Nand Backup then Restore to a DIFFERENT Wii...?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by w_n_s, Aug 18, 2009.

Aug 18, 2009
  1. w_n_s
    OP

    Newcomer w_n_s Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Belfast
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Guys,

    I will soon be taking delivery of 2 Wii's that have disk drive problems, that I managed to get for a song. I intend to softmod them and run them using USB Loaders.

    One is for my brother and the other will be for me to play with in addition to my wii.

    I believe at least one of them will be old enough to have Boot2 available for BootMii (the one I will be keeping for myself [​IMG] )

    While I am confident of softmodding any wii without any issue, I want to also get my hands dirty with BootMii and Nand backups just for the hell of it.

    My idea is I want all wii's to be pretty much the same as what I have now (as it works for me). I am currently able to take a nand backup of my current Wii (non-Boot2). Assuming 1 or both of the Wii's I receive can have BootMii installed as boot 2, what is the process of sticking that Nand onto the Wii's I will be receiving?

    Also, if the above is possible, when the Nand is restored - does it restore everything to exactly how it was?? Or will there be anything missing.
     
  2. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    `Replying to Nand Backup then Restore to a DIFFERENT Wii...?` Possible, but quite a task. There are several nice links / explanations about it on the bootmii site;

    http://bootmii.org/nandflash
    http://hackmii.com/2008/05/unbrickmii/

    So if them Wii's are working, don't bother trying to swap out their nand. Just make all of them work the way you want the hard way, as that is the easy way in the long run [​IMG]. Installing bootmii and backing up ur nand is however not a bad idea [​IMG].

    [edit]Ah didn't know he released the tools! Now, you COULD try your idea and if it doesn't work simply restore the original nand dump you made before starting all this. Regardless though I wouldn't go for it.
     
  4. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would be nice to find out if these tools really work though. I have no real need to test them as all of my Wiis work fine at the moment. I do agree though, that its a bit of an extreme way to get these 2 Wiis up and running. It would be a pretty cool achievement if it works, but what if it doesn't? Waste of a song if you ask me.
     
  5. w_n_s
    OP

    Newcomer w_n_s Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Belfast
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I agree - however, I will install bootmii to boot2 for whatever Wii I intend to experiment on, and take a nand backup of that wii before trying anything. Therefore I will always be able to get it back into it's original state.

    I may just do my brothers Wii manually, using bannerbomb etc.... and the other will be my experimental wii....
     
  6. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like you've made up your mind. Well, good luck with it and make sure you post the results! Btw, I think you need python to run this
     
  7. w_n_s
    OP

    Newcomer w_n_s Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Belfast
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    incase there is anyone else reading this, I guess this is what we are talking about here - http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Betwiin .

    When I receive the Wii's this week, I'll give it a go on the one that I can install to Boot2 - only after I have taken a successful NAND dump. Will post the process and results, including any issues here.
     
  8. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes that is what we are talking about as linked in my first reply
     

Share This Page