Just wondering - Pokemon

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Trollology, Dec 26, 2010.

Dec 26, 2010

Just wondering - Pokemon by Trollology at 12:06 PM (1,545 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. Trollology
    OP

    Banned Trollology Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    So guys for example I'm playing Pokemon Platinum and I'm right in front of Giratina and I save, then I go battle it, and it's not a Shiny Giratina. Can I just switch off the DS and back on like a million times until the chance comes when I find a shiny Giratina?
    Or maybe it's like it's decided from the start of the game whether the Giratina you encounter later on will be shiny or not?
    How does it work?
    I know the question was not clear. Tell me if I need to elaborate more.
    Stupid question too, I know, but still, it's never bad to learn.. [​IMG]
     


  2. Stevetry

    Banned Stevetry Most perverted person in GBATEMP

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,294
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    is random turn it off and on you may get lucky
     
  3. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    wut?

    To the OP, yes, you can simply reset your game over and over again until you encounter a shiny one. What people commonly do is "soft reset" where you please L, R, Select and Start at the same time.
     
  4. Trollology
    OP

    Banned Trollology Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok. Does this soft-reset thing work on official retail games? [​IMG]
    And thanks a lot both [​IMG]
     
  5. blueshockz

    Newcomer blueshockz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    If you want it fast you can turn on cheat to make it a shiny one..turning on/off or soft reset is cheating also..you must start at the beginning and get a shiny is legit...xD
     
  6. EvangelionEX

    Member EvangelionEX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Country:
    Singapore
    I find the bolded part is complete bullcrap. How is turning on and off cheating?
     
  7. Lost Wisdom

    Newcomer Lost Wisdom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Mean Streets of Compton
    Country:
    United States
    I think he was being sarcastic.
     
  8. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    I really doubt that and yes, soft-resetting works on retail games.
     
  9. Trollology
    OP

    Banned Trollology Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay. Thanks all [​IMG] !
     
  10. Trollology
    OP

    Banned Trollology Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh another pokemon question. [​IMG]
    I don't wanna start a new thread so I'll post it here:
    If I use Pokesav do edit the names of some event Pokemon I obtained by a trade, will it be considered hacked/abnormal?
    They have Japanese names (Japanese event done by the dude who traded them to me) .. so yeah.
    If I rename them will they look 100% like I got them from a US event?
    Thanks.
     
  11. EvangelionEX

    Member EvangelionEX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Country:
    Singapore
    I don't think it's considered as hacked/abnormal because HECK, YOU ARE ONLY CHANGING THE NAME. Not the stats or anything.
     
  12. boktor666

    Member boktor666 Gbatemp's official Solar Boy™ Is Back!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Holland, somewhere :D
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeh, this is considerd hacking yeh. With Pokesav, you can create those pokemon, but also give them abnormal moves/stats etc. so its not seen as legitimate.
     
  13. Trollology
    OP

    Banned Trollology Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah I know that. But what I meant is:
    Is there any difference between an American event Pokemon and the same one in Japanese if I just change the Japanese's name to English with Pokesav?
    If no, then no one will no that I ever used Pokesav [​IMG]
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No. There's more that goes into that, such as the trainer info and it's stats and region info.
     
  15. thhorde

    Newcomer thhorde Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    well, im preeeeeeeety sure that they are the same, but just to be sure...wat eevent pokemon are they?
     
  16. Trollology
    OP

    Banned Trollology Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Shiny Entei, Raikou, and Suicune.
    And Rydian: So changing the name would make the Pokemon look like a false one?
     
  17. UniqueGeek

    Member UniqueGeek PMD Researcher

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,371
    Country:
    United States
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, because the info wouldn't add up. You'd have to change the other info as well, and there's more that goes into a pokemon than you see on the stats screen (there's like 7/8 hidden values).

    You could change them all to match, but it'd be less work to just get an english one when it comes out.
     
  19. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    Ready to reset your game 8192 times?
    Just AR that crap. So much easier.
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Since the AR set specific IVs with a matching PID, any AR'd shiny is easy for nintendo's systems to detect.
     

Share This Page