blainy

    Member blainy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    australia
    Country:
    Australia

    but is the E partition setup as the master boot partition?? or is it still booting from the C partition??? that was my question, not do you you have windows on the E partition.. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page