Tomf12

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Hey,
Two questions,
1. Is it possible to use a retail Pokemon Platinum cartridge and a slot 2 device of some sort (Be it full flash cart or expansion pack) with a GBA pokemon game on it ie. Ruby, Sapphire together. ie. to transfer pokemon from the gba game to Platinum?
2. Which slot 2 devices have RTC support (Real time clock) for gba games

badchilli

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm pretty new to this so maybe someone more knowledgeable can chime in here.

I know people have been successful, using Pokepatch, to patch their Pokemon Diamond and Pearl roms in order to read GBA Pokemon roms loaded into slot 2 carts, like the EZ Flash V 3in1 expansion cart. Reason is they have to patch is that Pokemon Diamond/Pearl and your Platinum games, expects to read the game save info from the GBA cart from flash memory. The EZ Flash 3in1 cart, which holds GBA roms, uses SRAM memory for its game saves, so people have to patch the D/P (Diamond/Pearl) roms to have it look in SRAM instead.

Your situation is different obviously, since you are using a real Pokemon DS cart and you can't patch your Pokemon Platinum cart to have it look for GBA saves in SRAM, not Flash with appropriate slot 2 cart. I don't believe there exist a slot 2 gba flash cart that emulates the weird flash memory type of the GBA pokemon games.

Furthermore, even if one existed, a lot of GBA slot 2 carts for DS are out of stock or hard to get. The easiest to get, and most recommended here based on availability, is the EZ Flash V 3in1 expansion cart. Since it uses SRAM to store it saves you can't use your retail Pokemon DS cart.