Hacking Micro SD Upgrade fail

Laxus_greek

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
17
XP
35
Country
Greece
Hello!!!

I just recently wanted to upgrade my N3DS XL SD and i just copied my files from the old SD to the newer SD and when i turned on my N3DS XL all of my apps and games just got disapear even the homebrew launcher and i dont know how to recover them.

PS: I make sure first that my new SD was properly formatted.
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
10,647
Trophies
1
XP
6,209
Country
United States
Hello!!!

I just recently wanted to upgrade my N3DS XL SD and i just copied my files from the old SD to the newer SD and when i turned on my N3DS XL all of my apps and games just got disapear even the homebrew launcher and i dont know how to recover them.

PS: I make sure first that my new SD was properly formatted.
3DS only supports Fat32
 

Dimensional

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
937
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Texas
XP
1,889
Country
United States
Did you use Windows or another operating system to perform the transfer? I've noticed for some odd reason that doing file transfers on any system other than Windows causes the 3DS and even the Switch to fail to read from the larger SD despite despite an apparent perfect copy.
 

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
2,625
Trophies
2
XP
5,997
Country
Germany
First rule out contact issues.
  • Is the SD detected by GodMode9? Hold (Start) while turning on the 3DS
  • Is the SD detected by System Settings (Data Management) – showing "open blocks".
Do you have two ID1 folders on the new SD? Like so:
SD:/Nintendo 3DS/<ID0>/<ID1>
SD:/Nintendo 3DS/<ID0>/<
another ID1>


Only trust a tested SD:
  1. Copy all your data from the SD to a computer. Reformat the SD to FAT32, 32kb cluster size, if bigger than 32GB and using Windows with guiformat.
  2. Check your SD Windows, Linux, OS X.
    • If you get any errors replace the SD.
    • If you get no errors copy your files back on the SD.
Did you use Windows or another operating system to perform the transfer? I've noticed for some odd reason that doing file transfers on any system other than Windows causes the 3DS and even the Switch to fail to read from the larger SD despite despite an apparent perfect copy.
What? Using a different computer and/or OS might be worth a try. But I never ran into that problem despite having not used Windows a single time for such a task.
 

Laxus_greek

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
17
XP
35
Country
Greece
I wanted to update from 128gb to 200gb i format the card excatly as the 3ds guide metion it, now i use the old card though it will work but it looks like as the picture shown.

i attach many pictures to see yourself.

i follow the soundhax hack from the official 3ds hacking guide.
 

Attachments

  • HNI_0002.JPG
    HNI_0002.JPG
    113.7 KB · Views: 165
  • snap_190802112426.png
    snap_190802112426.png
    5.4 KB · Views: 147
  • snap_190802112446.png
    snap_190802112446.png
    5.6 KB · Views: 180
  • IMG_20190802_142340.jpg
    IMG_20190802_142340.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 195
  • IMG_20190802_142814.jpg
    IMG_20190802_142814.jpg
    771.2 KB · Views: 146

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
2,625
Trophies
2
XP
5,997
Country
Germany
I wanted to update from 128gb to 200gb i format the card excatly as the 3ds guide metion it, now i use the old card though it will work but it looks like as the picture shown.

i attach many pictures to see yourself.

i follow the soundhax hack from the official 3ds hacking guide.
Again, do you have two <ID1 number> folders inside SD:/Nintendo 3DS/<ID0 number>/ ?
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,350
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,234
Country
Norway
I wanted to update from 128gb to 200gb i format the card excatly as the 3ds guide metion it, now i use the old card though it will work but it looks like as the picture shown.

i attach many pictures to see yourself.

i follow the soundhax hack from the official 3ds hacking guide.
Did you put the new card in the 3DS before you put the files on it? If so the 3DS would create files on the SD that will conflict with the files from your other card, so you have to delete the Nintendo 3DS folder and copy it over again from the old card.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,842
Country
United States
  1. Quadruple reformatting.
    • The 2DS/3DS systems require at minimum [ FAT32 file system| MBR disk | Primary partition ]. Depending on the card size, there's a bit of leeway with the cluster size. See bulletin #2.
  2. References regarding GBA VC graphical glitch bug (and about 64kb cluster size for 128 GB and bigger cards)
    • Do not use 64 KB cluster size on 64 GB and smaller cards.
  3. Before using, check the empty card whether it is fake or dying with H2testw (Windows), F3X (Mac) and F3 (Linux).
    • Do not skip testing or forever hold your peace to unexpected data corruption.
  4. Encryption no longer matches between the 3DS firmware and Nintendo 3DS folder due to Format System Memory?
  5. Missing tickets in the Data Management? Restore with [fake] tickets using the homebrew app, faketik.
  6. Signs of damaged datasbase?
    • CTRTransfer (Type D9) - Rebuild 3DS Database.
 
Last edited by TurdPooCharger,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Might be the first dlc I actually buy