METLDR 2 - New revision Blocks Downgrade

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by shakirmoledina, Sep 5, 2011.

Sep 5, 2011
  1. shakirmoledina
    OP

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    In short, Has Sony truly been able to create a 'hack-proof' console? Those with stock v3.60 console are out of luck for the present.

    Source
     
  2. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    well that sucks [​IMG]
    lucky i got me a phat [​IMG] (progskeet's in the mail...)
    edit: ... thye can't update metldr with a system update can they...?
     
  3. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    It was bound to happen, though we don't know for sure this can't be downgraded as well.
     
  4. shakirmoledina
    OP

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    no i dont think a system update can do such a thing. i think its more about the model but i think the psx-scene will tell u more.

    to mod: i forgot to put a reference that this i connected to ps3, can u do that for me?

    EDIT: Here's a message from damox
    then he gave this link
     
  5. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I know it's more about the model, but anything is hackable. Someone just has to have the time and is willing to do it.
     
  6. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Lucky me I got myself a Slim with 3.56 to begin with. Well actually doesn't even concern me since I prefer use my PS3 with PSN [​IMG]



    -Qtis
     
  7. Gh0sti

    Member Gh0sti iOS Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,302
    Location:
    Inside you, all around you
    Country:
    United States
    I don't understand dont hackers have the keys that theycan assign unassigned code as legit code for the system to run homebrew so how can Sony change that not only without a system update but also a new console ?? Am I right about this I mean are those keys the ones needed to control the system that debs use to patch their games to run on the system?
     
  8. hova1

    Member hova1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Country:
    Germany
    It's not that great anyway. you can't use PSN and all the good new games don't work. Only usefull if you really care about homebrew.
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    the key has been patched (changed) back in 3.56, also the addition of a white list and black list to find and block "unauthorized" code from starting while still allowing old games to work
    thing is people arnt happy, new games arnt working, portal 2 still doesnt work afaik, no psn
    basically its back to step one, you cant use the hack or approach of the old exploit, a new one needs to be found
     
  10. Gh0sti

    Member Gh0sti iOS Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,302
    Location:
    Inside you, all around you
    Country:
    United States
    wait on a legit system non hacked people cant play a retail version of portal 2 since sony put in the new code??
     
  11. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No. People running CFW can't play it. Why the hell would they release a game that doesn't work on their console out of the box (with a possible update)? [​IMG] In other words, the game works on OFW.


    -Qtis
     

Share This Page