Hardware Monster Hunter Cross New 3DS LL (Mobo + Screen Swap)

slslasher

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
165
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
739
Country
Singapore
So here is my story. Just bought a brand new MHX New 3DS LL for a very cheap price. I realize the top screen was a TN while the bottom is an IPS. So I went to get a 2nd hand good condition Red New 3DS XL with top IPS screen.

In the end since I am doing a screen swap I might as well do a motherboard swap.

End results MHX (USA Region + Dual IPS)

What I destroyed?
1 rubber feet
2 square rubber screw cover

bUSy7Qf.jpg


cWJbecT.jpg


kaAKE4y.jpg


7a7VAu3.jpg


wo9XK0h.jpg


hg1WJiq.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: Originality

Urbanshadow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
1,578
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,723
Country
Okay, and do you know where I can get spares? I think I broke the cable from the home menu button

Wait a minute. You want to get your mobo out to put a donor one ? Keep in mind the NAND is in the mobo. the new mobo may have a working home menu button, but you must only replace that, as you want to keep your original mobo (because it has your original NAND!). If you fix/put the new mobo, you will boot the NAND of the new mobo (without a9lh!).
 

Traiver

Developer
Developer
Joined
Aug 1, 2014
Messages
1,326
Trophies
1
Location
???
XP
2,948
Country
United States
Wait a minute. You want to get your mobo out to put a donor one ? Keep in mind the NAND is in the mobo. the new mobo may have a working home menu button, but you must only replace that, as you want to keep your original mobo (because it has your original NAND!). If you fix/put the new mobo, you will boot the NAND of the new mobo (without a9lh!).
No, I just wanted to swap my Famicom's New3DS mobo with my fire emblem fates new3DS (eur) mobo. The Famicom 3DS now have the european mobo and it works fine. Still has A9LH and all that stuff.

The only problem I have now is, that I broke the cable for the home menu button and I need another one. The rest is working fine on that 3DS too with the japanese mobo from the famicom 3DS.
 
  • Like
Reactions: XRaidersP

slslasher

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
165
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
739
Country
Singapore
No, I just wanted to swap my Famicom's New3DS mobo with my fire emblem fates new3DS (eur) mobo. The Famicom 3DS now have the european mobo and it works fine. Still has A9LH and all that stuff.

The only problem I have now is, that I broke the cable for the home menu button and I need another one. The rest is working fine on that 3DS too with the japanese mobo from the famicom 3DS.
U can get from ebay. There are parts lying around.
 

slslasher

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
165
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
739
Country
Singapore
Is a ZIF connector replacement on mainboard possible, too?
U dun reli need a replacement. Juz put a tape on it, it will create pressure. If 1 tape is not thick enough, put a 2nd layer. Unless ur zif connector is totally broken then u will have to solder the ribbon cables directly.
 
Last edited by slslasher,

Originality

Chibi-neko
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,716
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
London, UK
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
1,904
Country
The other two tips for fixing the home menu problem (from another thread on this forum) is pushing down on the 4 holes on the back of the connector with a pin or needle (to push down the connector) or getting a small piece of paper and inserting it under the ribbon (to lift it up and make it easier to contact the connector).

If you do decide to try swapping motherboards, note that the zif connectors are not designed to be lifted to remove the ribbon cables (I made that mistake too).

Edit: see this thread: https://gbatemp.net/threads/repair-new-3ds-home-button.390507/
 
Last edited by Originality,

slslasher

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
165
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
739
Country
Singapore
The other two tips for fixing the home menu problem (from another thread on this forum) is pushing down on the 4 holes on the back of the connector with a pin or needle (to push down the connector) or getting a small piece of paper and inserting it under the ribbon (to lift it up and make it easier to contact the connector).

If you do decide to try swapping motherboards, note that the zif connectors are not designed to be lifted to remove the ribbon cables (I made that mistake too).

Edit: see this thread: https://gbatemp.net/threads/repair-new-3ds-home-button.390507/
Yes. You will have to use a tweezer to wiggle out the ribbon cable for the home button. You wont need to touch the connectors totally.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: Or atleast the app