Need help reflashing my PSP back to stock firmware

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by T-hug, Feb 17, 2012.

Feb 17, 2012
  1. T-hug
    OP

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anyone have a guide?
    My PSP is a 2003 Slim on 6.60 Pro B10.
    I tried to just run the official 6.60 update over my custom firmware but it didn't run.
    I also remember editing a certain .ini to fool updates into thinking I was already on latest firmware so I couldn't accidently undo the hack with an overwrite.

    Any help much appreciated, I have a pandora battery if one is needed to do this.

    I am trading it against my Vita next week for £50 so need it reset as sometimes the staff check the system information and it clearly says Pro B on it.
     
  2. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Just use the installer to undo the CIPL-patch & close the psp
     
  3. T-hug
    OP

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks but can you elaborate like what do I press lol?
     
  4. demonicstrife

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    If you installed it, use the CIPL patch installer to uninstall the permanant patch, then a 6.60 downgrader to clear your system of the extra modules and reflash your firmware. Then upgrade back up to 6.60 if you choose.
     
  5. T-hug
    OP

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did use the CIPL make it permanent but I can't find an option to undo that.
     
  6. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When you run the cIPL flasher there should be a list of what the button's do...i've never used it but i believe it's the triangle button. After that run the PRO B10 installer and uninstall PRO
     
  7. T-hug
    OP

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Got it thanks now it says System Software Version 6.60.
    Sweet can't wait for next week! Are you guys picking one up?
     
  8. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    thug!
    I'm still waiting for my japanese system to arrive (stupid lithium battery restrictions with japan post have thwarted my friend's attempts to send me both a vita and white 3DS twice now! :(

    however, I'll probably pick up a u.s. 3G bundle next week since it will come with a free 8GB memory card and will be 50usd cheaper than the "first edition bundles"
     
  9. T-hug
    OP

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey thieves nice one!
    I've managed to get around £180 off mine through trades and store credit so only have to pay around £100 on the day am really chuffed. Not long to go now!!!
     
  10. T-hug
    OP

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So today I just went to turn it on to format all my pro duos before trading the PSP in for Vita tomorrow and it won't turn on!
    The green light comes on for about 10 seconds then goes off but nothing comes on the screen at all, no light nothing.
    Have I somehow bricked it? I have tried to turn it on with the battery in and with just the charger in.

    Can I fix it with a pandora batter and pro duo? I still have them.

    [-EDIT-]

    Panic over prowler helped me out on irc and just fixed it using pandora!
     

Share This Page