Local guy w/R4 for sale

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by TanookiSuit, Aug 9, 2008.

Aug 9, 2008

Local guy w/R4 for sale by TanookiSuit at 5:48 AM (2,065 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. TanookiSuit
    OP

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    I recall reading there are a lot of fakes out there, and he says he searched hard to be sure he had a real one. I recall the R4 people being pissed saying they'd try and break the fakes with a firmware update or something.

    Is there a way I can tell this is real or not just from appearances w/out tearing it apart? Also would you say that $40 is fair in cash for it. Seems he picked it up and never used the stupid thing really much at all but just a few times because he got this red ds box set with those pokemon rogue wannabes in it and finished them, then couldn't find anything he liked using the R4 for so it's all for sale on craigslist local to me.
     


  2. superdude

    Member superdude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    no... don't get it $40 for a R4 are you joking you can buy one for $30 or you could just get a cyclods for $50
     
  3. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,851
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    On craigslist you really can't be sure.


    The pokemon mystery dungeons are pretty good rougelikes. =P
     
  4. TanookiSuit
    OP

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Why can't I be sure on Craigslist? I can try it out in my DS before I buy it.

    I'm also aware I can buy one for $30, but when you figure the shipping I'm even when it comes out of the country. Those in Canada or the States I saw were already 40-45. That's why I was asking anyway.

    I'm still concerned about the firmware updating. Was that rumor or fact? If fact, what's the details?



    ...and pokemon I know is a roguelike, but I already had the original on DS as a tester as a media reviewer and it's fun for a short tiem but having to level each one of those little fuckers is a bore. I was going to get FF Chocobos Mysterions Dungeon on Wii instead.
     
  5. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    It's not a good deal even if it is real. Don't bother.
    And no there is no good way to differentiate between a real and fake R4 without the seller getting pissed off that you're raping his card.
     
  6. superdude

    Member superdude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    you can get free shiping from some sites
     
  7. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    some fakes have only a sticker on the board. if you touch it you can feel the chips under the r4 label. some are obvious with fake labels, fake boxes, and fake feature lists that were never implemented into the r4 (like sdhc support). some are legit all the way until you open them up and find out it is a generic clone on the inside. the r4 team no longer makes the kit so anything you buy is either old stock or a clone.

    i purchased one from RHS 4 days ago and they sent me a clone inside of a legit r4 box and shell. thankfully they are going to make it right and refund my money. just keep it in mind when you are shopping for a flash kit.

    the problems with clones could be nothing or as serious as the n5 which has the potential to blow a fuse and brick your ds.

    as for the "9/15" update -- its all bullshit. the r4 team never made any official announcements about a pending firmware update. the 15th will come and pass without a release. i spoke to a few reps who sell kits and they said the r4 people had nothing to say on the subject. distributors are saying the same thing.

    i hate to say it because i have an r4 and i honestly LOVE it, but the card is dead. at this point only get it because 1) its really cheap and 2) you don't have another alternative.

    -another world
     
  8. TanookiSuit
    OP

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    I really want to talk you for that straight talk answer there. I had no idea there was so much hatred on them over one of their old associates talking crap about a bricking death of the DS being possible or if it just was a bad translation.

    On this very forum I did a google search that came back here to this: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=935...t&p=1321178

    That one solitary post gave me a great front and back shot of a real and falsy unit. I'm going to take it with me tomorrow and I'll inspect the card before even powering it up to see if it handles a rom fine. I could care less if someone thinks $40 is too much because it's for me, my best alternative as I've gotten rid of and swore off charge cards (if I got my pay every day instead of every 2 weeks I'd keep those things.) Cash is the way I got with stuff now, other thing is a debit card and there's no fuckin way some shady asian importer is getting access to my bank number. It's a trust thing, if you're willing to make pirate parts to steal shit from Nintendo and it's devrs I'm not trust them with my account number either.

    I'll get a better look at it tomorrow, make sure it doesn't have squish label like you said plus the images I have that make it very obvious with the label art and then the thickness of the SD card goes in this way dummy label pressing in back.


    Also for the sake of argument, say the 9/15 update is legit. Why would I ever give a rats ass about updating the BIOS to that point anyway? The current release looking at the R4 compat list shows outside of a few Japanese roms and little else stuff works, so it's not causing me any grief. I intend to load the sucker up anyways probably with NES/SNES stuff, SCUMM with Indian Jones Fate of Atlantis and some other oddities.
     
