Homebrew RELEASE libcross2d: a little cross platform 2d library

cpasjuste

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2015
Messages
1,108
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
4,481
Country
France
I'm having issues building on linux for linux. I've opened an issue on github in the examples repo.
Hi @minkcv, may i ask you your distribution and version? I tested it on a stock/vanilla ubuntu 18.04 installation and didn't notice this problem (you did install deps i guess? :
sudo apt-get install build-essential cmake git libsdl2-dev libfreetype6-dev libglm-dev)
@hippy dave, do you have a patch for macosx? :D
 
Last edited by cpasjuste,

minkcv

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
187
Country
United States
Hi @minkcv, may i ask you your distribution and version? I tested it on a stock/vanilla ubuntu 18.04 installation and didn't notice this problem (you did install deps i guess? :
sudo apt-get install build-essential cmake git libsdl2-dev libfreetype6-dev libglm-dev)
I just did a fresh install of Debian 9.6 and it builds now, but segfaults on the texture example.

In the output I see:
Couldn't SDL_GL_CreateContext: Could not create GL context: GLXBadFBConfig

I can post the full output if you would like.
 
Last edited by minkcv,

cpasjuste

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2015
Messages
1,108
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
4,481
Country
France
I just did a fresh install of Debian 9.6 and it builds now, but segfaults on the texture example.

In the output I see:
Couldn't SDL_GL_CreateContext: Could not create GL context: GLXBadFBConfig

I can post the full output if you would like.
Hi @minkcv, what is your graphic card? (and maybe your debian window manager: gnome, kde...). I'm going to give it a try.
 
Last edited by cpasjuste,

cpasjuste

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2015
Messages
1,108
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
4,481
Country
France
I just did a fresh install of Debian 9.6 and it builds now, but segfaults on the texture example.

In the output I see:
Couldn't SDL_GL_CreateContext: Could not create GL context: GLXBadFBConfig

I can post the full output if you would like.
@minkcv , the problem may be the videocard or driver, could you install mesa-utils (apt-get install mesa-utils) and do: glxinfo | grep OpenGL
 

minkcv

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
187
Country
United States
@minkcv , the problem may be the videocard or driver, could you install mesa-utils (apt-get install mesa-utils) and do: glxinfo | grep OpenGL
I'm using Intel integrated graphics on this machine. I've run glxinfo and I have opengl. glxgears works as well. I chose cinnamon as my window manager.
 

cpasjuste

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2015
Messages
1,108
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
4,481
Country
France
I'm using Intel integrated graphics on this machine. I've run glxinfo and I have opengl. glxgears works as well. I chose cinnamon as my window manager.
The output of the glxinfo I pasted will give more info (like your opengl version). I do also have an Intel card and its working.
 

minkcv

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
187
Country
United States
The output of the glxinfo I pasted will give more info (like your opengl version). I do also have an Intel card and its working.

OpenGL vendor string: Intel Open Source Technology Center
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ivybridge Mobile
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3 (Core Profile) Mesa 13.0.6
OpenGL core profile shading language version string: 3.30
OpenGL core profile context flags: (none)
OpenGL core profile profile mask: core profile
OpenGL core profile extensions:
OpenGL version string: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
OpenGL context flags: (none)
OpenGL extensions:
OpenGL ES profile version string: OpenGL ES 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6
OpenGL ES profile shading language version string: OpenGL ES GLSL ES 3.00
OpenGL ES profile extensions:
 

cpasjuste

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2015
Messages
1,108
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
4,481
Country
France
Your graphic card or driver may be the problem (my card/driver can do 4.5 opengl core profile while your's only 3.3. Also, you're using a pretty old version of mesa it seems).
Here is my output:

Code:
OpenGL vendor string: Intel Open Source Technology Center
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500 (Broadwell GT2)
OpenGL core profile version string: 4.5 (Core Profile) Mesa 18.0.5
OpenGL core profile shading language version string: 4.50
OpenGL core profile context flags: (none)
OpenGL core profile profile mask: core profile
OpenGL core profile extensions:
OpenGL version string: 3.0 Mesa 18.0.5
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
OpenGL context flags: (none)
OpenGL extensions:
OpenGL ES profile version string: OpenGL ES 3.1 Mesa 18.0.5
OpenGL ES profile shading language version string: OpenGL ES GLSL ES 3.10
OpenGL ES profile extensions:

Can you post the result of this: lspci | grep VGA

Else, it would be cool if you could test changing one line in libcross2d, replace 4 with 3 (so you use a 3.3 core profile).: https://github.com/Cpasjuste/libcro...ource/platforms/sdl2/sdl2_gl_renderer.cpp#L27

I think it should work fine. I will lower down this requirement (use 3.3 core profile) for linux...
 
Last edited by cpasjuste,

minkcv

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
187
Country
United States
Can you post the result of this: lspci | grep VGA
wsmith@T430:~$ lspci | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)


Changing that version number in the code fixed the issue and it works now. Thank you
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Sicklyboy, Using a Fiio DAC and Betron headphones.
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I use AKG K7XX headphones for daily use, but Meze 99 Classics when I want to *enjoy* the music
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I mean built in sound on mobo's has gotten way better but still XP handled sound better and X-Fi was still better than onboard audio even to this day
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Hell not sure what was going on but for like a few weeks MP3's sounded muffled, some driver or Windows update fixed it. Thank god lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Oh boy Massdrop has $1100 IEMs. Want, but not at that price lmao. https://drop.com/buy/campfire-audio-andromeda-emerald-sea-iem
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I'd sooner buy the Meze 109 Pro if I was dropping that much on headphones. I don't even like buds/IEMs
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I got the Google Pixel Pro buds, they're good enough for when I need portable audio. And some really cheap IEMs that Dankpods recommends, I think the KZ ZSN Pro
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'd stick with cheapo Chinese $10 ones quality is actually becoming on pair with name brand since name Brand usually quads the price up anyway loose one bud that's another $200
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    My Pixel Pro buds shit the bed a month or two ago. My wireless charger (which they do support Qi charging) absolutely COOKED them. Caused some problem that caused the case to heat up to 180F+
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    They were like 9 months out of warranty but I hit up Google support anyway and told them how hot they were getting and they replaced them with new ones because they wanted these for failure analysis lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    lol wireless charging
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah that's why I can't bring myself to even spend $100 on wireless earbuds
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think it's a cool idea but damn
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Apparently the case has a problem with >15W wireless chargers. Google design fault, that one.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I could live with wireless charging if the damn standard case doesn't block connection
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    how is wireless charging possible?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Dbz said everyone has raging energy senses
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    you mean generally, how does the concept work?
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Copper conducting electricity or something
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    @Xdqwerty, power through a coil of wire causes an electromagnetic field to be generated. Another coil of wire can be set up to harness the power from that electromagnetic field and turn it into usable energy for charging a device
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Two good videos from ElectroBOOM that touch on the subject:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TQwGjhwPEik

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2YwkAWg0_g
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Elements on earth are actually more powerful than we think
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Elements on earth are actually more powerful than we think