Max HD size for loaders?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by WrathofGod, Mar 24, 2012.

Mar 24, 2012

Max HD size for loaders? by WrathofGod at 5:45 PM (584 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. WrathofGod
    OP

    Member WrathofGod GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    I'm about to buy a new hd and was wondering what the max size any loader will see? Currently I have a 320gb ide, but it's completely full and I'd like to get either a 2, 3, or 4 tb hd if possible. Thanks!

    P.s. on a side note does anyone know the max size for the WODE to read?
     
  2. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    to go >2 on wii need (real) 4kiB sectors which is not that great supported in general
    and its hard to determin which sector size a drive has (512B, emulated 512B on 4kiB, 4kiB)


    (there are workarounds but nothing I would want to use)

    I would try to get get a 2T with (real) 512B sectors
     
  3. WrathofGod
    OP

    Member WrathofGod GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    How would I know if it supports the 512b sectors?
     
  4. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    Country:
    Australia
    2TB.
    Going beyond that is not worth it.
     
  5. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    anything over 1tb for the wii is just overkill i've been happily using a 320gb since wans loader v1!
     
  6. Devante

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    Just letting you know...

    I have a 320GB drive.

    I have about 100 games on there and still have about 100GB free.

    The 100 games I have are all of the non-shovelware games.
     
  7. WrathofGod
    OP

    Member WrathofGod GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    I have my whole collection of gc games on my hd so that's why I need a bigger solution. I'll load those through my WODE and then i'll use the 2tb for Wii games.
     

Share This Page