  9. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    We dont hate them because of their ds bricking thing, its mainly because their overpriced, featureless, and have a small chance of ever being updated again.
     
  10. TanookiSuit
    OP

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Well I can see that being aggravating too.

    Personally if it runs the occasional rom, can handle a couple of emulators and perhaps SCUMMVM for me I'll be just fine. I never was into a lot of fluff. I will admit though considering what there is of it, that is overpriced a bit for sure. Then again the prices of those 256Mb GBA Flash2Advances and EZFlash's weren't exactly cheap either, and neither was the GB/Color 32M Bung cards especially having to buy a damn printer cable for that too. Compared this R4 is damn cheap. [​IMG]
     
  11. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    I suggest not getting the R4, there are plenty of flashcards out there that are far cheaper and have better support, compatibility and features. The R4 has stopped being manufactured which means that it has reached the end of its life. You can expect only minor updates if any at all from the R4 team though right now, it doesn't look promising.

    Several games, even some that came out over a year ago don't work on the R4. Also many newer games coming out have problems on the R4 either not running the game at all or the game is extremely buggy and freeze often. Also games with the new save type are not supported on the R4 so any games coming out with the new save type will not save. Also there are a few homebrew apps that have trouble on the R4 as well.

    The R4 overall, is extremely limited and buggy. The cheat system has many flaws and can cause games to freeze or simply nt work when using cheats on some games. Also a few cheat types are not supported leaving you with a good many cheats not working on the R4. Also the R4 limits the number of cheats and games that gets displayed on the cheats page.

    So basically, the R4 is on life support ans has been for quite a long time now. Many newer flashcards have surpassed the R4 in many ways, including compatibility. The R4 is showing its age, thanks to hardware limitations (The R4 Firmware not being flashable), features like SDHC support and many others can never be added. The R4 was a fine cart when it first came out, but now its just an old, over prices flashcard. I really suggest you look into getting another flashcard.
     
  12. 001100

    Newcomer 001100 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
  13. TanookiSuit
    OP

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Makes sense too...hmm So what would one get that is the most pain free and compatible? I saw some sites listed before for the states and canada I could try. I used to know jandaman himself from irc for years and know he's reliable and carries some models.


    I just emailed the dude on his cell phone and said to forget it, made up a story so he can't argue crap about it (not that I'd care really.) ...Ahh well that $40 I have in hand I guess it'll go back into the hands of Wii Chocobo Mysterious Dungeon as it was intended to be up until like 5hours ago. I still want to know what some of you feel is the best and easist to use of them as I hate having to patch every damn thing.

    EDIT: 001100 ...that card looks mighty interesting and stable.
     
  14. g4med4d

    Member g4med4d GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    United States
    The AK2 is good and easy to use, except it's build quality is still questionable.
    The CycloDS is considered the very top choice due to its features and support the Cyclo Team offers.

    You have the option of exchange/refund with a good vendor.
     
  15. TanookiSuit
    OP

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm ok I'll add those to my mental note list of things to research. That edge card looks fantastic but I can check the other two. I thought the GBAtemp staff review had a few complaints about cyclo.
     
  16. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    its funny you mentioned the f2a, i still have my 128mb and it works perfectly. i keep some gba on it and a handful of nes games inside pocketnes!

    if you get an ak2 make sure its from a high volume retailer. the recent reports are that the errors have been fixed and the kits are no longer being returned with DOA and FAT errors. also check out the ak rpg. its a bit more expensive but adds 1gb of on board mem. they both support the open source firmware but the rpg is limited in the sense that the save file can never go beyond 1mb. its not a limitation that should really matter until you get into real time saves.

    -another world
     
  17. lonewolf80

    Newcomer lonewolf80 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    The R4 prices skyrocketed on Amazon...from $20 - $40 each! [​IMG] This makes me wanna sell my R4 now =(
     
  18. TanookiSuit
    OP

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    The AK has a memory area on it? I've never looked that one up before. I just know the R4 I brought up uses MicroSD.
     
  19. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    AK RPG does but AK2 doesnt. [​IMG]
     
  20. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the ak rpg has 1 GByte of onboard NAND flash mem and a msd/sdhc slot. you can use both at the sametime and tranfser files from one to the other in the GUI. its a great kit but a bit more expensive because of the onboard. but when you consider the thousands of dollars worth of free software you are about to play.... $65-80 doesn't seem expensive for a flash kit at all!

    -another world
     

Share This Page