Hacking Need help in determining if I bought a legit or clone R4 Flashcart

ShikaSan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
XP
53
Country
Hi!

The title of the thread says it all. I just recently bought an R4 flashcart for my 2DS to run some of my DS game backups, when I was overwhelmed to find out that it has several clones, and websites as well, I couldn't determine which is which.

Setting it up was a bit of a pain, I had to find the right website/download, and finally found one kernel that works.

Here's a few pics:







(I apologize for the shitty camera quality of my phone)
 

Davidosky99

Eevee :3
Banned
Joined
Jun 7, 2015
Messages
2,581
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Porto
Website
www.davidosky99.xyz
XP
1,159
Country
Yes , it is a clone.anyways, the only non-clone one is the original r4, so you can't really be safe :P
The kernel for that card is at r4isdhc.com .
I can help you put ysmenu on there to get rid of the time bomb.
Shoot me a pm if interested
 
  • Like
Reactions: ShikaSan

ShikaSan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
XP
53
Country
Yes , it is a clone.anyways, the only non-clone one is the original r4, so you can't really be safe :P
The kernel for that card is at r4isdhc.com .
I can help you put ysmenu on there to get rid of the time bomb.
Shoot me a pm if interested

Oh God... anyway, thanks! I'm interested about ysmenu, and what's this about a time bomb?
 

DarkGabbz

Resident XBOX Guy
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Messages
1,185
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Modding Xbox'es
XP
611
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
Yes , it is a clone.anyways, the only non-clone one is the original r4, so you can't really be safe :P
The kernel for that card is at r4isdhc.com .
I can help you put ysmenu on there to get rid of the time bomb.
Shoot me a pm if interested
Looks like a r4isdhc.hk.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Oh God... anyway, thanks! I'm interested about ysmenu, and what's this about a time bomb?
Does your card use r4.dat to start the kernel if so format the card and put my ysmenu autoboot package on it http://www.file-upload.net/download-11734861/Ysmenu.7z.html.
 
Last edited by DarkGabbz,
  • Like
Reactions: ShikaSan

ShikaSan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
XP
53
Country
Looks like a r4isdhc.hk.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Does your card use r4.dat to start the kernel.

That's where I got the kernel, and it's shady as well. When you type the address of the website without "www." it shows an Apache error, but if you complete the address, it shows the actual website. Weird.
 

ShikaSan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
XP
53
Country

Sono

cripple piss
Developer
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
2,789
Trophies
2
Location
home
XP
9,163
Country
Hungary
That one is a very decent flashcart if you put a normal kernel on it :P Just watch out with YSMenu, it bricked my previous flashcart permanently!
 

Sono

cripple piss
Developer
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
2,789
Trophies
2
Location
home
XP
9,163
Country
Hungary
Now, I'm suddenly a little bit confused on which to use. :rofl:

Well, I don't want to risk potentially bricking my flashcart with YSMenu, so I'm using a very specific version of R4 Wood (because other versions cause an indefinite loading screen). I'll get home in an hour, I could upload the kernel I'm using.

But if you want to try out YSMenu, it's okay. But if it freezes on a gray screen, you're damned.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ShikaSan

ShikaSan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
XP
53
Country
MarcusD was right. It bricked.

Edit: Is there anyway to recover it? The cart doesn't show up on the home menu of my 2DS anymore.
 
Last edited by ShikaSan,

Sono

cripple piss
Developer
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
2,789
Trophies
2
Location
home
XP
9,163
Country
Hungary
MarcusD was right. It bricked.

Edit: Is there anyway to recover it? The cart doesn't show up on the home menu of my 2DS anymore.

I'm trying to find a way to recover it, which involves turning the updater nds (which is a homebrew) to a cia. I may be able to finish the ROM patcher today, so I could try to unbrick my cart. If the updater unbricks my cart, I'll upload the cia.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ShikaSan

ShikaSan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
XP
53
Country
I see... well, I wish you luck with that. I'll keep an eye on that, but I'm thinking of buying another R4 later this week.

If by chance, can you upload a .3dsx file as well? I'm on 11.0 firmware, and can only use HBL. Granted that the updater doesn't need kernel access, of course.
 
Last edited by ShikaSan,

Sono

cripple piss
Developer
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
2,789
Trophies
2
Location
home
XP
9,163
Country
Hungary
I see... well, I wish you luck with that. I'll keep an eye on that, but I'm thinking of buying another R4 later this week.

If by chance, can you upload a .3dsx file as well? I'm on 11.0 firmware, and can only use HBL. Granted that the updater doesn't need kernel access, of course.

Well, the updater is originally an NDS file, so converting it to 3dsx is fully impossible. Then you'll need to buy a new flashcart then :(
 

ShikaSan

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
XP
53
Country
Well, the updater is originally an NDS file, so converting it to 3dsx is fully impossible. Then you'll need to buy a new flashcart then :(

That's a shame. But thanks, it was a gamble I took, it's okay.

Also, would someone mind telling me what's this "time bomb" mentioned a few replies earlier?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    If I want to play something else, I'll just use

    another system.
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    But playing them on Android on Switch is playing them on a Switch
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    how powerful does your phone have o be to run switch games
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    My bad, misread your post due to the chat cutting the sentence
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    emulator will let you back up your saves and also let you upscale to 1080p
    4k
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    I wish I would have bought a large tv when they had large lcds that were 480p and 720p
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    it would have
    made eveythign looks sharp and crisp
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    I don't need upscale or 4k on a switch
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    Portable is the best
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Those tvs are all over Facebook marketplace, Craigslist, and the local recycling center for free
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    My daughters boyfriend just got a 36" Sony CRT for free at the recycling center. Works perfectly fine. He uses it for retro consoles and watching anime.
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    I've never used my Switch outside of my home. I don't care much at all about portability. It's always docked.
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    I'll need to get a small CRT eventually for older systems, preferably one of those with VCR
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Switch 2. 1440p baby!!!! Lol
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    I love my portability, Steam Deck and Switch are my most used systems.
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    Got a Series X and a PS5 but I don't use them that much.
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    You must have great eyesight. I can barely read text when playing games on a 55" tv.
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    Pre-ordered FFVII Rebirth's DE but haven't touched it yet.
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    Not really, switch games have a pretty good hud and ui for the size, steam deck depends, fortunately some games allow to increase the HUD and UI.
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    You can play both Series X and PS5 on portable devices. Including on your steam deck.
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    I'm not a fan of streaming.
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    You seem to move your goal posts quite often. Shrug.
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    I tried streaming on the vita back in the day
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    It was not a pleasa

    nt experience.
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    A lot has changed in 13 years.
    RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars: A lot has changed in 13 years.