Gaming Monster Hunter Generations Black Screen Help

Sourceknight

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
139
Country
United States
First of all let me say that i spend about 30 min wondering what was the right place to post this question!

My 3ds console is an Old3ds XL, it has:
- a9lh installed using the new method (2.1.0 ctr transfer) I used a spanish guide from youtube which basically is almost the same as the guide from Plailect.

- I'm on SysNAND 11.0.0-33u (used the option from luma to show the NAND I'm on)

- I installed monster hunter generations 3 times, first through FBI, then through BigBlueMenu, and then through FreeShop, all 3 times when the game launches i get a black screen. (I know that on old3ds the game takes a while to launch but it is usually 30 seconds or so I have waited 2-5 minutes)

- These are the settings for luma when i hold select that i have on:
(x) Autoboot SysNAND
(x) Use SysNAND FIRM if booting with R (A9LH)
(x) Enable region/language emu and ext
(x) Show current NAND in System Settings

-My luma3ds version is v6.1.2

I have a different 3ds (old3ds) on version 10.7.0-32U, which was not done using the Plailect guide this one was before the whole 2.1.0 ctr transfer thing, and its on luma3ds v6.1.1 and also will get black screen on MH Generations.

Also i will like to add that the blackscreen i cannot press anything it is as if my 3ds had froze because pressing the home button does nothing and i have to hold the power button to even turn it off.

If I missed any information that will help anyone figure out what is wrong feel free to ask me. Thanks for looking at this thread!

- Tried the suggestion by PewnyPL and i cannot run Super Smash Bro 3DS and MH 4U either.
 
Last edited by Sourceknight,

PewnyPL

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
771
Trophies
1
XP
2,253
Country
Poland
Have you tried any other games that cause firmlaunch with more memory on O3DS? (ie. Monster Hunter 4 U, Super Smash Bros 3DS)
 

Sourceknight

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
139
Country
United States
Have you tried any other games that cause firmlaunch with more memory on O3DS? (ie. Monster Hunter 4 U, Super Smash Bros 3DS)
I could go ahead and try those out and ill get back and edit this message when i do, thanks for the recommendation.

Well I just remembered i had both game bought from long ago, Both of them will not run from the cartridge it just black screens.
 
Last edited by Sourceknight,

PewnyPL

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
771
Trophies
1
XP
2,253
Country
Poland
Both of them will not run from the cartridge it just black screens.
Basically as I expected. Sadly, I do not know if this is due to any setting within Luma or even A9LH, someone more knowledgeable would have to butt in. I know however, that without a CFW (I had this issue, which is why it exactly sounded suspicious to me) if you have Menuhax installed, the game will boot, but you can't exit to home menu from it. Maybe this is something related.
 

Sourceknight

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
139
Country
United States
Basically as I expected. Sadly, I do not know if this is due to any setting within Luma or even A9LH, someone more knowledgeable would have to butt in. I know however, that without a CFW (I had this issue, which is why it exactly sounded suspicious to me) if you have Menuhax installed, the game will boot, but you can't exit to home menu from it. Maybe this is something related.


Dang, ty tho for replying and giving me the suggestion to try the other games now we know it's a problem with RAM. Hopefully someone else that knows a bit more about this problem can come in and shed some light.
 

Faabulous

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 14, 2016
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
55
Country
Brazil
So, this might be a little counter intuitive but I had a similiar issue when I updated the Luma 3ds to the newest version. By going back to the version I was at (5.5) those games were able to be run again. Try that maybe?
 

Autz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
575
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
378
Country
Venezuela
¿Cuál guia usaste? ¿Usaste la guia de Hirobyte o de otro usuario?

Y por último: ¿Puedes correr el Luigi's Mansion 2? Eso es más importante.
 

Sourceknight

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
139
Country
United States
¿Cuál guia usaste? ¿Usaste la guia de Hirobyte o de otro usuario?

Y por último: ¿Puedes correr el Luigi's Mansion 2? Eso es más importante.

La Guia de Yakara

Buy the retail cart, no black screen.

Pip'

If you read my post you would have seen that I tested both MH 4 and Super Smash Bros 3ds carts that i own, did not work.

Did you happen to change the payload path from "arm9loaderhax.bin" to anything else?

I'm not sure because i followed the spanish guide and he sets up the files in a specific way, but his guides have always worked, like a poster said before this started to happen with the newer version of luma

So, this might be a little counter intuitive but I had a similiar issue when I updated the Luma 3ds to the newest version. By going back to the version I was at (5.5) those games were able to be run again. Try that maybe?

I'm thinking that's the problem right there, everything was fine in the older versions of luma i played all of monster hunter 4 and smash bros 3ds no problems now that im at a new version this started to happen.

I FIXED the problem it seems following the spanish guide really screwed something up, i just went ahead and deleted the whole luma folder and all the files he had included in there and just downloaded the latest luma, and now all i have in there is the payloads folder the config.bin and the firmware.bin. Before that it had alot of crap inside that folder.

Goes to show that its better to stick with the Plailect guide all the way to avoid screw ups like this lol.
 
Last edited by Sourceknight,

Autz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
575
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
378
Country
Venezuela
I FIXED the problem it seems following the spanish guide really screwed something up, i just went ahead and deleted the whole luma folder and all the files he had included in there and just downloaded the latest luma, and now all i have in there is the payloads folder the config.bin and the firmware.bin. Before that it had alot of crap inside that folder.

Bueno, lección aprendida. Yo seguí el tuto de Hiro y no tuve estos rollos.
 

JechtXIV

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
51
Country
I FIXED the problem it seems following the spanish guide really screwed something up, i just went ahead and deleted the whole luma folder and all the files he had included in there and just downloaded the latest luma, and now all i have in there is the payloads folder the config.bin and the firmware.bin. Before that it had alot of crap inside that folder

Hi! Can you upload the luma folder you have? Im having the same problem and i cant seem to fix the issue. Im on luma3ds and updating it via the star updater.. Should i reinstall an older version as well? I cant run mh4u, ssb or mhx/gen.. Thanks!
 

PunchArm255

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
56
Country
Macau
La Guia de Yakara



If you read my post you would have seen that I tested both MH 4 and Super Smash Bros 3ds carts that i own, did not work.



I'm not sure because i followed the spanish guide and he sets up the files in a specific way, but his guides have always worked, like a poster said before this started to happen with the newer version of luma



I'm thinking that's the problem right there, everything was fine in the older versions of luma i played all of monster hunter 4 and smash bros 3ds no problems now that im at a new version this started to happen.

I FIXED the problem it seems following the spanish guide really screwed something up, i just went ahead and deleted the whole luma folder and all the files he had included in there and just downloaded the latest luma, and now all i have in there is the payloads folder the config.bin and the firmware.bin. Before that it had alot of crap inside that folder.

Goes to show that its better to stick with the Plailect guide all the way to avoid screw ups like this lol.
dude, plz upload that Luma folder that would be appreciated
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: @Psionic Roshambo, damn it psi you jynx my insurance and medical portals are down