Lag?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by dragonfyre173, Jun 15, 2009.

Jun 15, 2009

Lag? by dragonfyre173 at 1:38 AM (1,089 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. dragonfyre173
    OP

    Newcomer dragonfyre173 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I've only noticed this in AceKard 2i. I have both the retail cart and CycloDS. From playing the Retail Cart, I know what to expect, and it has never lagged on CycloDS. Ever. But, I notice a signifigant (Well, to me, at least) slowdown on AceKard. The graphics are choppy and things like cycling through the Pokédex are a lot slower. Also, when my character runs, it looks really... Laggy. I'm using AceKard 2i on a DSi, Firmware AKMENU 4.16, Sandisk 8 GB MicroSD Card.
     
  2. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    err use AKAIO for starters.
     
  3. dragonfyre173
    OP

    Newcomer dragonfyre173 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try that. I recently got this, so I'm not sure what's the best firmware and such for it. Plus, I barely come on here except for firmware and homebrew downloads...
     
  4. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    be sure to use the latest loaders when you install akaio.

    Also, it may have something to do with the class of your microSD. You may have a class2, which is considerably slow...
     
  5. dragonfyre173
    OP

    Newcomer dragonfyre173 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    So what's the best MicroSD? And I've downloaded AKAIO. I like it better, so I'm keeping it, but it hasn't helped my lag problems on Platinum.
     
  6. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Try holding down the X or A buttons when loading the game. Holding X using an old DMA mode loading text should turn red, Holding A using non DMA mode and loading text will remain blue. I hope one of these fixes it for you.
     
  7. dragonfyre173
    OP

    Newcomer dragonfyre173 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Okay... I tried it, but neither will load my save file...

    One last problem with it; I can't get Soft Reset to work. I have the button combination right, right? (A+B+X+Y+R+L)

    EDIT: Oh crap... I think something's wrong with my save... Or it was deleted >.< I can't find it... The normal load won't open my save either...
     
  8. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Soft reset is L+R+B+A+Down in AKAIO plus you have to enable it in the system options. Please read the Wiki.

    Change the save type to either *.NDS.SAV or *.SAV.
     
  9. dragonfyre173
    OP

    Newcomer dragonfyre173 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I figured it out, thanks. It still lags, but I guess I can deal with it... Hopefully, it won't lag on the CycloDSi.
     
  10. boogerlad

    Member boogerlad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    what class/how fast is your microsd card?
     
  11. dragonfyre173
    OP

    Newcomer dragonfyre173 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    As said before, it's Class 2. The only time I've EVER seen it lag is in Pokémon Platinum...
     
  12. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    The retail game lags as well, just not as noticeable. But you should know that since you should have the retail cart because you're playing a "backup" right? [​IMG]

    Also, download this program and run it on your DS then post your results.

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=1381
     
  13. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Strange, I don't notice this on my Acekard or my retail cart.
     
  14. dragonfyre173
    OP

    Newcomer dragonfyre173 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I used the program, and it came up with these results...

    Sequential (512 B)
    Max: .717 MS
    Avg: .371 MS

    Sequential (4 KiB)
    Max: 3.066 MS
    Avg: 2.949 MS

    Sequential (16 KiB)
    Max: 12.074 MS
    Avg: 11.836 MS

    Random (512 B)
    Max: .773 MS
    Avg: .735 MS

    Random (4 KiB)
    Max: 3.060 MS
    Avg: 2.954 MS

    Random (16 KiB)
    Max: 12.100 MS
    Avg: 11.882 MS

    EDIT: I converted them from μS to MS.
     
  15. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Looks good to me. Pokemon (also GTA:CW) are known to lag a bit in certain situations so it's not the microsd.
     

Share This Page